We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly boutique hotel in convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Charsfield

Save Saved
You added Hotel Charsfield to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Charsfield
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   478 St. Kilda Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly boutique hotel in convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This hotel was recommended to me by an Australian friend and it turned out to be a real gem. The building is beautiful and historical; the location is charming, surrounded by green parks yet convenient for the city centre just a 10 min tram ride with the stops almost right outside. There are good cafes and restaurants in the area. The staff was very helpful and polite and always had a smile to greet you. The room was well-appointed, clean and comfortable with every amenity comparable to a more high end hotel. The only down side is that this lovely hotel is of course in an older building and as such noise does travel around easily. However that is a minor point and did not affect the ambience of the hotel in general. Will definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear San88_12,

Thank you for your lovely review on Hotel Charsfield.

I am glad you found our hotel to be one of Melbourne's hidden gems, conveniently located just out of the hustle and bustle of the city centre.

Certainly we pride ourself on our friendly service and I will be so pleased to share your comments with both staff and managment. We are always happy to help you select from a variety of restaurants and cuisine in the area and surrounds, as well as any other queries you may have to make your time in Melbourne memorable.

When staying with us next time, please request an upstairs room as they do tend to be a little bit quieter.

We so look forward to welcoming you back, as well as your recommended friends and family to the hotel on your future trips to Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    168
    139
    24
    14
    5
See reviews for
48
155
31
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed here over Australia Day long weekend. This hotel is on St Kilda Rd very close to tram stops/buses but it is whisper quiet in the rooms. Tastefully renovated, nothing ritzy or OTT, but perfect for a weekend or longer (has a guest laundry). Restaurant on site (didn't try it as there are loads of other eateries close by) and parking. The room is a good size (306) and has a nice bathroom, odd shape as it runs lengthwise ie is long and thin but this is ok so long as you're not overweight, otherwise large people would find it difficult to manoeuvre around the toilet. Bed is very comfy and good pillows (no pillow menu mentioned). Tea/coffee in the room and a bar fridge/mini bar. It would be perfect if the furniture matched or blended in with the era of the hotel. Big plus you can open the window for fresh air and bird song. Tram passes can be bought at reception, WIFI is free up to 100mb/per day which is great. Definitely would stay here again and again it's much nicer than downtown MEL but is 5-10 mins by tram to Flinders St Railway station. I don't think there are interconnecting rooms and I didn't see a lift. We asked for a rollaway bed on 2nd night for our daughter and it was just $25 so again this hotel offers good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear AussieChook,

Thank you for taking time to write your informative review on Hotel Charsfield.

I am glad that the hotel was suited to your needs and that you found our hotel guest services such as our guest laundry, and MYKI ticket sales convenient.

Unfortunately the hotel does not offer a pillow menu, however we are always happy to provide additional or alternative pillows when requested.

Perhaps for your next stay you might like to consider one of our Heritage style room types- Premier or Premier Spa Rooms? These rooms are beautifully appointed, with elegant decor and high ceilings. The bathrooms are also larger in size with marble benchtops and larger shower heads.

We also do not offer interconnecting rooms, however we do have 2 Deluxe Quad Family Room types. They are not advertised online and must be booked directly with the hotel.

As we are heritage listed, unfortunately we are now resticted from making alterations to the building, such as installing an elevator. Our friendly staff are always happy to assist you with your luggage on both your arrival and depature.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapallo, Italy
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Upon our return to Melbourne in sweltering 40 degree centigrade heat, we sought out this charming boutique hotel near Albert park in Melbourne. And it turned out to be everything its website claimed. The A/C was refreshing, the atmosphere truly charming, the room well appointed and quiet, exactly what we were looking for! For those booking well in advance I would strongly recommend rooms 101 or 102.

Room Tip: Go for rooms 101 or 102!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Franc- Rapallo,

Thankyou for your wonderful review on the hotel.

I am so pleased to read that Hotel Charsfield was the perfect haven to escape the Australian Summer.

Certainly our Premier Rooms (Room 102) and Premier Spa Room (101) are absolutely gorgeous, boasting high ceilings,elegant decor and views over St Kilda Road. They are a lovely example of what Hotel Charsfield is all about.

I hope you had a safe trip back home, and left Australia with safe and happy memories.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirchberg BE, Schweiz
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The hotel building is a bit lost in between high modern buildings, but this heritage building is well worth the trip. On St. Kilda Road, conveniently located just next to tram/bus station it offers good access to all main attractions in Melbourne.
The rooms are a bit dated, but clean, comfortable and quiet. There is free wifi access (100MB) per day and tea/coffee making facilities in your room. The staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Is5783,

Thank you for taking time to review The Hotel Charsfield.

I am glad you found the hotel conveniently located, comfortable and quiet. I will be pleased to share your kind comments with our staff regarding our friendly and helpful service.

I hope you had a safe and pleasant journey home, and enjoyed your time spent in Australia.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We visit from the country Victoria frequently and enjoy staying here very much. Wonderful older Historic building set back from busy road ,with quiet garden to sit in for drinks or chat to watch traffic go by. Great ambience, and decor is fitting for this gracious hotel with very friendly staff ready to do what ever they can for you easily. A junior suite is very comfortable , and clean with plenty of room and very comfortable bed .BAthrooms on the narrow side and ok too. The restaurant restful and cool and has excellent service and excellent food and the wine list is very good. Great location , tram very short walk away,direct to city , theatre and shopping, restaurants and main train line. We are very happy to stay here and see all ages, and nationalities and families.

Room Tip: The junior suites give extra room to relax .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Ozwi,

Thank you for your lovely review on Trip Advisor.

I am so pleased to read you had a wonderful time enjoying our beautiful hotel and surrounds. What a beautiful way to spend the afternoon sitting back watching the traffic go by.

I am also pleased to read our rooms were suited to your needs, and certainly for a longer stay a junior suite is fantastic as it offers additional space.

I will be sure to share your lovely comments with our both staff and managment.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepparton, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed here for one night for business. Immediately upgraded to a suite on arrival. Immaculately clean everwhere you look. Two room suite with large comfortable bed (and pillows) and a sitting room adjacent. Large (and again spotless) ensuite with huge shower and great shower head. The building has certainly retained its charm. Parking is offered at a carpark just around the corner. Extremely obliging and polite staff. Great location close to Melbourne CBD with tram stop right out the front. Huge full sized pool table in the front room was a pleasant surprise and a well-stocked and quiet library. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Pedrovski,

Thank you for your lovely review on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us, the hotel was suited to your needs, and appreciated the upgrade to our Junior suite which are fantastic for longer stays.

We would also like to thank you for your lovely photo contributions of the building and our snooker room.

I will certainly share your comments with staff and management.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

As a regular visitor to Melbourne this is easily one of the nicest hotels we have found
St Kilda Rd used to be lined with graceful mansions that have long since been demolished to make way for numerous high rise developments that now are this magnificent Boulevard's hallmark
Located opposite Faulkner Park and close to Albert Park reserve and right on tram route which will give convenient access to the rest of Melbourne

Room Tip: Beware the parking meeting meeting police - they are dynamite!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear OzSeekerUK,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor, and your kind words regarding our hotels location.

We are so fortunate to be one of the few last mansions left along St Kilda Road, and i am pleased to advise you we are also a Heritage Listed property of Melbourne.

I am pleased you enjoyed your time with us at Hotel Charsfield and look forward to welcoming you back on your future travels to Melbourne.

Best wishes,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Charsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charsfield

Address: 478 St. Kilda Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Charsfield 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Charsfield is a fine example of early St Kilda Road Victorian architecture, which has heritage listing. This boutique accommodation now combines the warmth, character and style of the building with professional and friendly service to ensure the experience on offer is as unique as the guests who stay here. So whether you are visiting Melbourne on business, as a conference delegate, on holiday, or perhaps to enjoy one of the many major events in town, the Hotel Charsfield is the ideal choice for accommodation in Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Charsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charsfield Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Charsfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.