We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Charsfield!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Charsfield

Save Saved
You added Hotel Charsfield to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Charsfield
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   478 St. Kilda Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 170 hotels in Melbourne
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loved the Charsfield!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Beautiful spacious room, large comfy bed, very clean, nicely furnished and a very large balcony.

Location was great for our purposes. Within walking distance of city or St Kilda ... at a good stretch ... and when too hot to walk plenty of trams going both ways.

Lovely terrace out the front , great for watching the world go by when relaxing with a good wine.

The staff were very helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: Room 101 - spacious, with very large balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Tattytoo,

Thank you for taking time to review Hotel Charsfield.

I am pleased the hotel was suited to your needs and that you thoroughly enjoyed your time spent at the hotel.

Great tip on room 101- Our Premier Spa room is beautiful and used to to be main room of the house back when the building was a private residence.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    142
    25
    15
    5
See reviews for
50
163
33
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Just spent a lovely week end at Hotel Charsfield. Very friendly and helpful staff. Comfy, clean room. Very quiet., considering it is on busy St Kilda road. Close enough to walk into the city.
Will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Colleen57_12,

Thank you for your recent review of Hotel Charsfield.

I am very pleased you had a great stay with us over the weekend and found our staff to be both kind and helpful.

We look forward to having you back on your next stay in Melbourne CBD.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

This is a wonderful hotel.
BOOKING. Booking was handled well through their website (via third party site The Booking Button). I wanted a room for 3 adults and the hotel took the effort to personally respond to my email requesting this (thanks, Jason).
LOCATION. Charsfield is about 35 minute walk to the main CBD, straight up St Kilda Rd. It is well served by tram routes. The hotel itself is an amazing old Victorian building, surviving between modern office blocks and shiny sky scrapers. The feeling of an antique oasis continues throughout the hotel, from the manicured lawn to the plush interior.
ROOMS. We had a large, spacious room for 3. The beds were comfortable, and there was a nice seating area also. The bathroom was clearly a design after thought (as it would have to be, in such an old building), and was the shape of a corridor - it was somewhat comical to be able to sit on the toilet and lean your head on the opposite wall!
The in-room amenities include iron, hair dryer, fridge (with mini bar) and of course a TV. The tray of snacks (paid for) included such interesting delights as hosiery and *cough* 'adult' accessories. A good idea, actually.
AMENITIES. There is a great old fashioned reading room with newspapers and free Internet downstairs, as well as a billiard room.
WIFI. Each guest has a personal wifi code that gives them 100mb per day, per device of wifi. There is a clear count down to show you how much you are using. My Dad did a fair amount of work using his smartphone and laptop, and we didn't go over the free allowance. During the day (until around 21.00), the restaurant next door beams out free wifi by inlink, which we used to supplement our charsfield allowance!
FOOD. We didn't eat at the restaurant, as we felt we could eat more cheaply and more to our taste elsewhere. The restaurant caters for all meals, and looked very plush, what glimpses we had of it. There is room service also.
PARKING. The hotel charges $25 per day for parking, which is not on site - it's in a secure car park round the corner. Outside the hotel, the street parking is free and unlimited after 6pm and and weekends. (Otherwise it is limited and is $3.20 per hour). In the city centre there are oodles of 'early bird' offers (designed at businessmen, I assume), where you can park in a central multistorey for as little as $13 all day, as long as you enter before 8.30 and leave after 14.30. We took advantage of this, and ended up paying just $14 for our entire stay in melbourne (thurs-sat). We parked outside the hotel and at Flinders Lane.
OVERALL. Charsfield is fantastic, and I couldn't recommend it enough.
As an after note; I was sent an email after check-out that invited me to review Charsfield 'if I enjoyed my stay', with a Link to their Tripadvisor page. It is good to see establishments utilising Tripadvisor to its fullest, and I would have written this review regardless, but I believe it is important to state when POSITIVE reviews have been invited by the establishment, as it will streamline the review mix. It's a fine line to tread, here on TripAdvisor.
That aside, I will definitely consider visiting again, when next I am in Melbourne. Thanks Charsfield!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Abs140,

Thank you for your informative review on Trip Advisor- it will be sure to assist future guests with multiple aspects of their stay.

I am so pleased you enjoyed yout time at the hotel and certainly will share your comments and gratitude with Jason, as well as staff and management.

I hope that on your next stay you will have an opportunity to dine with us as well.

I would like like to make one small corretion in that car parking is $20 per 24 hours for our secure off-site car park but this is a small matter. As you mention, there is also free parking available in the evenings (mid week) and all weekend along St Kilda Road.


We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

The hotel is clean, well placed and has a pleasant ambience. It is a civilised place with civilised guests. The staff are friendly and helpful, the continental breakfast quite enough to start the day. Bathroom was modern and well equipped. Easy access by tram to Chapel Street, St Kilda, the city etc. Parking is easy at nights and on the weekends but on weekdays you might have to use the hotel car park. There are no panoramic views (but neither do many high rise city hotels)or a pool but I would consider it a great, good value spot for a relaxed Melbourne experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Cabquokka,

Thank you for your kind comments and informative review.

I am so pleased to see you thoroughly enjoyed your time spent at the hotel and found us to be the perfect setting for a relaxed Melbourne getaway.

Fantastic tip about car parking. St Kilda Road in the evenings is free until 8am in the morning on weekdays, and then free on weekends. For future travels, often midweek it is best to opt for secure parking through the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next stay in Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We recently stayed at the Hotel Charsfield and enjoyed a clean and comfortable room located in a nicely refurbished mansion. Breakfast in the dining area was fresh and tasty, but the waitress did not help much: while we told her that one of us was sick and could only eat yoghurt, she did not not allow to buy only one yoghurt, but instead required to pay for a full breakfast. The location on St. Kilda Rd is good, although not in walking distance from downtown and there are few shops/restaurants around.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Bocopitu,

Thank you for taking time to review Hote Charsfield.

I am pleased to see you enjoyed your time spent in Melbourne, and at the hotel enjoying our relaxing and homely ambiance.

I am also pleased you found our your room to be quite comfortable, clean and suited to your needs.

I would like to thank you for bringing to our attention your breakfast dining experience. Certainly our management team will discuss this in futher detail.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Tis was our first stay at the Hotel Charsfield and I would recommend this hotel to anyone. We booked in November to stay in February 2013. We arrived a little before the advertised check in time but the delightful young lady at the reception desk allowed to book in and gave us an upgraded room.
The room was very pleasant, quite sizeable, tastefully appointed with a modern bathroom and very comfortable bed. The gardens and outside areas were a very pleasant place to sit and relax. Melbourne experienced some very warm weather but the hotel was lovely and cool.
There is a restaurant and bar at the hotel. We did not have a car as we had flown from Adelaide, there is a tram stop nearby so getting to Melbourne CBD or St Kilda could not have been easier.
Next time we are in Melbourne we will certainly stay at the Hotel Charsfield again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Colin L,

Thank you for your 5 star review on Trip Advisor.

I am so pleased you thoroughly enjoyed your time both spent in Melbourne and around the hotel enjoying our offered facilities and points of relaxation.

It will be of great pleasure to share your comments with management, as we are always looking for ways to exceed guest's expectations.

I hope you have a safe and pleasant trip back home, and do look forward to welcoming both you, and your recommended friends and family back to the hotel on your future travels to Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I recently stayed and found the experience to be fantastic. Clean comfy rooms with all required amenities and lots of quaint touches. Our breakfast in their main dining area was fresh and very tasty. The location is perfect with many trams running outside and a quick walk to shops. I would definately stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Emma P,

Thank you for taking time to post your lovely review on Trip Advisor.

I will be glad to share your comments with our staff and management, in particular with our Food & Beverage Director who will be pleased you enjoyed your dining experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Charsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charsfield

Address: 478 St. Kilda Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Charsfield 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Charsfield is a fine example of early St Kilda Road Victorian architecture, which has heritage listing. This boutique accommodation now combines the warmth, character and style of the building with professional and friendly service to ensure the experience on offer is as unique as the guests who stay here. So whether you are visiting Melbourne on business, as a conference delegate, on holiday, or perhaps to enjoy one of the many major events in town, the Hotel Charsfield is the ideal choice for accommodation in Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Charsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charsfield Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Charsfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.