We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Charsfield

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Charsfield to your Saves list
Hotel Charsfield
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   478 St. Kilda Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed here for a week. A very nice hotel, clean and quiet, good size bedroom and shower room. No view from my window (it's surrounded by large office blocks nowadays) but still light and airy. Some very good staff who were happy to help with anything you asked. Nice location - easy walk or tram into the City centre (you can buy a pre-paid tram travel card at reception) - if you're walking there's a nice route straight over the road into the park and then head into the City through the parks/botanical gardens, takes about 30-45 minutes walking but a nice walk to do. The only thing I thought could improve was the iron power lead was too short so i had to rearrange the furniture to reach the power socket to do some ironing, and frankly if that's the worst thing about my stay that says a lot! :) If you stay here and don't fancy eating in the hotel restaurant then try the Hunters Cafe just a block up the road for a fantastic breakfast, and the Rosco's At Chevron restaurant just down the road a little way for dinner. Both superb.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear centralnights,

Thank you for your lovely 5 star review.

I am delighted your to read you had a fantastic stay with us and found our staff to be most friendly and certainly able to assist with any need you had during your stay.

Thank you for advising us about the iron in your room. I have discussed this with housekeeping and a better suited iron has been in the room you stayed in.

I hope you had a safe and pleasant trip back home to the UK. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next trip to Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Assistant Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    188
    36
    16
    6
See reviews for
61
225
38
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Used this hotel when visiting on business, it has everything I need for a buiness trip, good food great location and meeting rooms, it comes with old charm atmosphere that makes a plesent change from the global brands.

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Morganforme,

Thank you for your delightful 4/5 star review.

I am most pleased to read you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the hotel and found all facilities, including our meeting rooms, to be adequate.

I am pleased you enjoyed sampling our new menu at the hotel and found the food and service to be a wonderful experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Australia.

Kind regards,

Genevieve Butler
Assistant Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This hotel is a gem especially if you are sick of the normal hotels. The Charsfield hotel is like stepping back in time. All the staff were very friendly and nothing was to much trouble. The breakfast was delicious .Our room, whilst small was totally adequate,the bed linen was crisp and of beautiful quality and pillows were lovely soft feather filled, the amenities were carefully considered which included many personal requirements including Panadol and panty hose.We can recommend this hotel if you are looking for a memorable experience. We have a new home in Melbourne.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Emac53,

Thank you for taking time to post your lovely 4/5 star review on Trip Advisor.

I am most pleased to read you enjoyed our personal touches our hotel rooms with carefully selected products and also particular note of our bedding. We have recently changed linen providers and are receiving some great feedback.

Thank you for your kind comments on our friendly and obliging staff, and also how you enjoyed your breakfast in our beautiful dining room.

We look forward to welcoming you back each time you come to Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Assistant Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joondalup, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Old world charm hotel with excellent service. We stayed three nights and can't fault any aspect of our stay. We ate the first night at their restaurant and was very pleasantly surprised at the friendly staff, fine dining and ambiance of the room. The breakfast was equally as good. We asked for extra blankets and it arrived in our room in record time. Nothing was too much to ask. In addition the tram stop just opposite which made it perfect to get into/out of Melbourne CBD. We will definitely stay here again and can recommend to it anyone fed-up with faceless hotel accommodation.

Room Tip: The rooms towards the back of the property face away from the main road and is therefor wisher quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Cornflake_12,

Thank you for your lovely 5 star review regarding your fantastic stay with us recently.

I am most pleased you thoroughly enjoyed your meal in the restaurant, which also extended to your pleasant suprise on the quality of service we do offer at the hotel.

It is fantastic to read that our staff were most attentive and efficient, and also that you would not hesitate to recommend us to your family and friends.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Genevieve Butler
Assistant Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

If you are fed up with faceless corpate accomdation then try the Charsfield. We visit Melbourne for personal and buisness reasons and this was our best stay ever. From the warm greeting at reception to our last breakfast the stay was faultless. Staff are friendly and can not do enough for you. There is no need to go out for meals as the evening food is of a very high standard and not over priced. On top of all this is the building its self which is a Victorian gem and located right on a major tram route so you wont need taxis to get you into town. The rooms are comfortable if a little smaller than a multinational but much more comfortable and if on your own there is more than enough space and a good sized desk. In addition the hotel is quite and peaceful. So enjoy a touch of class and quality wether for work or pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Tim P,

Thank you for your generous 5 star review. I am delighted to read you had a faultless stay with us recently and fell in love with our beautiful hotel.

We are certainly very lucky to have such a fantastic team who truly strive hard to go above and beyond the expectations of our guests.

As you may know, we have recently employed a fantasic new chef whom has created a vibrant and flavoursome menu. This includes a wonderful A La Carte menu and also our Global Dish Lunch Specials which offer meals from $15.00! Thank you for noticing the quality and reasonable price of our menu.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your future travels to Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Genevieve Butler
Assistant Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I recently stayed for one night and I was thoroughly impressed. The service was fantastic and very accommodating. There were no problems with my requests (which ranged from a late check in and check out, to asking for bandages and band aids due to a minor accidental self inflicted injury!). The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The hotel and room were very nice. I liked the feel of the building and great old world charm, with a great location. I will have no hesitation to book and stay again when I'm in Melbourne next.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear C W,

Thank you for your lovely 5 star review.

I am pleased to read we were able to accommodate your requests such as an early check in and check out. We always do our best to make a room available to early arrving guests.

Thank you for noticing how friendly our staff are. We are so lucky to have such a small team who are dedicated to providing quality service and exceeding guest expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel on your future travels to Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Genevieve Butler
Assistant Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

once again its always nice to visit this hotel the atmosphere the friendly staff and the great service. we were given a free upgrade by the receptionist which made the wifes day.

you simply cant beat this hotel for value and quality each time

great old world charm wonderfully maintained and very accessable to the cbd

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Scubasteve15,

Thank you for reviewing The Hotel Charsfield again. Always a pleasure to have you to return to the hotel and i am pleased you still love the hotel as much as your first stay.

Very nice to read your wife enjoyed the room upgrade with our compliments.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Genevieve Butler
Assistant Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
0.3 mi away
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
#22 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,523 reviews
0.3 mi away
Art Series - The Blackman
Art Series - The Blackman
#13 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,482 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royce Hotel
Royce Hotel
#46 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,100 reviews
3.7 mi away
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
1.9 mi away
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Charsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charsfield

Address: 478 St. Kilda Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Charsfield 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Charsfield is a fine example of early St Kilda Road Victorian architecture, which has heritage listing. This boutique accommodation now combines the warmth, character and style of the building with professional and friendly service to ensure the experience on offer is as unique as the guests who stay here. So whether you are visiting Melbourne on business, as a conference delegate, on holiday, or perhaps to enjoy one of the many major events in town, the Hotel Charsfield is the ideal choice for accommodation in Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Charsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charsfield Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Charsfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.