We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Charsfield

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Charsfield to your Saves list
Hotel Charsfield
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   478 St. Kilda Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Siegen, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had a very nice stay at this hotel and received an upgrade to a bigger room. The hotel is close to the city centre and the next tram-stop is just a short walk away. Free internet-access is available.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in particular the room upgrade.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Hotel Charsfield on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards,
Gabrielle Chisholm
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    146
    26
    15
    5
See reviews for
51
167
34
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
auckland, new zealand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I had to spend 3 days in Melbourne last week on a business trip.Found the Hotel Charsfield on T.A.
I try to avoid plastic boxes (AKA chain hotels) if at all possible.
Great location for transport or walking to central city, easy for morning/evening exercise around the lake, any number of eateries close by.Room was just as on website, extremely comfortable bed and very quiet at night.Had first evening's dinner in the hotel restaurant; great vegetarian pasta and a fab glass of pinot noir. Breakfast selection was plentiful.
I got a great rate on the Hotel Website for the Executive Special, which included a free glass of wine, newspaper, executive room, breakfast (cooked if desired) and internet.VERY reasonable rate for this area.($AU139 per night).
Only slight niggle was a minibar charge appearing out of nowhere, but reception staff quickly addressed this for me on checkout.
Would definitely return and have recommended to all my colleagues.

Room Tip: I had room 103, which was very quiet and had a fantastic bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Callinghomekids,

Thank you for your lovely review on Trip Advisor.

I am so pleased to read you thoroughly enjoyed your time at the hotel and found the location suited to both your business and leisure needs. Agreed that we are in a fantastic location, and a walk or jog around the lake is just wonderful at any time of the day.

I am glad you found our rooms to be as advertised online, and that other Trip Advisor comments were useful to you in selecting our beautiful boutique hotel (As no doubt yours will be valuable to other future travellers).

Fantastic to hear you had a wonderful meal in The Charsfield Restaurant! Certainly our restaurant manager will be most pleased to read your review and will certainly pass your compliments onto our chef.

I do apologise that you were incorrectly charged on your account, but pleased we were able to quickly rectify this for you.

Thank you again for your 5 star review!

Best wishes,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel is close to the centre of town and also the beach. The price is fair and the rooms comfortable with stylish fittings. The staff are very friendly and helpful. This is a very good hotel to fall into after a 13 hour flight. Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear RoadWarrior055,

Thank you for your kind review on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased you found the hotel to be both stylish, and comfortable for you after such a long flight.

I hope your time in Melbourne was pleasant, and you had an opportunity to explore our beautiful city. We are in a perfect location to explore the best Melbourne has to offer including St Kilda, South Yarra and surrounding areas.

Thank you again, for your 4 star review.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

fantastic room with averything i needed.. i only stayed there for a few days and wished it was longer .
all the staff were extremely helpfull and friendly .. its kind of halfway between the city and st kilda so you can get where you need to go quite easily..the reception staff are not only friendly but willing to assist at any time.

we will return once guillards reign of terror has come to an end!!

Room Tip: just ask for one with a bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Scubasteve15,

Thank you for your review and pleasant sense of humour.

I am so pleased The Hotel Charsfield was exceeded your needs and expectations.

I hope you have an opportunity in the future to stay a little longer.

Best wishes,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Charsfield for a week for business and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. I would definitely recommend for other travellers, be it for work or pleasure.

Pros:
- Beautiful room (Deluxe room) and building in general
- Although a 'studio room', very spacious
- Comfortable bed
- Immaculately clean and well appointed
- Close to tram stops
- Excellent room service meals
- Friendly, helpful staff

Cons:
- I needed to print a document last minute and the guest computer did not have Microsoft Office software or anything compatible. I did end up saving (on my own computer) as a PDF and finding a program that would open and print it, but it was not particularly efficient.

Other points:
- My room was on the southern side of the establishment and had no road noise; however, the floor boards in the hallway creaked when people walked down the hall (understandable considering the age of the building)
- Despite other reviewers comments, I found the bathroom of an adequate size

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear AussieGal555,

Thank you for your 5 star review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to read you had a wonderful stay and that you found our staff most friendly and helpful, in addition to our rooms being suited to your needs.

I am sorry to hear you had some trouble printing your document. We are always happy to assist guests and we would have been able to print this for you from reception to save you time and trouble. I will pass your comment onto management and see if we can rectify this problem for future guests.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I picked this for the location, just outside of Melbourne CBD, but right on a tram line and easy to get anywhere. It fulfilled all of my expectations, and then some. St. Kilda road is very busy, but the hotel was quiet. The room was elegant and comfortable. It's obvious that it is an older building, but it has been remodeled without losing its charm. Staff is friendly and very helpful. One gripe -- you must step up to get into the room's bathroom, which has been made more hazardous by the seemingly unnecessarily high threshold on top of the step. There is free wifi available in the rooms, although it has a daily download limit. There is an internet-connected desktop computer in the library which is free to use, and the library is open 24 hours. My husband and I would often take a glass of wine out to the front veranda or patio and watch the world go by. It has coin-op laundry, a great find after a week of traveling around Australia.

One item that's probably overlooked is the restaurant in the hotel. We skipped the expensive breakfast ($18 buffet) and ate out of our refrigerator each morning. But we ate our evening meal in the restaurant twice, and both times were the best meals we had in our entire two-week Australian trip. Excellent food, and fantastic service.

Overall, we were completely charmed. I would definitely return here!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Smilingiver,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We are so pleased you found your time at Hotel Charsfield most enjoyable and that all your expectations were pleasantly fulfilled.

Certainly we are in an excellect location, just outside the hustle and bustle of the city centre.

All hotel guests are offered 100MB complimentary WIFI internet access, and can pay afterwards if they wish to top up. As you have pointed out, we also do welcome guests to use our computer in the readinfg room which does offer unlimited internet connection 24 hours a day.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our restaurant. I am pleased your dining experience was wonderful, meals were thoroughly enjoyed and I will be sure to share your review with all staff and management.

I hope both your husband and yourself had a safe and pleasant journey home.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Beautiful spacious room, large comfy bed, very clean, nicely furnished and a very large balcony.

Location was great for our purposes. Within walking distance of city or St Kilda ... at a good stretch ... and when too hot to walk plenty of trams going both ways.

Lovely terrace out the front , great for watching the world go by when relaxing with a good wine.

The staff were very helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: Room 101 - spacious, with very large balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Tattytoo,

Thank you for taking time to review Hotel Charsfield.

I am pleased the hotel was suited to your needs and that you thoroughly enjoyed your time spent at the hotel.

Great tip on room 101- Our Premier Spa room is beautiful and used to to be main room of the house back when the building was a private residence.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Charsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charsfield

Address: 478 St. Kilda Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Charsfield 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Charsfield is a fine example of early St Kilda Road Victorian architecture, which has heritage listing. This boutique accommodation now combines the warmth, character and style of the building with professional and friendly service to ensure the experience on offer is as unique as the guests who stay here. So whether you are visiting Melbourne on business, as a conference delegate, on holiday, or perhaps to enjoy one of the many major events in town, the Hotel Charsfield is the ideal choice for accommodation in Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Charsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charsfield Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Charsfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.