We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine non-smoking room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Charsfield

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Charsfield to your Saves list
Hotel Charsfield
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   478 St. Kilda Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide SA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Genuine non-smoking room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

It is always a relief to find a hotel that delivers on the 'non-smoking' promise. We stayed 2 nights at the Charsfield in a refurbished room and couldn't fault it. All the charm of an old building with plenty of warmth. A quiet room, no airconditioner hum that is so often associated with the large modern multi-level hotels. We did not dine in, but did entertain guests in the reading room and were served drinks from the bar. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We were in 104, just near the stairs but were not disturbed by other guests at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear packaporte,

Thank you for your lovely review.

We are proud to be a non-smoking hotel and glad for your appreciation. I am pleased that you enjoyed a peaceful stay and were able to entertain your visitors in our reading room.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Hotel Charsfield on your next visit to Melbourne and hope you can take the time to dine in our restaurant.

Kind Regards,

Gabrielle Chisholm
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    185
    36
    16
    6
See reviews for
61
221
36
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Batemans Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

My husband and I were in Melbourne over the weekend for a special anniversary and we thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay at Hotel Charsfield.From the moment you step in the beautiful door, and smell the frangrance from the vase of lillies in the foyer, the staff were most helpful. The bed was comfortable, new bathroom spacious, hotel heating throughout the building was comfortable. The food a little on the expensive side, but very nice served in an elegant dining room. We enjoyed a game of snooker on the full sized snooker table after dinner. Trams run frequently into Melbourne from just outside the door, so it is a very convenient location. I would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Dear Wendy JBB,

Thank you for taking time to post your online review of our beautiful hotel.

I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your weekend and special anniversary with us at Hotel Charsfield and look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay.

Thank you for recommending us to your friends and family!

Best Wishes,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I first discovered this hotel through a local Auto Club service and have stayed a number of times. I love the old world charm of the Hotel. It is well appointed and was formerly (I believe) a military officers accomodation. The transformation is very well done and maintained. The downside is no onsite parking, somewhat noisy because of it's location and the bathroom is a little cramped albeit sufficient. If you have a vehicle, make sure you pay for onstreet parking, the inspectors are dilligent!!! There is a limited room service menu, however, Melbourne has a great online access for outside food delivery to your room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Dear G M,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We are so pleased you have come back to Hotel Charsfield time and time again. Indeed the hotel is very unique, and as our a lot of our regular guests say "its like coming home".

As you mentioned, the building does have former military connections. Indeed in 1956 the building was purchased by the Australian Army as accommodation for members of the Women’s Royal Australian Army Corps (WRAAC), and Royal Australian Army Nursing Corps (RAANC).

Here is the web address for the full history of the building:
http://www.charsfield.com/history.html

We are always happy to reccommend restaurants in the local area, as well as a number of restaurants being able to deliver to the hotel. Guest can either order from our limited 24 hour menu or from our restaurant menu for lunch (Mon-Fri) or Dinner (7 days).

We also offer 24 hour secure, off-site parking.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne.

Best Wishes,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurrajong, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

This lovely warm and comfortable hotel was a pleasure to stay in. The rooms and bed were very comfortable, large tv and free internet access. I would recommend the breakfast as the variety and quality was wonderful. Dinner is a bit on the expensive side but great food. All the staff are so friendly and helpful. Trams are just across the road and 5 minute ride in CBD. We never had to wait more than a few minutes to catch one. Take a tram from outside hotel to St Kilda Beach it is lovely and not very far.

Room Tip: There isn't a lift but the stairs are easy to get up and not steep. I think all the rooms would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear Vickie B,

Thank you for taking time to complete this online review.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time at Hotel Charsfield, and thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff and service.

We are always happy to assist guests in alternative restaurant choices both in the CBD and local restaurant precincts such as Toorak Road, Chapel Street & St Kilda.

We look foward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Wishes,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

My husband and I had a night out in the city and found the hotel through a Travelzoo deal.

I am always a little skeptical of the vouchers and sometimes get a lot less than promised however Hotel Charsfield was gorgeous.

The staff was welcoming and accommodating, the rooms were so cozy and comfortable and the location is great. A quick tram ride into the city and into St Kilda it was a perfect half way point.

I would definitely recommend the Hotel and stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Hotel on St Kilda Road in a convenient location to get to Albert Park/City/Chapel St. Set in a nice old building. Bed was very comfortable and had a large TV in the room (this was a change from previous stays). Room is fine, though the bathroom is a bit cramped. Service is good and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Front Office Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear Duncan M,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Hotel Charsfield on Trip Advisor, and your kind words regarding our friendly staff and service.

We have recently updated the televisions to large 42 Inch screens in all of our room types, in addition to our new on-site gym which you may have noticed on your previous stay.


We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Best wishes,

Genevieve
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

great place with character 5min on tram from CBD. We had a room with twin beds,it was great, spacious, very clean and a huge tv as well heating was amazingly good. bathroom could be bigger but it gives certain charm to the room and its layout. definitely need to improve water pressure, It wasn't as strong as I would like but that didn't ruin our stay. Would definitely reccomend.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
0.3 mi away
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
#21 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,469 reviews
0.3 mi away
Art Series - The Blackman
Art Series - The Blackman
#13 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,448 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royce Hotel
Royce Hotel
#46 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
2.2 mi away
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,081 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lyall Hotel and Spa
Lyall Hotel and Spa
#30 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Charsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charsfield

Address: 478 St. Kilda Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Charsfield 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Charsfield is a fine example of early St Kilda Road Victorian architecture, which has heritage listing. This boutique accommodation now combines the warmth, character and style of the building with professional and friendly service to ensure the experience on offer is as unique as the guests who stay here. So whether you are visiting Melbourne on business, as a conference delegate, on holiday, or perhaps to enjoy one of the many major events in town, the Hotel Charsfield is the ideal choice for accommodation in Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Charsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charsfield Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Charsfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.