We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Olde World charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Charsfield

Save Saved
You added Hotel Charsfield to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Charsfield
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   478 St. Kilda Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Sydney
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Olde World charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Fell in love with the photos of this on the net, not really knowing where it was in relation to anywhere!!! Booked it anyway, great place, the rooms themselves were rather large. The bathrooms in the standard room that we booked were ok for us but very little room for movement was very squishy trying to use the loo. A short 100m walk up the road and we caught the tram only a few short stops to Flinders street the main stop in Melbourne, if you are not au fait with the whole tram travel, ask at reception they were very helpful we were able to purchase our cards there and then with enough credit to get us to the city and back. Overall a great place to base yourself for travel to city and St Kilda. Only negatives, some staff were not as friendly as others, and bed was a bit soft for us (probably being a little picky). We would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask about bathroom size when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Golfinchick,

Thank you taking time to share your comments on The Hotel Charsfield.

I am very pleased to hear our staff were most helpful to you during your stay, and that your overall experience was wonderful.

We hope you enjoyed your time in Melbourne and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your future travels.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    169
    140
    24
    15
    5
See reviews for
48
159
31
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penzance, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

fantastic location, just a few minutes outside of the main city centre, easy to hop on to the tram,small and quiet,it felt like a small country house but in the centre of a huge city..
reception staff were very friendly, had a small issue with the bar staff but resolved quite quickly which was a good sign.
We would definately stay here again as nice to be able to escape the bustle of the city centre in just a fe wminutes.

Room Tip: we had a room on the ground floor which was slightly noisy when the room above came in at 130am! so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay, in particular the location of the hotel and how easy it is to access the city centre by tram.

I am pleased you found the reception staff friendly, however I am unaware of an issue you had with the bar staff? Feel free to contact me directly should you wish to provide any further information.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Hotel Charsfield on your next trip.

Kind Regards,

Gabrielle Chisholm
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I had a friend from overseas who visited us in Melbourne and thought I'd get her a really nice place close to the city but not the impersonal service that you'd get in hotels. Well, I think I could find friendlier service in other hotels than what you get from this place.
1. No parking. If you don't want to park along St Kilda rd, you have to pay and use a public parking that's not even close to the place. Can you imagine yourself, carrying your luggages and bags when you check in/out?
2. I was asked to make a $100 deposit which they charged to my credit card, then I was told a couple of weeks later that they won't return my money because they needed to steam dry the carpet in the room we stayed in. We stayed overnight as we decided to move to another hotel. How dirty do you think I can get in one night.
3. No elevator. We had to carry all our belongings up the stairs. If they can't provide an elevator, they should provide assistance to get our things up to our room.
4. Had to wait for the reception as there was only one person there when we checked in but he had to help this old couple call a cab.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear AlphaVillegas,

Thank you for taking time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your feedback.

We would like to advise you that we do offer secure off-site parking, as advertised on ours and also 3rd party websites. Our secure off site parking is just around the corner from the hotel and around 3 minutes walk from the hotel entrance. As you discovered, there is free parking along St Kilda Road on the weekends and guests are welcome to take advantage of this.

Our rear staff car park can also be used a loading zone for hotel guests, where they would prefer to temporarily park as close to their rooms to unload luggage etc, however our friendly staff are always happy to assist guests with their luggage at any time during their stay.

Upon check in at the hotel we do require a credit card, cash or eftpos bond of $100.00AUD to cover any incidentals on your room. For credit transactions, this is called an Authorisation, which is released to you 3-7 working days from the date of your arrival.

Unfortunately we had to charge you for a cleaning fee, as the result of the rug being damaged from a red wine stain. We had to replace the rug, however you were only charged the amount of $100.00 to cover the part of the damage.

As we are a heritage listed property, we are actually unable to change the structure of the building, inclusive of installing an elevator. If you would prefer, please do request a ground floor room upon booking.

At the hotel we take our responsibility to our guests seriously, which is why we help our elderly guests into taxis should they require this service. I do apologise that you had to wait a moment for our staff to assist you on check out.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colac
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

A beautiful boutique hotel in a gorgeous city. St. Kilda Rd. Melbourne is one of the worlds great boulevards, and the Charsfield Hotel celebrates that standard very well. The downside of the Charsfield is the lack of a concierge or official porter and the sometimes quiet nature of the hotel ie. not too many guests. However the appointments are gorgeous and the decor old world!

I love the hotel for its fit with my vision of what a hotel may have looked and operated like in Victorian times. The staff are very friendly, the spa room large and luxurious but the wine list and menu are simple.

I am a regular guest at the Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms away from St. Kilda Rd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Deat AFCB123,

Thank you for your lovely review and beautiful photo contributions.

I am pleased everytime you return to Hotel Charsfield you are still inspired by our beautiful establishment. It is clear from your photographs that you very much love your time spent at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed for 1 night. The location was great, being on St Kilda Road, short drive to Toorak Road, St.Kilda and the City. Also in close proximity to the MCG. The Hotel has a real homely feel, and the room was spacious and very clean. The Receptionist was warm and welcoming. We would definately come back again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Jill L,

Thankyou for your lovely 5 Star review on Trip Advisor.

We are so pleased you thoroughly enjoyed your time at the hotel and are looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next trip to Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights as part of a holiday. Clean room and staff were friendly. The only problem we experienced was that on the first morning we no hot water in the shower. We were told due to water pressure we would need to have the hot water tap on at the same time as the shower. Ok for that night and the next morning but if problems were known then maybe we should have been informed on arrival. Other than that no issues at all and I would recommend the hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, General Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you found the room clean and the staff friendly during your stay.

As the hotel is housed in an old building, sometimes the hot water does take a little longer than normal to travel through to our guest rooms. We are however having our plumber attend next week to service our hot water units.

We hope to welcome you back to The Hotel Charsfield in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Gabrielle Chisholm
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This hotel was beautiful. It had great Victorian charm to it. It was right near a tram station which made it easy to get around the city. The hotel was since and quiet, but due to its age, we had issues with taking a hot shower. It was easily resolved by running the sink faucet at the same time....but otherwise, great staff and good location!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Laura R,

Thank you for your lovely review.

I am pleased you enjoyed your time at the hotel and our staff were most helpful to you.

As the bulding is over 120 years old, sometimes the hot water does take a little longer than normal to travel through to our guest rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Charsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charsfield

Address: 478 St. Kilda Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Charsfield 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Charsfield is a fine example of early St Kilda Road Victorian architecture, which has heritage listing. This boutique accommodation now combines the warmth, character and style of the building with professional and friendly service to ensure the experience on offer is as unique as the guests who stay here. So whether you are visiting Melbourne on business, as a conference delegate, on holiday, or perhaps to enjoy one of the many major events in town, the Hotel Charsfield is the ideal choice for accommodation in Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Charsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charsfield Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Charsfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.