We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality food, friendly and courteous staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Charsfield

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Charsfield to your Saves list
Hotel Charsfield
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   478 St. Kilda Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Gisborne, Australia
1 review
“Quality food, friendly and courteous staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Last minute decision to have a romantic weekend in the city of Melbourne - so glad we chose the Charsfield. The location is fantastic, far enough away from the noise of the city but close enough to walk or take a 10 min ram ride almost from the front door. We live1 hr outside of Melbourne and knew we needed a Myki card and were concerned about getting this organised but upon arrival reception had us sorted - you can buy a starter card pack for AUD14.00. This was perfect for our 2 1/2 days. Headed to Crown Gold Class via the tram. Breakfast at Charsfield. Visited the Shrine of Remembrance, walked through Botanical Gardens, cruise x 2 on the Yarra, evening drinks at Southbank, then back through the gardens and to Charsfield for dinner in the restaurant. The food & wine is of excellent quality, staff extremely courteous, and went out of there way to ensure our stay was wonderful. Charming hotel, we will return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Mavis R,

Thank you for taking time to review Hotel Charsfield with 5 stars!

Your romantic getaway sounds simply perfect, and we at Hotel Charsfield are delighted to read we played a part in making your weekend most memorable.

Thank you for your lovely feedback on our wonderful team of staff, and also your dining experience in The Charsfield Restaurant. Our sumptuous menu has been receiving some fantastic feedback recently and it will be my pleasure to share your review with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next overnight trip to Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Genevieve Butler
Assistant Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    186
    36
    16
    6
See reviews for
61
222
37
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We were scheduled to stay at this hotel for a week over Christmas
Upon arrival I was incredibly disappointed immediately, from the outside clearly some fresh paint would help.
Once inside, the entire hotel carried the aroma of whatever lunches were being cooked - even in the bedrooms.
In spite of recieving confirmation that our booking was for a double bed and would be available upon arrive (if though before 2pm), we were presented with no room available and that was for a twin anway.
Once we got to the room the wardrobe wouldnt have accomodated a weekends worth of clothes, let alone a weeks worth (and I travel light) and the bathroom was most definitely not large enough to swing the proverbial cat - in fact you had to close the bathroom door in order to open the shower door.
Suffice to say we checked out immediately to find other accomdation rather than ruin our trip.
Lesson learned = check more than just the hotel photos!!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear 503HappyTraveller,

Thank you for reviewing Hotel Charsfield.

I am disappointed to read your experience of Hotel Charsfield was not as expected. The team at Hotel Charsfield taking pride in providing excellent customer service and are always willing to assist any guests during any point of their stay.

The hotel does have a thriving bar and restaurant, open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner service. Throughout the year we also host many events and conferences during which we serve a sumptuous menu and normally receive very positive feedback.

The hotel’s guaranteed check in time is from 2pm onwards, and early check in requests are noted, however not guaranteed. Your booking came through an agent who should have explained this to you. We try to meet all requests, however during busy periods early check in at the hotel is not always possible. We are always most helpful in storing luggage, and notifying our guests as soon as their room becomes available.

As mentioned you booked through an agent, the booking specifically requested twin beds not double as you expected. Perhaps the agent made a mistake when taking your booking?

At Hotel Charsfield we offer a variety of different room types, some for example such as our Junior Suite or Premier Room which are much better suited to long staying guests as they offer larger rooms, wardrobe space and bathrooms. Please do not hesitate to contact the hotel direct prior to placing your reservation to discuss the different room types to determine which is best suited to your needs.

I read from the notes made during your stay that you were expecting a hotel located within St Kilda not on St Kilda road. For future reference we have sister properties in Melbourne CBD and St Kilda which perhaps might be better suited to you in terms of location, accommodation and facility offerings. Our staff are always happy to make a reservation for you on your behalf.

Kind regards,

Genevieve Butler
Assistant Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I found this hotel on the internet and read the reviews in tripadvisor and decided to book it. It is a charming hotel, full of character. The staff are very friendly and helpful even tracking the taxi we had booked when we checked out.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Philip E,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

It is fantastic to read that your decision to stay with us at Hotel Charsfield was based on the experience of our other guests and their reviews.

We certainly pride ourselves on providing excellent customer service, and love the opportunity to exceed our guests expectations.

I will be delighted to share your review with our team and management.

I hope you enjoyed your time in Melbourne, and look forward to welcoming you back on your future travels.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Assistant Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

The Hotel is appropriately placed along St. Kilda Road, it is very easy to reach downtown.

Service is perfect, not expensive, and the Hotel Restaurant is quite good too.
Very convenient Parking in the back of the Hotel, additionally, and very useful for long stays, as in my case, there is the possibility, for a small charge, to wash your laundry in the Hotel itself.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Rob_Gaspari,

Thank you for your lovely 5 star review. I am pleased you had an opportunity to explore the hotel and enjoy the facilities we offer. Our onsite guest laundry is perfect for long staying, or long travelling guests.

I will be delighted to share your review with our fantastic team of staff, including your great comments regarding our menu and food quality we serve in The Charsfield Restaurant.

I am pleased you enjoyed your time in Melbourne and that our location was convenient to you along leafy St Kilda Road.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you return to Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Genevieve Butler
Assistant Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed again here because of location and service. The staff here are always really friendly too. It reminds me of being back in the Army Mess with high standards of cleanliness and feel. The bathroom has been recently refurbished to a high standard and quality. The only point I have is the bedroom I was in this time was quite small and for a one night stay would have been ok but a week and all the luggage that comes with a long stay in Oz it was tight. Great service and charm will probably take me back there on my next visit, well done Charsfield!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Appleshag,

Thank you for your lovely 4 star review.

I am so pleased to read that your return stays at Hotel Charsfield have been of a consistently high standard of service and that our wonderful team of staff have always been most accommodating, friendly and helpful to you. It will be my pleasure to share your comments with our team and highlight the reasons you love returning to the hotel.

We do offer a selection of room types at the hotel, starting from our Standard room through to our 2 bedroom apartment. For long staying guests we do suggest a either a Deluxe Room or Junior Suite as they do offer more space and a large layout. Please do not hestitate to contact the hotel directly for your future reservations and we can discuss the best suited room type for your needs.

I hope you enjoyed your time in Melbourne, and had a safe trip home.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Genevieve Butler
Assistant Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stayed for a weekend in early November 2013 and loved the hotel. We stayed in a deluxe room upstairs at the front of the hotel. There was no noise from the road, the trams or the marathon that went by early on the Sunday morning. The bathroom was beautiful and we really appreciated having a lounge in the room. The bed was incredibly comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful - I can't speak highly enough of them. It is situated a very short 5 minute tram ride from Melbourne CBD and the tram stop is a mere 2 minutes walk away. We ate in the restaurant on both nights and found the food to be very good.We also had the breakfast one morning and found that to be adequate as well. The only thing we thought could be improved would be to have a small jug of fresh milk available in the room fridge instead of the UHF milk which was supplied. Unfortunately we find that UHF milk has a 'taste' which makes for a terrible cuppa. All up, we loved the hotel and can't wait to come back and stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't be frightened about having a room at the front - we found it to be very quiet (no road or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Allyssa C,

Thank you for your delightful 5 star review. I am so pleased to read you had a perfect stay with us and that our staff were most helpful in ensuring you had an amazing overall experience whilst staying at Hotel Charsfield.

We are very lucky to have such a great team of staff, who consistently strive to provide excellent service to our guests, ensuring their stay is memorable.

I am pleased our location was suited to your needs, and also our accommodation was most comfortable. Our Deluxe rooms are our most popular room type and are certainly equipped with everything you need for your stay. We are fantastically set just back off the road, which eliminates most traffic noise.

Thank you also for your suggestion of fresh milk in our rooms. I will certainly share your comments with our General Manager, however please do contact reception with any queries you may have during your stay. We absolutely would have been able to provide you with some fresh milk for tea and coffee upon request.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Charsfield when you next return to Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Assistant Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
129 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Even though Melbourne is an expensive city, I thought the charming Charsfield Hotel was priced quite fully for what it offered (and this despite booking well in advance).

The front building is delightful – old world charm – with a very well tended garden and al fresco dining on the verandah. Although the hotel is near a tram stop (tram numbers 3, 5, 6, 16, 67 and 72), the location is “in between” more lively areas, such as the city centre, St. Kildas or Prahran. Each of these three is about a 30 to 40 minute walk away, or 10 minutes on a tram. If you had business on St. Kilda's Road itself, the hotel would be a good choice, otherwise there isn’t too much in the immediate vicinity.

The room was nicely presented and of course this is an older building. Very good wi-fi reception included in the room price. There is a fridge and tea/coffee, but no in room safe. Not having a safe was a bit of a bore, because it meant having to leave/retrieve valuables at the front desk, initially showing photo ID (though the staff were consistently delightful). I felt I needed to do this as there were no locks on the windows (I was on the first floor) and didn’t want to chance it.

The floors are wooden, so you can hear/feel people walking along the corridor, but otherwise, my room, which was in the middle part of the property, was very quiet. Very large flat screen TV, although a listing of the channels in the hotel guide would have been helpful. The room furniture was relatively “cheap” and did vibrate as you walked across the floor. There was a fan heater, which provided both hot and cold air, although was too noisy/irregular to have on at night. The fridge was also a bit noisy.

The bathroom was long and narrow (see photo) – the area around the loo was very cramped, not helped by the loo seat itself not staying up; there was no bath. There was also no heater in the bathroom, so it was quite cold; the door to the bedroom was spring loaded so would always close.

The front desk team are delightful and there are free apples and newspapers. The dining room team were a little bit more pushy. The fitness centre was a tiny room off the car park with three pieces of equipment (and no treadmill).

There is an 7-Eleven and an IGA about a 10 minute walk away, but the nearest decent supermarket is in Prahran (30 minutes walk/10 minutes on the tram).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Airlineconsultant,

Thank you for your 4 star informative review.

I am pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us at Hotel Charsfield and found our location easily accessible to local attractions and neighbouring locations such as South Yarra, Prahran and St Kilda. Certainly we are well connected with multiple tram lines running from just outside the front entrance of the hotel.

Our team of staff take great pride in going the extra mile, and assisting guests in any way to ensure their stay is most comfortable and enjoyable. For light sleepers we do suggest requesting a room on the 1st floor of the hotel as this is the most quiet.

We also offer a variety of room types, including our heritage style Premier rooms which boast larger marble bathrooms, elegant furniture and high ceilings. Please do not hesitate to contact the hotel prior to making your next reservation as we always happy to discuss the room type best suited to your needs.

I am delighted to read that our staff were most helpful to you during your stay, and that you enjoyed our complimentary apples. It will be my pleasure to share your review with staff, and also forward your suggestions to our management team.

I hope you had a safe journey back to the UK, and do look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Charsfield on your next trip to Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Genevieve Butler
Assistant Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
0.3 mi away
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
#22 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,471 reviews
0.3 mi away
Art Series - The Blackman
Art Series - The Blackman
#13 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,457 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royce Hotel
Royce Hotel
#45 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
2.2 mi away
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,085 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Charsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charsfield

Address: 478 St. Kilda Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#24 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Charsfield 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Charsfield is a fine example of early St Kilda Road Victorian architecture, which has heritage listing. This boutique accommodation now combines the warmth, character and style of the building with professional and friendly service to ensure the experience on offer is as unique as the guests who stay here. So whether you are visiting Melbourne on business, as a conference delegate, on holiday, or perhaps to enjoy one of the many major events in town, the Hotel Charsfield is the ideal choice for accommodation in Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel Charsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charsfield Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Charsfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.