We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Charsfield

Save Saved
You added Hotel Charsfield to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Charsfield
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   478 St. Kilda Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 170 hotels in Melbourne
Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A lovely spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011 via mobile

This is our second visit here (the first was in October 09). On both occasions I considered the hotel good value for money. It is a historic boutique hotel and as the website says, each room is different. In 09 we were is a pretty luxurious room but this time it was pretty small and felt a bit dated. Of course it was Easter and the hotel was probably full. Despite the size of the room, it was comfortable and service was friendly and professional from Alvin (the fellow on reception) to the great barista/ dining room manager. It is now my home away from home in Melbourne.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Property Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, May 10, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review.

I am pleased that you had a comfortable stay and that you received great service from Alvin and our Food and Beverage Manager. I will be sure to pass these comments onto them.

Unfortunately due to the heritage nature of the building our rooms do vary in size. I can recommend booking one of our lovely Premier Rooms which are featured in the front part of the hotel, upstairs. They are larger in size than our Standard and Deluxe Rooms and were the most recent rooms to be renovated.

I am also very pleased that the hotel will be your home away from home.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Hotel Charsfield on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards,

Gabrielle Chisholm
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    142
    25
    15
    5
See reviews for
50
163
33
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
adelaide
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

Couldnt fault the accommodation but it was their best room - well worth the expense as some rooms are tiny. Dining room could do with a bit of a re-vamp but staff, food, location, bed, bathroom were all first class.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Property Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, May 10, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our Premier Spa Room and found the staff, food, location and room to be of a high standard. Our rooms do vary in size due to the heritage nature of the building.

I will be sure to pass your comments onto all our staff and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Hotel Charsfield in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Gabrielle Chisholm
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

We have a lovely stay at the Hotel. Is was a little boutique hotel, the staff were very friendly and always smiling. Beds were comfortable and rooms were presented nicely. Bathrooms were a little small but were nice. Easy trip to the city on the Tram and great that the hotel sells tram passes.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Property Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, May 2, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your lovely comments.

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Hotel Charsfield on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards,

Gabrielle Chisholm
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Beautiful old house, converted to a boutique hotel. on St Kilda road, tram stop nearby. We stayed in the Deluxe Queen room and although spotless, the carpet had stains. The dining room was well-presented and the meals were outstanding and not too pricey. The staff were excellent and attentive. There is also a small bar, reading room and a full billard table, for guests. The down side was, some very, loud, noisy, young female guests arrived back at 3.30am and continued the noise until 5 am,. I should have rung the night manager, but didn't. I was surprised he didn't hear them .!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Property Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, May 2, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Thank you for your kind comments and I am pleased that you had enjoyed your meal in our restaurant. I will be sure to pass your comments onto all our staff.

I do apologise that you were disturbed by other guests early in the morning. I have spoken with the night staff to ensure that they patrol the building on a more regular basis during the night.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Hotel Charsfield in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Gabrielle Chisholm
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

I booked online through hotel website - recommended by colleague as close to where my meetings were being held.
I was happily surprised to find I had been given a suite when I had booked a standard room. The room itself was nicely decorated and reasonably large with a double bed, TV/DVD, wardrobe and desk. The second room had another desk, 2 lounges, another TV/DVD and bar fridge. Narrow bathroom but well planned and good shower.
The room I was in was set well back from St Kilda road with heavy curtains so road noise was minimal.
As I arrived late I ordered soup through room service which was excellent. Small touches such as gourmet chocolates were in the room as was a large selection of teas/coffees including a coffee plunger.
Free wifi is included up to 50MB per day and there is also a reading room with a computer and internet access for guests to use. Newspapers and brochures were in this room.
Staff were very helpful with all requests and provided useful directions. They were always very welcoming and pleasant and nothing was too much trouble.
Overall I was very impressed with this hotel and it suited my needs for the one night I stayed.

Note - gym use available at local club a few minutes walk away

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Property Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, May 2, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your kind comments.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the complimentary upgrade to a Suite.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Hotel Charsfield in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Gabrielle Chisholm
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

The Charsfield Hotel is a lovely period building. The original front portion of the building has been added to at various times, which has given the premises interesting design elements according to the time at which it was extended.

As lovers of older style buildings with an interesting history, this was the place for my husband and I to stay... interesting features - high ceilings, lovely wooden staircases, ornate cornices, wooden floors, deep skirtings, leadlight windows, etc.

Location: St Kilda is an interesting area - restaurants and entertainment are easily accessed from the hotel, by foot, car, or tram - depending on how fit you feel/are.

Staff: Hotel staff were friendly and helpful.

Fitness facilities: The gym is not on the hotel premises, however it only a short walk away.

Bathroom/ensuite: the bathroom was long and narrow - like a hallway, and the space between the toilet and the wall was slim. Evidently some of the other rooms have different bathrooms. If we had stayed more than two nights, I would have preferred to have a more spacious bathroom. However, even though it was an unusual shape/configuration, it was equipped with all that we required.

Bedroom: Very comfortable king size bed, in a generous sized room. Mini bar, tea and coffee facilities, iron and ironing board, wardrobe, desk, luggage stand, and TV provided. Bonus for a non tea drinker - hot chocolate :)

Restaurant: we enjoyed a very tasty meal in the hotel restaurant. Interesting menu - reasonable prices. Good service.

Wi-fi: available via a code provided by reception.

We would stay here again - would try a room in the original part of the building.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

Hotel Charsfield is a beautiful old but with modern conveniences boutique style hotel on St Kilda Road Melbourne. It is very easily accessible with trams running outside the hotel direct into the CBD which is only 5-10 mins away. Staff were very helpful and the rooms very spacious and comfortable. Will definitely stay again next time I'm in Melbourne.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Charsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charsfield

Address: 478 St. Kilda Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Charsfield 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Charsfield is a fine example of early St Kilda Road Victorian architecture, which has heritage listing. This boutique accommodation now combines the warmth, character and style of the building with professional and friendly service to ensure the experience on offer is as unique as the guests who stay here. So whether you are visiting Melbourne on business, as a conference delegate, on holiday, or perhaps to enjoy one of the many major events in town, the Hotel Charsfield is the ideal choice for accommodation in Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Charsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charsfield Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Charsfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.