We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely graceful building with helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Charsfield

Save Saved
You added Hotel Charsfield to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Charsfield
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   478 St. Kilda Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely graceful building with helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

I booked online through hotel website - recommended by colleague as close to where my meetings were being held.
I was happily surprised to find I had been given a suite when I had booked a standard room. The room itself was nicely decorated and reasonably large with a double bed, TV/DVD, wardrobe and desk. The second room had another desk, 2 lounges, another TV/DVD and bar fridge. Narrow bathroom but well planned and good shower.
The room I was in was set well back from St Kilda road with heavy curtains so road noise was minimal.
As I arrived late I ordered soup through room service which was excellent. Small touches such as gourmet chocolates were in the room as was a large selection of teas/coffees including a coffee plunger.
Free wifi is included up to 50MB per day and there is also a reading room with a computer and internet access for guests to use. Newspapers and brochures were in this room.
Staff were very helpful with all requests and provided useful directions. They were always very welcoming and pleasant and nothing was too much trouble.
Overall I was very impressed with this hotel and it suited my needs for the one night I stayed.

Note - gym use available at local club a few minutes walk away

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charsfield478, Property Manager at Hotel Charsfield, responded to this review, May 2, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your kind comments.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the complimentary upgrade to a Suite.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Hotel Charsfield in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Gabrielle Chisholm
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    169
    139
    24
    15
    5
See reviews for
48
158
31
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

The Charsfield Hotel is a lovely period building. The original front portion of the building has been added to at various times, which has given the premises interesting design elements according to the time at which it was extended.

As lovers of older style buildings with an interesting history, this was the place for my husband and I to stay... interesting features - high ceilings, lovely wooden staircases, ornate cornices, wooden floors, deep skirtings, leadlight windows, etc.

Location: St Kilda is an interesting area - restaurants and entertainment are easily accessed from the hotel, by foot, car, or tram - depending on how fit you feel/are.

Staff: Hotel staff were friendly and helpful.

Fitness facilities: The gym is not on the hotel premises, however it only a short walk away.

Bathroom/ensuite: the bathroom was long and narrow - like a hallway, and the space between the toilet and the wall was slim. Evidently some of the other rooms have different bathrooms. If we had stayed more than two nights, I would have preferred to have a more spacious bathroom. However, even though it was an unusual shape/configuration, it was equipped with all that we required.

Bedroom: Very comfortable king size bed, in a generous sized room. Mini bar, tea and coffee facilities, iron and ironing board, wardrobe, desk, luggage stand, and TV provided. Bonus for a non tea drinker - hot chocolate :)

Restaurant: we enjoyed a very tasty meal in the hotel restaurant. Interesting menu - reasonable prices. Good service.

Wi-fi: available via a code provided by reception.

We would stay here again - would try a room in the original part of the building.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

Hotel Charsfield is a beautiful old but with modern conveniences boutique style hotel on St Kilda Road Melbourne. It is very easily accessible with trams running outside the hotel direct into the CBD which is only 5-10 mins away. Staff were very helpful and the rooms very spacious and comfortable. Will definitely stay again next time I'm in Melbourne.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

We were moved here as our Hotel in St Kilda had problems and I thought OM Goodness, I hope this new place isn't going to be horrible. Well imagine our suprise when we showed up!
The building is gorgeous and reminded me of being back in a building in London. The girl at the service desk was warm and frinedly and kept our bags in a room for later as we had showed up early. There was free parking on the road in front of the hotel (fantastic as I hate paying for parking, why should you!)
The room was lovely, we were upgraded. It had high ceilings a lovely bathroom, comfy large bed and pillows and very dark long curtains, which is great for me as I hate a light room. All in all fantastic! easy to get into the city by regular tram. Just make sure that you fill up on food etc when you are out as there aren't many stores around.
Go on....... not one night............rates to go..................to book

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

Charming Hotel, great position and excellent staff. Only prob was our room was above the kitchen and there was a lot of banging early morning and around 10 p.m. Otherwise excellent. Had one meal there too and it was terrific. So all in all a lovely place. Thanks to all concerned.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SH
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011 via mobile

Have been regularly visiting and never been disappointed. Always good service and great experience. Dont miss the excellent restaurant either!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

this was an old hospital, but is well renovated and lovely to stay at. Small bathrooms but new. good place to stay

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Charsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charsfield

Address: 478 St. Kilda Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Charsfield 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Charsfield is a fine example of early St Kilda Road Victorian architecture, which has heritage listing. This boutique accommodation now combines the warmth, character and style of the building with professional and friendly service to ensure the experience on offer is as unique as the guests who stay here. So whether you are visiting Melbourne on business, as a conference delegate, on holiday, or perhaps to enjoy one of the many major events in town, the Hotel Charsfield is the ideal choice for accommodation in Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Charsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charsfield Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Charsfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.