We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very spécial boutique hôtel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Charsfield

Save Saved
You added Hotel Charsfield to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Charsfield
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   478 St. Kilda Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Colac
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A very spécial boutique hôtel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

A beautiful boutique hotel in a gorgeous city. St. Kilda Rd. Melbourne is one of the worlds great boulevards, and the Charsfield Hotel celebrates that standard very well. The downside of the Charsfield is the lack of a concierge or official porter and the sometimes quiet nature of the hotel ie. not too many guests. However the appointments are gorgeous and the decor old world!

I love the hotel for its fit with my vision of what a hotel may have looked and operated like in Victorian times. The staff are very friendly, the spa room large and luxurious but the wine list and menu are simple.

I am a regular guest at the Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms away from St. Kilda Rd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Deat AFCB123,

Thank you for your lovely review and beautiful photo contributions.

I am pleased everytime you return to Hotel Charsfield you are still inspired by our beautiful establishment. It is clear from your photographs that you very much love your time spent at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    143
    26
    15
    5
See reviews for
51
166
34
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed for 1 night. The location was great, being on St Kilda Road, short drive to Toorak Road, St.Kilda and the City. Also in close proximity to the MCG. The Hotel has a real homely feel, and the room was spacious and very clean. The Receptionist was warm and welcoming. We would definately come back again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Jill L,

Thankyou for your lovely 5 Star review on Trip Advisor.

We are so pleased you thoroughly enjoyed your time at the hotel and are looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next trip to Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights as part of a holiday. Clean room and staff were friendly. The only problem we experienced was that on the first morning we no hot water in the shower. We were told due to water pressure we would need to have the hot water tap on at the same time as the shower. Ok for that night and the next morning but if problems were known then maybe we should have been informed on arrival. Other than that no issues at all and I would recommend the hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, General Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you found the room clean and the staff friendly during your stay.

As the hotel is housed in an old building, sometimes the hot water does take a little longer than normal to travel through to our guest rooms. We are however having our plumber attend next week to service our hot water units.

We hope to welcome you back to The Hotel Charsfield in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Gabrielle Chisholm
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This hotel was beautiful. It had great Victorian charm to it. It was right near a tram station which made it easy to get around the city. The hotel was since and quiet, but due to its age, we had issues with taking a hot shower. It was easily resolved by running the sink faucet at the same time....but otherwise, great staff and good location!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Laura R,

Thank you for your lovely review.

I am pleased you enjoyed your time at the hotel and our staff were most helpful to you.

As the bulding is over 120 years old, sometimes the hot water does take a little longer than normal to travel through to our guest rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronte, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed here on a groupon style deal and received such amazing service & courtesy. Was in Melbourne for a special occasion &our accommodation fell through at the last minute. This deal came up, luckily was near st. kilda & city so worked well for my plans. Location great depending on your agenda. Rooms comfortable & staff attentive. Not really st.kilda but close enough.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear PrincessFisky,

Thank you for taking time to post your lovely review and photo contribution.

I am pleased you were able to take advantage of one of the amazing deals we were advertising online, and found both the building and our staff to be most courteous and delightful.

I will be sure to share your review with our staff and management.

I am glad the hotel was situated in a location suited to your needs as well. For future travellers reference, we are situated between the CBD, South Yarra and St Kilda, and only 6 minutes by tram to the city centre.

I hope you had a wonderful time in Melbourne, and do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your future travels.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darwin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is a lovely place to stay and the room was clean with plenty of cupboard and wardrobe space. Bathroom well appointed with plenty of room for toiletries. Location is a couple of kms from markets and best eating places in St Kilda. A tram stop is within 20 mtrs of your front door. We ate at the restaurant and the food and service were good.
The only downside is you struggle to get hot water for a shower. I did report this and they were very helpful but the building has dated plumbing.
I would stay here again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Jenette B,

Thank you for taking time to review The Hotel Charsfield.

We are so pleased you thoroughly enjoyed your time at the hotel and found Melbourne's attractions and hot spots easily accessible from our fantastic location.

As the building is over 120 years old, sometimes we do experience the hot water taking a little longer than normal to travel through to our guest rooms. I am pleased to hear our staff were most helpful to you in rectifying this issue for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your future travels to Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whyalla south australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed 2 nights , the hotel was very clean , very quiet and the staff were friendly, I didn't try the restaurant as I had my 4 yr old with me so was more of a hotdog and pizza trip but the menu looked good.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Demo1312,

Thank you for your 5/5 review on Trip Advisor.

Perhaps next time you will have an opportunity to dine in our beautiful restaurant.

I will be sure to share your review with both staff and management.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your future travels to Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Charsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charsfield

Address: 478 St. Kilda Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Charsfield 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Charsfield is a fine example of early St Kilda Road Victorian architecture, which has heritage listing. This boutique accommodation now combines the warmth, character and style of the building with professional and friendly service to ensure the experience on offer is as unique as the guests who stay here. So whether you are visiting Melbourne on business, as a conference delegate, on holiday, or perhaps to enjoy one of the many major events in town, the Hotel Charsfield is the ideal choice for accommodation in Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Charsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charsfield Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Charsfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.