We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget price motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parade Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Parade Inn to your Saves list
Parade Inn
539 Royal Parade, Melbourne, Victoria 3052, Australia (Formerly Flag Inn Parkville)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 29 Melbourne B&B and Inns
Traralgon, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Budget price motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I stayed here 2 nights and given the price (cheaper) in comparison to other motels I was pleasantly surprised with the room as it was nicer than I had expected. I was looking for somewhere near the State Netball & Hockey Centre and this was as convenient as I could imagine. I requested Internet access and was put in a room which had this, not all rooms do so you need to ensure you ask for this if you need it. Continental breakfast was included in the price of the room which was basic but convenient as well. A nice no frills budget priced place to stay which suited me perfectly. There was a lot of noise in the early Sat morning due to tram works on Royal Parade but this is not the inn's fault and the second night was quiet and I very near the front of the inn. I will stay here again if attending another event at the SNHC. Parking right outside your door is a plus. Reception were very helpful when asking questions about the local area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    28
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
14
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I was very disappointed with our stay here. I had stayed when it was the Ramada Inn and found it to be comfortable and good value. This time round, it had changed hands and looked as though very little maintenance had been done since. The decor was shabby, there was a lack of power points and the ones that were there were very inconveniently located. The weather was very hot at the time of our stay, and the location of the air conditioner meant the cool air didn't circulate well to the bed around the corner of the room. There was only horrible UHT milk n the fridge and cheap and nasty tea bags.

But the thing that really annoyed me was that the website clearly advertised room service breakfast, but this was not available. When I raised this with reception they said room service was only for the spa room (really? Not made clear on the website!), but they would make an exception for me, and give me details later in the day. Well, I never heard any more about it. We gave up and went out for breakfast up the road, which was probably far nicer.

I also found it irritating that they had multiple signs exhorting you to save water, power, towels, etc for the sake of the environment, but absolutely NO facilities for guests to recycle any of their waste (as we have at home). So the effort had to be all the guests' way, it seems, and looks to be more motivated by cost saving on their part.

On the good side, it is in an excellent location, with a tram stop directly outside and a short walk to the interesting Sydney Road, Brunswick area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed here in Jan 2014 - four of us (family) and found it great! Good breakfast included in price, lovely park nearby, trams across the road and city very close. the popular Sydney Road a walk away to great restaurants and bars. Very friendly staff. Would definitely stay again. De Gregorio family, Wellington.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed in December 2013. It was clean, comfortable and the staff were friendly. The price includes a good breakfast. If you cycle, jog or enjoy walking the surrounding large parks, bike tracks and early 19th c. architecture are a feast for the eyes. We asked to borrow a microwave so they upgraded us to a bigger room with a kitchenette for no extra cost. City trams are right out front and the zoo is almost a walk away. A hidden gem. We will defenately stay here next time.

Room Tip: choose a room towards the front as they have better wifi connection. Noise is not an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

This motel is in a great spot if coming off the Hume Highway. Due to the unforeseen weather in Melbourne during late September the internet wasn't working, however it's not the be all and end all. The rooms are very clean and had all the amenities required for an 8 day stay. The resturant was of acceptable standard for breakfast. The beds were very comfy, the laundry facilities were an excellent addition. Onsite parking was plentiful, trams right out the front was welcomed.

Room Tip: Tram horns could be a problem for light sleepers or babies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

a reasonably clean and comfortable for both of us, the price is quite cheap and close to tourist attractions makes this the best choice for me. and if i can suggest make a food very fast if order in the room

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wangaratta, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is a real 60's style hotel in Melbourne's CBD. While it's not the best quality hotel around, it has everything you need, and the price of the room includes a continental breakfast, which is an added bonus.

Room Tip: It's a two story motel, so if you don't like steps, ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Parade Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parade Inn

Address: 539 Royal Parade, Melbourne, Victoria 3052, Australia (Formerly Flag Inn Parkville)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parade Inn, offering traditional motel accommodation, located just 4km north of Melbourne’s CBD on Royal Parade, between Princes Park and Royal Park. Offering free onsite parking, easy access to the city via tram service, and breakfast in our bistro. Our AAA Toursim 3½ Star Rating and Golden Chain membership is your assurance of quality accommodation at a moderate price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Parade Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parade Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.