We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Charsfield

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Charsfield to your Saves list
Hotel Charsfield
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   478 St. Kilda Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Palmerston North
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Found this place on TripAdvisor as my wife and I wanted somewhere out of the CBD but still in a handy location after four nights at a work conference at the Hyatt on Collins street. The Hotel Charsfield fit the bill perfectly. Right from the first welcome by the extra friendly reception staff through to the charming features found around every corner (free shoe shine kit in the wooden-floored hallway, reading room, billiards room etc) it was great. Our Junior Suite was lovely with a large bedroom and even larger lounge with independant airconditioning, two sofas and a good sized desk.
Trams run from right outside with a 6 - 8 minute ride back into the central city. We walked to Chapel St shopping easily.
If you remember that this is a historic building converted to it's current use, and therefore expect a few design quirks, and don't need to be in the centre of things then Hotel Charsfield will provide an excellent value stay that will leave you charmed.

Room Tip: The Junior Suite is well worth the extra spend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear D J,

Thank you for you wonderful review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of our Suites and found the location suitable for your needs.

Thank you for mentioning the extra friendly service you received especially during your arrival, I will sure to pass your comments onto them, they will be very happy to hear this.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next trip to Melbourne.

Kind Regards,

Gabrielle Chisholm
Property Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    156
    30
    15
    5
See reviews for
52
178
35
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed there 2 nights because a friend of us told us a lot of good things about this hotel. The room is very nice and the restaurant is excellent. We ate there every night. The only thing they can improve is the quality of service as they forgot our wake up call and give us wrong information about the shuttle bus for the airport. Anyway, this was not a big deal and Denise the general manager sent us a mail to apologize so we can still say that we had a very nice stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear JobiJobaa,

Thank you for your review, I am glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay.

I am pleased that you liked your room and found our restaurant excellent. I do apologise that your wake up call was forgotten and that you were misinformed about the shuttle bus, however appreciate you mentioning that the General Manager already sent you an email to apologise for this.

We hope that you have the opportunity to return in the near future, to experience our hotel and service again. We are continually training our staff to improve the quality of service and I am sure that you will not be disappointed.

Kind Regards,

Gabrielle Chisholm
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

The Hotel Charsfield met our requirements perfectly, being visitors from Perth, seeking accommodation central to relatives in Toorak and outings to Melbourne City. We were greeted with helpful, smiling staff and beautiful decor the minute we walked through the door. We wont hesitate to stay again as the hotel offers a great location, convenient to public transport, parks and is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear Andrea D,

Thank you for your lovely review.

I am pleased that you found your stay with us convenient to visit your relatives and see for outings into the city. The staff will be delighted to hear that you found their service helpful.

We hope to welcome you back to The Hotel Charsfield on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards,

Gabrielle Chisholm
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I stayed here last Tuesday evening and thought is was wonderful. I have stayed prior but had forgotten how much I enjoyed the feel of the place. Music was nice, the small bar area works and the restaurant looked great. Must try it next time. We have an office 1 block up so the Charsfield works when I come to stay in Melbourne. If I had to be picky I would probably turn down the lighting in the reading room and light the fire, but otherwise this is the place to be when in Melbourne . Well done.

Room Tip: If you are tall request a larger bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear johnherbert,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

I am pleased that we were able to welcome you back to The Hotel Charsfield on you recent stay in Melbourne. Hopefully you have the opportunity to dine in our restaurant on you next stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Gabrielle Chisholm
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide SA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

It is always a relief to find a hotel that delivers on the 'non-smoking' promise. We stayed 2 nights at the Charsfield in a refurbished room and couldn't fault it. All the charm of an old building with plenty of warmth. A quiet room, no airconditioner hum that is so often associated with the large modern multi-level hotels. We did not dine in, but did entertain guests in the reading room and were served drinks from the bar. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We were in 104, just near the stairs but were not disturbed by other guests at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear packaporte,

Thank you for your lovely review.

We are proud to be a non-smoking hotel and glad for your appreciation. I am pleased that you enjoyed a peaceful stay and were able to entertain your visitors in our reading room.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Hotel Charsfield on your next visit to Melbourne and hope you can take the time to dine in our restaurant.

Kind Regards,

Gabrielle Chisholm
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batemans Bay, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

My husband and I were in Melbourne over the weekend for a special anniversary and we thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay at Hotel Charsfield.From the moment you step in the beautiful door, and smell the frangrance from the vase of lillies in the foyer, the staff were most helpful. The bed was comfortable, new bathroom spacious, hotel heating throughout the building was comfortable. The food a little on the expensive side, but very nice served in an elegant dining room. We enjoyed a game of snooker on the full sized snooker table after dinner. Trams run frequently into Melbourne from just outside the door, so it is a very convenient location. I would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Dear Wendy JBB,

Thank you for taking time to post your online review of our beautiful hotel.

I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your weekend and special anniversary with us at Hotel Charsfield and look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay.

Thank you for recommending us to your friends and family!

Best Wishes,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I first discovered this hotel through a local Auto Club service and have stayed a number of times. I love the old world charm of the Hotel. It is well appointed and was formerly (I believe) a military officers accomodation. The transformation is very well done and maintained. The downside is no onsite parking, somewhat noisy because of it's location and the bathroom is a little cramped albeit sufficient. If you have a vehicle, make sure you pay for onstreet parking, the inspectors are dilligent!!! There is a limited room service menu, however, Melbourne has a great online access for outside food delivery to your room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Dear G M,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We are so pleased you have come back to Hotel Charsfield time and time again. Indeed the hotel is very unique, and as our a lot of our regular guests say "its like coming home".

As you mentioned, the building does have former military connections. Indeed in 1956 the building was purchased by the Australian Army as accommodation for members of the Women’s Royal Australian Army Corps (WRAAC), and Royal Australian Army Nursing Corps (RAANC).

Here is the web address for the full history of the building:
http://www.charsfield.com/history.html

We are always happy to reccommend restaurants in the local area, as well as a number of restaurants being able to deliver to the hotel. Guest can either order from our limited 24 hour menu or from our restaurant menu for lunch (Mon-Fri) or Dinner (7 days).

We also offer 24 hour secure, off-site parking.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne.

Best Wishes,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Charsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charsfield

Address: 478 St. Kilda Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Charsfield 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Charsfield is a fine example of early St Kilda Road Victorian architecture, which has heritage listing. This boutique accommodation now combines the warmth, character and style of the building with professional and friendly service to ensure the experience on offer is as unique as the guests who stay here. So whether you are visiting Melbourne on business, as a conference delegate, on holiday, or perhaps to enjoy one of the many major events in town, the Hotel Charsfield is the ideal choice for accommodation in Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Charsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charsfield Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Charsfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.