We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Charsfield

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Charsfield to your Saves list
Hotel Charsfield
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   478 St. Kilda Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ballarat Vic
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Just had 2 nights at Hotel Charsfield, on StKilda Rd, Melbourne. Lovely old mansion, very comfortable hotel. Efficient check in process, comfortable room. T/V didn't,t work properly. Staff had no hesitation in moving us to another room. Good breakfast, plenty of public transport available on St.Kilda rd, outside front door. 4th time we have stayed there. Recommend for relaxing w/end.

Room Tip: Rooms at back of building are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear MillyBallarat,

Thank you for your 4 star review. I am pleased you enjoyed your last stay with us, as you have continued to over the years.

I apologise you experienced some issues with your television, however i am glad to hear our staff were quickly able to rectify this.

Thank you for your continued support. We cannot wait to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    163
    31
    15
    5
See reviews for
54
188
35
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berwick, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was our first stay at Hotel Charsfield but unlikely to be our last. First impressions were just stunning. The facade, the garden, the reading room etc - all lovely. The reception staff at all times were very friendly and accommodating. We felt very welcome.

We were in a deluxe room. Our room was quiet and warm. The bed was SO comfortable. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars was because of the ensuite design. It is a long skinny room and you have little room to bypass the toilet to get to the shower. I would imagine it would be very tricky if the loo is being used. Placing the door further towards the middle would have made it possible to have the toilet and the shower at different ends of the room.

We loved being just a little out of the city, yet so close with the frequent trams. Being there for a weekend we had free street parking so avoided the $20 per night for car parking in a carpark around the corner.

This gem of a hotel doesn't have a pool like some of the big hotels in town but we were in Melbourne for the Monet Exhibition, a theatre show etc.. not to swim. Loved it - we will return sometime.

Room Tip: If you wish to spend the extra money a suite would have have a better designed bathroom. If you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Julie B,

Thank you for your 4 star review!

I'm so pleased your stay was fantastic and you found our staff most friendly and accommodating.

I am glad you enjoyed your time in our beautiful hotel and found peace in our reading room.

I will be sure share your comments with our staff and management.

We cannot wait to welcome you back!

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My wife and I spent a night here recently as part of a weekend getaway. The Charsfield has been beautifully renovated and maintains close links to it's past history. It has excellent access to the city, being in StKilda Rd but the winning formula for me is it's character and charm. From the delightful Reading Room to it's Billiard Room, it reeks of a bygone era. Our room was well presented, comfortable and spotlessly clean. Breakfast in the Dining Room was excellent and we were well taken care of by the staff managing this. Our stay could not have been any better and nothing was too much trouble for a staff who were friendly, courteous and helpful. We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Foxy52,

Thank you for your amazing 5 star review and lovely photo contributions.

I am delighted to read you had a fantastic stay and were most impressed with our beautiful hotel, but most importantly our wonderful team of staff here.

Thank you for sharing your comments on the easy access to the CBD

We cannot wait to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next trip to Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Assistant Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Ideal place for Melbourne Break. Beautiful old hotel with lots of character and charm but still with modern amenities. Excellent access to city, St Kilda and other Melbourne suburbs. by tram. Love it.

Room Tip: Get a myki before hand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Matthew W,

Thank you for taking time to post your 5 star review on Trip Advisor.

I am so pleased Hotel Charsfield was a perfect place for a quick Melbourne getaway.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We have just spent a perfect weekend in this beautifully renovated hotel. The decor of the public spaces is in keeping with the period of the Hotel. The bedroom was adequately furnished with functional furnishings. Service was second to none and we really loved the Reading Room where one could sit in comfort and either read or catch up on emails. It was another place to relax rather than spending all the time in a bedroom. Public transport is closed by as are coffee shops and restaurants should you want a change. Parking on the weekend was free, but through the week, cars have to park away from the hotel in secure parking.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear MirryJ,

Thank you for your wonderful 5 star review on Trip Advisor.

I am so pleased to see you thoroughly enjoyed your weekend at Hotel Charsfield, and found peace in our beautiful reading room.

We cannot wait to welcome you back on your future travels to Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We spent almost 1 week in Charsfield hotel, Melbourne.
As we were in 4 people, it fitted perfectly well for our needs. We could cook for us and receive friends to enjoy a time together while cooking. Cleant bathrooms and good lines. Kitchen with dishes enough for a short period of time, but also for a long time . Good furniture, not so contemporary but with quality. Great service!

Room Tip: most rooms are big enough to be in a family. I've got a room with 2 bedrooms , 2 bathrooms, 1 li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Miriam F,

Thank you for your lovely 4 star review on the Hotel Charsfield.

I am so pleased to read that our 2 Bedroom family apartment was more than suited to your family's needs during your 1 week stay with us.

I hope you had a lovely time in Melbourne and hope to welcome you back to the hotel on your future travels to Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We thoroughly recommend this hotel - clean, comfy, friendly & efficient staff, situated close to transport. Stayed 4 nights in a Junior Suite, great value for money. The restaurant is great too, really enjoyed the breakfasts. We go to Melbourne often, so will definitely stay there again. Meryl & Rob, Adelaide SA

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear MerylAdelaide,

Thank you for your fantastic 5 Star review.

We are most pleased to read that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and that our Junior Suite was both suited to your needs and very comfortable. Absolutely for longer stays, our larger room types (Junior Suite, Premier & Premier Spa Rooms) can be a great choice for added comfort and space.

We will be sure to share your comments with all staff and management, specifically with our restaurant team regarding your kind words on your dining experiences.

We cannot wait to welcome you back to the hotel on your future travels to Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Charsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charsfield

Address: 478 St. Kilda Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Charsfield 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Charsfield is a fine example of early St Kilda Road Victorian architecture, which has heritage listing. This boutique accommodation now combines the warmth, character and style of the building with professional and friendly service to ensure the experience on offer is as unique as the guests who stay here. So whether you are visiting Melbourne on business, as a conference delegate, on holiday, or perhaps to enjoy one of the many major events in town, the Hotel Charsfield is the ideal choice for accommodation in Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Charsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charsfield Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Charsfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.