We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Charsfield

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Charsfield to your Saves list
Hotel Charsfield
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   478 St. Kilda Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 169 Hotels in Melbourne
Andover
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights as part of a holiday. Clean room and staff were friendly. The only problem we experienced was that on the first morning we no hot water in the shower. We were told due to water pressure we would need to have the hot water tap on at the same time as the shower. Ok for that night and the next morning but if problems were known then maybe we should have been informed on arrival. Other than that no issues at all and I would recommend the hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, General Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you found the room clean and the staff friendly during your stay.

As the hotel is housed in an old building, sometimes the hot water does take a little longer than normal to travel through to our guest rooms. We are however having our plumber attend next week to service our hot water units.

We hope to welcome you back to The Hotel Charsfield in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Gabrielle Chisholm
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    144
    26
    15
    5
See reviews for
51
167
34
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olathe, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This hotel was beautiful. It had great Victorian charm to it. It was right near a tram station which made it easy to get around the city. The hotel was since and quiet, but due to its age, we had issues with taking a hot shower. It was easily resolved by running the sink faucet at the same time....but otherwise, great staff and good location!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Laura R,

Thank you for your lovely review.

I am pleased you enjoyed your time at the hotel and our staff were most helpful to you.

As the bulding is over 120 years old, sometimes the hot water does take a little longer than normal to travel through to our guest rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronte, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed here on a groupon style deal and received such amazing service & courtesy. Was in Melbourne for a special occasion &our accommodation fell through at the last minute. This deal came up, luckily was near st. kilda & city so worked well for my plans. Location great depending on your agenda. Rooms comfortable & staff attentive. Not really st.kilda but close enough.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear PrincessFisky,

Thank you for taking time to post your lovely review and photo contribution.

I am pleased you were able to take advantage of one of the amazing deals we were advertising online, and found both the building and our staff to be most courteous and delightful.

I will be sure to share your review with our staff and management.

I am glad the hotel was situated in a location suited to your needs as well. For future travellers reference, we are situated between the CBD, South Yarra and St Kilda, and only 6 minutes by tram to the city centre.

I hope you had a wonderful time in Melbourne, and do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your future travels.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darwin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is a lovely place to stay and the room was clean with plenty of cupboard and wardrobe space. Bathroom well appointed with plenty of room for toiletries. Location is a couple of kms from markets and best eating places in St Kilda. A tram stop is within 20 mtrs of your front door. We ate at the restaurant and the food and service were good.
The only downside is you struggle to get hot water for a shower. I did report this and they were very helpful but the building has dated plumbing.
I would stay here again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Jenette B,

Thank you for taking time to review The Hotel Charsfield.

We are so pleased you thoroughly enjoyed your time at the hotel and found Melbourne's attractions and hot spots easily accessible from our fantastic location.

As the building is over 120 years old, sometimes we do experience the hot water taking a little longer than normal to travel through to our guest rooms. I am pleased to hear our staff were most helpful to you in rectifying this issue for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your future travels to Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whyalla south australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed 2 nights , the hotel was very clean , very quiet and the staff were friendly, I didn't try the restaurant as I had my 4 yr old with me so was more of a hotdog and pizza trip but the menu looked good.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Demo1312,

Thank you for your 5/5 review on Trip Advisor.

Perhaps next time you will have an opportunity to dine in our beautiful restaurant.

I will be sure to share your review with both staff and management.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your future travels to Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

After spending hours researching the many lodging options in Melbourne, I finally selected the Hotel Charsfield. I've always preferred a small boutique hotel, and the reviews and images available for this hotel intrigued me. We weren't disappointed. The front of the hotel is as well manicured as the photos, and we found it an instantly welcoming place. The front desk staff were very friendly. The hotel is just outside the CBD, and the trolley stop is in front of the hotel. The desk attendant was able to sell us our trolley ticket when we checked in, making it easy to get started exploring. Despite being on busy street, the hotel is quiet. The street itself is lovely, with trees along both sides.

We had a standard room, which was a little small, but very nicely decorated. The bathroom is elegant with floor to ceiling travertine tiles, if I'm remembering correctly. The room had everything we needed to be comfortable, and included free tea/coffee. There was a small writing desk, and limited free wi-fi, so I could keep up with work.

The only areas I found slightly disappointing were the workout room and guest laundry. The staff told me that the hotel had formerly had a relationship with a nearby gym, but that the gym had changed ownership and not renewed the agreement. The hotel has installed a small workout room that includes stair-master and treadmill type of equipment. There were no free weights. It was fine, if you just wanted an aerobic workout. The laundry equipment was satisfactory, but it was very expensive. Both the workout room and laundry are across a small parking courtyard behind the hotel.

The hotel has a restaurant on the ground floor. We did not eat there, but we did patronize the bar. They had a decent wine and beer selection. We enjoyed taking our drinks out to the front porch and winding down before dinner.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Iflytoga,

Thank you for your lovely contribution to Trip Advisor.

I am so pleased you thoroughly enjoyed your time spent at the hotel and was able to make the most of our beautiful surroundings.

I will be sure to share your review with our staff and managment as we are always striving to improve our personalised service.

Perhaps on your next stay you might like to consider booking one of our Deluxe Rooms which are a larger. We also have Junior Suites and our beautiful Premier Room styles which boast the hotel's heritage charm.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your future travels to Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

An ideal hotel close to Melbourne' s CBD.
Friendly helpful staff. Our room was spacious very clean with bed linen changed each day.
There is a large reading room with lots of information regarding excursions to lots of interesting places. There is also a games room on the ground floor.
The tram service was very reliable making our stay so easy going.
The hotel provides a very a reliable shuttle service at low cost for transport back to the airport.
We would definitely make a return visit.

Room Tip: Our room was based on the ground floor which suited our requirement
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear JeanBrian,

Thank you for your lovely 5 star review on The Hotel Charsfield.

I am most pleased to read you thoroughly enjoyed your time at the hotel, and found our staff most helpful and welcoming during your time spent here.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your future travels to Melbourne.

Best wishes,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Charsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charsfield

Address: 478 St. Kilda Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Charsfield 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Charsfield is a fine example of early St Kilda Road Victorian architecture, which has heritage listing. This boutique accommodation now combines the warmth, character and style of the building with professional and friendly service to ensure the experience on offer is as unique as the guests who stay here. So whether you are visiting Melbourne on business, as a conference delegate, on holiday, or perhaps to enjoy one of the many major events in town, the Hotel Charsfield is the ideal choice for accommodation in Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Charsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charsfield Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Charsfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.