We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and Super clean bathroom” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Charsfield

Save Saved
You added Hotel Charsfield to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Charsfield
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   478 St. Kilda Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #27 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great value and Super clean bathroom”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

You would get the romantic impression when you arrive in this hotel beautiful classic architecture building, and also nice design of the garden made it more romantic and perfect for couples. Clean and very well maintained property.
Inside the hotel, they have enough reception area, not so big, but lovely and friendly staff. With nice room across from the reception desk for playing pool (the pool table was so huge, so its a bit small space left to play). But they don't have nice gym tho.

The deluxe room was nice, spacious and very clean. And wow, the bathroom was super clean and so nice. Smells new. And the bed was very comfy. My boyfriend even wanted to call them up to ask what brand is.

Stayed for 3 nights, and overall was a good value. Recommended for couples.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Lilaparamita,

Thank you for taking time to post your lovely review on Hotel Charsfield.

I am so pleased both your partner and youself thoroughly enjoyed your time at the hotel and found your room both comfortable, clean, spacious and suited to your needs.

I hope you have an opportunity to come back and stay with us on your future travels to Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    150
    130
    23
    14
    5
See reviews for
40
147
29
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here during the Australian Open and was a short taxi ride to see all the tennis action. It was very peaceful and tranquil after being in all the crowds and the restaurant was very nice, quite intimate and they made you feel very special whilst dining there. Would definitely recommend to the people who enjoy non commercial Hotels and the building itself is quite beautiful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Tigergalz,

Thank you for taking time to review Hotel Charsfield.

I am pleased you enjoyed the hotel and its surrounds during your stay over Australian Open Tennis season.

I will be sure to share your lovely and kind comments with our Food & Beverage team. Thank you again for your feedback.

I hope you had a safe and plesant trip back to New Zealand and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your future travels to Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

The good: great service, St Kilda is a good location for my needs (Albert Park for a morning walk, Belgian Beer Cafe, easy parking, a reading room and full size snooker table) - and I love a hotel with character.
The Bad: I'm sorry, I'm starting to get annoyed with hotels offering free wi-fi that is either very, very slow, or does not work at all. Worse, hotels that cap Wi-fi and charge if you exceed the allocation. In this case 100 MBS. What is that? 5 minutes checking email? Whatever, it costs me $10 if I go slightly over it.
Also, my iron only had a cord that was slightly more than a metre long. It sounds like a pedantic whinge until you have to iron a shirt in the morning before checking out. A simple 3 minute process becomes very frustrating!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Matt W,

Thank you for taking time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased you enjoyed your time with us at Hotel Charsfield and found the location suited to your needs and leisure activities.

The hotel does offer 100MB free WIFI internet access per day, and the length of usage does vary from person to person based on what they are doing online. Once the limit is reached, guest can call reception to pay for more if they wish.

We also offer unlimited internet connection free of charge to our hotel guests via our reading room computer which is available 24 hours a day.

Thank you for notifying us of the iron in your room. We are always happy to assist guests with their needs, and would have happily brought you a different iron to your room upon request.

I hope you had a safe and pleasant trip home.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Beautiful old school hotel with lovely staff, great ambience and charm. It may be more a hotel for business types but my partner and I loved it. There are two tram stops within 200m of the hotel and it is walking distance into the CBD and it is a lovely walk.

The only fault we could find was the tiny amount of leg room between the toilet and the wall. My partner is 6'3 and had to sit sideways on the toilet to use it and I am 5'8 and my knees were almost touching the wall.

I found the hotel through a last minute website and was very happy with the price. All in all it helped with a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Girliebon,

Thank you for taking time to place your informative review on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased both yourself and your partner enjoyed your weekend break at the hotel and found our location suitable.

Perhaps if you do stay again, you might like to consider booking one of our beautiful Premier Rooms which are our heritage style suites at the hotel with high ceilings and elegant decor? These rooms offer larger, marble benchtop bathrooms and might be a little better suited to your needs. Most of the Premier Rooms, and also our Premier Spa rooms do boast beautiful views over St Kilda Road and are perfect for a romantic getaway.

Please don't hesitate to contact us directly when making your next booking and we can discuss with you in details the added extras in our upgrade room types, and also room configurations.

I hope you had a safe and pleasant trip back home to Queensland.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This hotel was recommended to me by an Australian friend and it turned out to be a real gem. The building is beautiful and historical; the location is charming, surrounded by green parks yet convenient for the city centre just a 10 min tram ride with the stops almost right outside. There are good cafes and restaurants in the area. The staff was very helpful and polite and always had a smile to greet you. The room was well-appointed, clean and comfortable with every amenity comparable to a more high end hotel. The only down side is that this lovely hotel is of course in an older building and as such noise does travel around easily. However that is a minor point and did not affect the ambience of the hotel in general. Will definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear San88_12,

Thank you for your lovely review on Hotel Charsfield.

I am glad you found our hotel to be one of Melbourne's hidden gems, conveniently located just out of the hustle and bustle of the city centre.

Certainly we pride ourself on our friendly service and I will be so pleased to share your comments with both staff and managment. We are always happy to help you select from a variety of restaurants and cuisine in the area and surrounds, as well as any other queries you may have to make your time in Melbourne memorable.

When staying with us next time, please request an upstairs room as they do tend to be a little bit quieter.

We so look forward to welcoming you back, as well as your recommended friends and family to the hotel on your future trips to Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed here over Australia Day long weekend. This hotel is on St Kilda Rd very close to tram stops/buses but it is whisper quiet in the rooms. Tastefully renovated, nothing ritzy or OTT, but perfect for a weekend or longer (has a guest laundry). Restaurant on site (didn't try it as there are loads of other eateries close by) and parking. The room is a good size (306) and has a nice bathroom, odd shape as it runs lengthwise ie is long and thin but this is ok so long as you're not overweight, otherwise large people would find it difficult to manoeuvre around the toilet. Bed is very comfy and good pillows (no pillow menu mentioned). Tea/coffee in the room and a bar fridge/mini bar. It would be perfect if the furniture matched or blended in with the era of the hotel. Big plus you can open the window for fresh air and bird song. Tram passes can be bought at reception, WIFI is free up to 100mb/per day which is great. Definitely would stay here again and again it's much nicer than downtown MEL but is 5-10 mins by tram to Flinders St Railway station. I don't think there are interconnecting rooms and I didn't see a lift. We asked for a rollaway bed on 2nd night for our daughter and it was just $25 so again this hotel offers good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear AussieChook,

Thank you for taking time to write your informative review on Hotel Charsfield.

I am glad that the hotel was suited to your needs and that you found our hotel guest services such as our guest laundry, and MYKI ticket sales convenient.

Unfortunately the hotel does not offer a pillow menu, however we are always happy to provide additional or alternative pillows when requested.

Perhaps for your next stay you might like to consider one of our Heritage style room types- Premier or Premier Spa Rooms? These rooms are beautifully appointed, with elegant decor and high ceilings. The bathrooms are also larger in size with marble benchtops and larger shower heads.

We also do not offer interconnecting rooms, however we do have 2 Deluxe Quad Family Room types. They are not advertised online and must be booked directly with the hotel.

As we are heritage listed, unfortunately we are now resticted from making alterations to the building, such as installing an elevator. Our friendly staff are always happy to assist you with your luggage on both your arrival and depature.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapallo, Italy
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Upon our return to Melbourne in sweltering 40 degree centigrade heat, we sought out this charming boutique hotel near Albert park in Melbourne. And it turned out to be everything its website claimed. The A/C was refreshing, the atmosphere truly charming, the room well appointed and quiet, exactly what we were looking for! For those booking well in advance I would strongly recommend rooms 101 or 102.

Room Tip: Go for rooms 101 or 102!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Franc- Rapallo,

Thankyou for your wonderful review on the hotel.

I am so pleased to read that Hotel Charsfield was the perfect haven to escape the Australian Summer.

Certainly our Premier Rooms (Room 102) and Premier Spa Room (101) are absolutely gorgeous, boasting high ceilings,elegant decor and views over St Kilda Road. They are a lovely example of what Hotel Charsfield is all about.

I hope you had a safe trip back home, and left Australia with safe and happy memories.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Charsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charsfield

Also Known As:
Charsfield Hotel Melbourne
Address: 478 St. Kilda Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Charsfield 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Charsfield is a fine example of early St Kilda Road Victorian architecture, which has heritage listing. This boutique accommodation now combines the warmth, character and style of the building with professional and friendly service to ensure the experience on offer is as unique as the guests who stay here. So whether you are visiting Melbourne on business, as a conference delegate, on holiday, or perhaps to enjoy one of the many major events in town, the Hotel Charsfield is the ideal choice for accommodation in Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Charsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Charsfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.