We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Charsfield

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Charsfield to your Saves list
Hotel Charsfield
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   478 St. Kilda Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Old charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed again here because of location and service. The staff here are always really friendly too. It reminds me of being back in the Army Mess with high standards of cleanliness and feel. The bathroom has been recently refurbished to a high standard and quality. The only point I have is the bedroom I was in this time was quite small and for a one night stay would have been ok but a week and all the luggage that comes with a long stay in Oz it was tight. Great service and charm will probably take me back there on my next visit, well done Charsfield!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Appleshag,

Thank you for your lovely 4 star review.

I am so pleased to read that your return stays at Hotel Charsfield have been of a consistently high standard of service and that our wonderful team of staff have always been most accommodating, friendly and helpful to you. It will be my pleasure to share your comments with our team and highlight the reasons you love returning to the hotel.

We do offer a selection of room types at the hotel, starting from our Standard room through to our 2 bedroom apartment. For long staying guests we do suggest a either a Deluxe Room or Junior Suite as they do offer more space and a large layout. Please do not hestitate to contact the hotel directly for your future reservations and we can discuss the best suited room type for your needs.

I hope you enjoyed your time in Melbourne, and had a safe trip home.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Genevieve Butler
Assistant Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    182
    36
    16
    5
See reviews for
59
219
36
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stayed for a weekend in early November 2013 and loved the hotel. We stayed in a deluxe room upstairs at the front of the hotel. There was no noise from the road, the trams or the marathon that went by early on the Sunday morning. The bathroom was beautiful and we really appreciated having a lounge in the room. The bed was incredibly comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful - I can't speak highly enough of them. It is situated a very short 5 minute tram ride from Melbourne CBD and the tram stop is a mere 2 minutes walk away. We ate in the restaurant on both nights and found the food to be very good.We also had the breakfast one morning and found that to be adequate as well. The only thing we thought could be improved would be to have a small jug of fresh milk available in the room fridge instead of the UHF milk which was supplied. Unfortunately we find that UHF milk has a 'taste' which makes for a terrible cuppa. All up, we loved the hotel and can't wait to come back and stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't be frightened about having a room at the front - we found it to be very quiet (no road or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Allyssa C,

Thank you for your delightful 5 star review. I am so pleased to read you had a perfect stay with us and that our staff were most helpful in ensuring you had an amazing overall experience whilst staying at Hotel Charsfield.

We are very lucky to have such a great team of staff, who consistently strive to provide excellent service to our guests, ensuring their stay is memorable.

I am pleased our location was suited to your needs, and also our accommodation was most comfortable. Our Deluxe rooms are our most popular room type and are certainly equipped with everything you need for your stay. We are fantastically set just back off the road, which eliminates most traffic noise.

Thank you also for your suggestion of fresh milk in our rooms. I will certainly share your comments with our General Manager, however please do contact reception with any queries you may have during your stay. We absolutely would have been able to provide you with some fresh milk for tea and coffee upon request.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Charsfield when you next return to Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Assistant Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
126 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Even though Melbourne is an expensive city, I thought the charming Charsfield Hotel was priced quite fully for what it offered (and this despite booking well in advance).

The front building is delightful – old world charm – with a very well tended garden and al fresco dining on the verandah. Although the hotel is near a tram stop (tram numbers 3, 5, 6, 16, 67 and 72), the location is “in between” more lively areas, such as the city centre, St. Kildas or Prahran. Each of these three is about a 30 to 40 minute walk away, or 10 minutes on a tram. If you had business on St. Kilda's Road itself, the hotel would be a good choice, otherwise there isn’t too much in the immediate vicinity.

The room was nicely presented and of course this is an older building. Very good wi-fi reception included in the room price. There is a fridge and tea/coffee, but no in room safe. Not having a safe was a bit of a bore, because it meant having to leave/retrieve valuables at the front desk, initially showing photo ID (though the staff were consistently delightful). I felt I needed to do this as there were no locks on the windows (I was on the first floor) and didn’t want to chance it.

The floors are wooden, so you can hear/feel people walking along the corridor, but otherwise, my room, which was in the middle part of the property, was very quiet. Very large flat screen TV, although a listing of the channels in the hotel guide would have been helpful. The room furniture was relatively “cheap” and did vibrate as you walked across the floor. There was a fan heater, which provided both hot and cold air, although was too noisy/irregular to have on at night. The fridge was also a bit noisy.

The bathroom was long and narrow (see photo) – the area around the loo was very cramped, not helped by the loo seat itself not staying up; there was no bath. There was also no heater in the bathroom, so it was quite cold; the door to the bedroom was spring loaded so would always close.

The front desk team are delightful and there are free apples and newspapers. The dining room team were a little bit more pushy. The fitness centre was a tiny room off the car park with three pieces of equipment (and no treadmill).

There is an 7-Eleven and an IGA about a 10 minute walk away, but the nearest decent supermarket is in Prahran (30 minutes walk/10 minutes on the tram).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Airlineconsultant,

Thank you for your 4 star informative review.

I am pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us at Hotel Charsfield and found our location easily accessible to local attractions and neighbouring locations such as South Yarra, Prahran and St Kilda. Certainly we are well connected with multiple tram lines running from just outside the front entrance of the hotel.

Our team of staff take great pride in going the extra mile, and assisting guests in any way to ensure their stay is most comfortable and enjoyable. For light sleepers we do suggest requesting a room on the 1st floor of the hotel as this is the most quiet.

We also offer a variety of room types, including our heritage style Premier rooms which boast larger marble bathrooms, elegant furniture and high ceilings. Please do not hesitate to contact the hotel prior to making your next reservation as we always happy to discuss the room type best suited to your needs.

I am delighted to read that our staff were most helpful to you during your stay, and that you enjoyed our complimentary apples. It will be my pleasure to share your review with staff, and also forward your suggestions to our management team.

I hope you had a safe journey back to the UK, and do look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Charsfield on your next trip to Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Genevieve Butler
Assistant Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary. We were greeted by friendly & helpful staff, a room upgrade & a complimentary bottle of wine. First impressions were last impressions. Would recommend the Charsfield to anyone wanting to stay just outside the CBD.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear 1983JayKay,

Thank you for taking time to post your lovely 5 star review on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted our wonderful team of staff were central to your fantastic experience at Hotel Charsfield during your recent stay. It will be my great pleasure to share your review with staff and management alike.

I am certain you had a perfect 30th wedding anniversary celebration, and am delighted to read that enjoyed your complimentary upgrade and bottle of sparkling wine.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your future travels to Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Genevieve Butler
Assistant Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ampthill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We spent 5 nights at the Charsfield and felt very welcome from the start. The room was comfortable and well equipped and, being on a long holiday going from place to place, we appreciated the laundry facilities. It was useful to have wifi available too. The position of the hotel suited us as we could walk into the CBD, or down to St Kilda, or catch a tram. The hotel is charming and I would definitely return there if I visit Melbourne again. Thanks to all the helpful, smiley staff!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Judy M,

Thank you for your delightful 5 star review.

I am so pleased to read you thoroughly enjoyed your recent 5 night stay with us whilst visiting beautiful Melbourne.

Certainly Hotel Charsfield is in a fantastic location, central to the hustle and bustle of the city centre and also neighbouring St Kilda, Prahran and South Yarra ( all of which are easily accessible by tram which picks up right outside the hotel entrance).

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed the surrounds of the hotel, including use of complimentary WIFI internet connection and our onsite guest laundry facility.

I hope you enjoyed your time in Melbourne and had a safe trip home to the UK. We look forward to welcoming you back on your future travels.

Kind regards,

Genevieve Butler
Assistant Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here for 2 nights. The location is wonderful, the front desk staff was charming, knowledgeable and always helpful. It has charm and was very comfortable. I would recommend to anyone staying in Melbourn.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Kabrenee,

Thank you for taking time to post your delightful 4 star review on Trip Advisor.

I am so pleased to read your recent stay with us was great, and that our staff were most helpful and charming.

Certainly we pride ourselves on providing excellent service, and love to go the extra mile to ensure our guests have the most memorable stay. It will be my greatest pleasure to share your review with staff and management alike.

I hope you enjoyed your time in Melbourne, and had a safe trip home to America.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel next time you visit Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Genevieve Butler
Assistant Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Extremely comfortable beds, friendly staff. Breakfasts were excellent although service a little slow. Our bathroom was long and narrow - tall people might find sitting on the loo a problem! Despite hotel being on a main road, inside of hotel was very quiet, although our view was of the courtyard car park and neighbouring office block. First place we stayed in Australia with free wifi! though it was very slow and a bit hit and miss.
Nice location, out of the city centre but just a short tram ride away. Some decent restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear thetwojs,

Thank you taking time to review Hotel Charsfield. We are delighted to receive your 4 star review.

I am pleased your stay was most comfortable, the best most comfortable and our staff to be very friendly and helpful to you.

We are glad you appreciated the complimentary wifi we offer (100MB per day). Thank you for raising it to our attention that you experienced some inconsistencies with the connection. We have since had IT check this had been rectified.

I am pleased to read you enjoyed your meals at the hotel and also in the surrounding area- certainly there is a lot of variety in the area as well as neighbouring South Yarra and Prahran.

Perhaps on your next stay with us you might like to consider our other room types. Our Premier Rooms do offer larger marble bathrooms with elegant decor. Please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly in future to discuss the different room types so we can determine which rooms may be best suited to your needs and preference.

Kind regards,

Genevieve Butler
Assistant Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Charsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charsfield

Address: 478 St. Kilda Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Charsfield 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Charsfield is a fine example of early St Kilda Road Victorian architecture, which has heritage listing. This boutique accommodation now combines the warmth, character and style of the building with professional and friendly service to ensure the experience on offer is as unique as the guests who stay here. So whether you are visiting Melbourne on business, as a conference delegate, on holiday, or perhaps to enjoy one of the many major events in town, the Hotel Charsfield is the ideal choice for accommodation in Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Charsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charsfield Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Charsfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.