We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, great location but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Charsfield

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Charsfield to your Saves list
Hotel Charsfield
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   478 St. Kilda Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, great location but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

The good: great service, St Kilda is a good location for my needs (Albert Park for a morning walk, Belgian Beer Cafe, easy parking, a reading room and full size snooker table) - and I love a hotel with character.
The Bad: I'm sorry, I'm starting to get annoyed with hotels offering free wi-fi that is either very, very slow, or does not work at all. Worse, hotels that cap Wi-fi and charge if you exceed the allocation. In this case 100 MBS. What is that? 5 minutes checking email? Whatever, it costs me $10 if I go slightly over it.
Also, my iron only had a cord that was slightly more than a metre long. It sounds like a pedantic whinge until you have to iron a shirt in the morning before checking out. A simple 3 minute process becomes very frustrating!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Matt W,

Thank you for taking time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased you enjoyed your time with us at Hotel Charsfield and found the location suited to your needs and leisure activities.

The hotel does offer 100MB free WIFI internet access per day, and the length of usage does vary from person to person based on what they are doing online. Once the limit is reached, guest can call reception to pay for more if they wish.

We also offer unlimited internet connection free of charge to our hotel guests via our reading room computer which is available 24 hours a day.

Thank you for notifying us of the iron in your room. We are always happy to assist guests with their needs, and would have happily brought you a different iron to your room upon request.

I hope you had a safe and pleasant trip home.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    156
    29
    15
    5
See reviews for
52
177
35
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Beautiful old school hotel with lovely staff, great ambience and charm. It may be more a hotel for business types but my partner and I loved it. There are two tram stops within 200m of the hotel and it is walking distance into the CBD and it is a lovely walk.

The only fault we could find was the tiny amount of leg room between the toilet and the wall. My partner is 6'3 and had to sit sideways on the toilet to use it and I am 5'8 and my knees were almost touching the wall.

I found the hotel through a last minute website and was very happy with the price. All in all it helped with a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Girliebon,

Thank you for taking time to place your informative review on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased both yourself and your partner enjoyed your weekend break at the hotel and found our location suitable.

Perhaps if you do stay again, you might like to consider booking one of our beautiful Premier Rooms which are our heritage style suites at the hotel with high ceilings and elegant decor? These rooms offer larger, marble benchtop bathrooms and might be a little better suited to your needs. Most of the Premier Rooms, and also our Premier Spa rooms do boast beautiful views over St Kilda Road and are perfect for a romantic getaway.

Please don't hesitate to contact us directly when making your next booking and we can discuss with you in details the added extras in our upgrade room types, and also room configurations.

I hope you had a safe and pleasant trip back home to Queensland.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This hotel was recommended to me by an Australian friend and it turned out to be a real gem. The building is beautiful and historical; the location is charming, surrounded by green parks yet convenient for the city centre just a 10 min tram ride with the stops almost right outside. There are good cafes and restaurants in the area. The staff was very helpful and polite and always had a smile to greet you. The room was well-appointed, clean and comfortable with every amenity comparable to a more high end hotel. The only down side is that this lovely hotel is of course in an older building and as such noise does travel around easily. However that is a minor point and did not affect the ambience of the hotel in general. Will definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear San88_12,

Thank you for your lovely review on Hotel Charsfield.

I am glad you found our hotel to be one of Melbourne's hidden gems, conveniently located just out of the hustle and bustle of the city centre.

Certainly we pride ourself on our friendly service and I will be so pleased to share your comments with both staff and managment. We are always happy to help you select from a variety of restaurants and cuisine in the area and surrounds, as well as any other queries you may have to make your time in Melbourne memorable.

When staying with us next time, please request an upstairs room as they do tend to be a little bit quieter.

We so look forward to welcoming you back, as well as your recommended friends and family to the hotel on your future trips to Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed here over Australia Day long weekend. This hotel is on St Kilda Rd very close to tram stops/buses but it is whisper quiet in the rooms. Tastefully renovated, nothing ritzy or OTT, but perfect for a weekend or longer (has a guest laundry). Restaurant on site (didn't try it as there are loads of other eateries close by) and parking. The room is a good size (306) and has a nice bathroom, odd shape as it runs lengthwise ie is long and thin but this is ok so long as you're not overweight, otherwise large people would find it difficult to manoeuvre around the toilet. Bed is very comfy and good pillows (no pillow menu mentioned). Tea/coffee in the room and a bar fridge/mini bar. It would be perfect if the furniture matched or blended in with the era of the hotel. Big plus you can open the window for fresh air and bird song. Tram passes can be bought at reception, WIFI is free up to 100mb/per day which is great. Definitely would stay here again and again it's much nicer than downtown MEL but is 5-10 mins by tram to Flinders St Railway station. I don't think there are interconnecting rooms and I didn't see a lift. We asked for a rollaway bed on 2nd night for our daughter and it was just $25 so again this hotel offers good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear AussieChook,

Thank you for taking time to write your informative review on Hotel Charsfield.

I am glad that the hotel was suited to your needs and that you found our hotel guest services such as our guest laundry, and MYKI ticket sales convenient.

Unfortunately the hotel does not offer a pillow menu, however we are always happy to provide additional or alternative pillows when requested.

Perhaps for your next stay you might like to consider one of our Heritage style room types- Premier or Premier Spa Rooms? These rooms are beautifully appointed, with elegant decor and high ceilings. The bathrooms are also larger in size with marble benchtops and larger shower heads.

We also do not offer interconnecting rooms, however we do have 2 Deluxe Quad Family Room types. They are not advertised online and must be booked directly with the hotel.

As we are heritage listed, unfortunately we are now resticted from making alterations to the building, such as installing an elevator. Our friendly staff are always happy to assist you with your luggage on both your arrival and depature.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapallo, Italy
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Upon our return to Melbourne in sweltering 40 degree centigrade heat, we sought out this charming boutique hotel near Albert park in Melbourne. And it turned out to be everything its website claimed. The A/C was refreshing, the atmosphere truly charming, the room well appointed and quiet, exactly what we were looking for! For those booking well in advance I would strongly recommend rooms 101 or 102.

Room Tip: Go for rooms 101 or 102!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Franc- Rapallo,

Thankyou for your wonderful review on the hotel.

I am so pleased to read that Hotel Charsfield was the perfect haven to escape the Australian Summer.

Certainly our Premier Rooms (Room 102) and Premier Spa Room (101) are absolutely gorgeous, boasting high ceilings,elegant decor and views over St Kilda Road. They are a lovely example of what Hotel Charsfield is all about.

I hope you had a safe trip back home, and left Australia with safe and happy memories.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirchberg BE, Schweiz
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The hotel building is a bit lost in between high modern buildings, but this heritage building is well worth the trip. On St. Kilda Road, conveniently located just next to tram/bus station it offers good access to all main attractions in Melbourne.
The rooms are a bit dated, but clean, comfortable and quiet. There is free wifi access (100MB) per day and tea/coffee making facilities in your room. The staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Is5783,

Thank you for taking time to review The Hotel Charsfield.

I am glad you found the hotel conveniently located, comfortable and quiet. I will be pleased to share your kind comments with our staff regarding our friendly and helpful service.

I hope you had a safe and pleasant journey home, and enjoyed your time spent in Australia.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We visit from the country Victoria frequently and enjoy staying here very much. Wonderful older Historic building set back from busy road ,with quiet garden to sit in for drinks or chat to watch traffic go by. Great ambience, and decor is fitting for this gracious hotel with very friendly staff ready to do what ever they can for you easily. A junior suite is very comfortable , and clean with plenty of room and very comfortable bed .BAthrooms on the narrow side and ok too. The restaurant restful and cool and has excellent service and excellent food and the wine list is very good. Great location , tram very short walk away,direct to city , theatre and shopping, restaurants and main train line. We are very happy to stay here and see all ages, and nationalities and families.

Room Tip: The junior suites give extra room to relax .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Ozwi,

Thank you for your lovely review on Trip Advisor.

I am so pleased to read you had a wonderful time enjoying our beautiful hotel and surrounds. What a beautiful way to spend the afternoon sitting back watching the traffic go by.

I am also pleased to read our rooms were suited to your needs, and certainly for a longer stay a junior suite is fantastic as it offers additional space.

I will be sure to share your lovely comments with our both staff and managment.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Charsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charsfield

Address: 478 St. Kilda Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Charsfield 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Charsfield is a fine example of early St Kilda Road Victorian architecture, which has heritage listing. This boutique accommodation now combines the warmth, character and style of the building with professional and friendly service to ensure the experience on offer is as unique as the guests who stay here. So whether you are visiting Melbourne on business, as a conference delegate, on holiday, or perhaps to enjoy one of the many major events in town, the Hotel Charsfield is the ideal choice for accommodation in Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Charsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charsfield Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Charsfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.