We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel on Canterbury

Save Saved
You added Clarion Hotel on Canterbury to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel on Canterbury
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   326 - 330 Canterbury Road | Corner Springvale Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3131, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Baldivis, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed for two nights on business and were very happy with hotel. Rooms were clean and fresh and very quiet. Handy to where we were working. Fresh hot breakfast and Yanto was a friendly face in the morning, ready with a huge smile and interesting chat. Would recommend coming here.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ugo_Bisogno, Manager at Clarion Hotel on Canterbury, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback. We're delighted to hear that you both enjoyed your stay and particulary liked our breakfast with Yanto.

Please don't be a stranger and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Ugo and the staff at the Clarion Hotel on Canterbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    17
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
8
6
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Good
- Rooms were spacious
- Staff was great, handled lots of questions in a busy place.
- no problem with hot water
- fast and available WIFI
- has a fridge, helpful for storing small items.
- restocked shampoo, shower gel, hand lotion and conditioner.

Not so Good
- My room had carpet it was vacuumed daily, but not used to having carpet in a busy hotel kind of grossed me out.
- Location is away from the city. A taxi into the city cost 50$ +. I am sure there are buses that would be ok, but I couldn't take the chance as I was getting a tour and the tours all go out of downtown. (tried them all, and front desk couldn't help with other options)
- Exhaust vent in the bathroom, appeared to vent directly into the ceiling. I could see everything up in the roof especially when there were lights on from other rooms. (guessing that is where it came from)
- Noisy, hallway noise easy to hear. Ask for a room perhaps at an end to avoid it if you plan on sleeping in.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Clarion for two nights. All the staff were happy and helpful, the room was nice with a nice bathroom and comfortable bed.
Breakfast was very good with a lot to pick from.
At lunch time we went to the restaurant and ordered from the two course lunch special. The food was fast and very good and the service was very friendly and professional. In particular one of the waitstaff I think her name was Holly, she was very helpful in assisting my elderly grandmother and she provided us with a lot of information about the food on offer.
Overall our experience at the hotel was very good, it is in a convenient location and not to far from the city. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We recently stayed 6 nights in a one bedroom apartment while we were attending our daughters wedding. Our apartment was great, spacious and clean. The staff were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble. The food in the restaurant was delicious and well priced. We needed to go into the city one day and were driven to the local railway station and collected on our return- it was part of the service they said, such great service. I work in the hospitality industry and could not fault the Clarion, I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, QLD
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed 1 night at the Clarion on Canterbury, as it was handy to the meeting the next day. It reminds me of something out of the 80's. The bed was fine; it was clean. The breakfast was ok, but with the baked beans and the hashbrown straight from Aldi, it was a bit dated. The TV must have been from 1995 (or earlier), but they had the original room info / program selection. Looked like the bathroom might have had space for a washer and dryer. Room on Canterbury Road, so fortunately I am an early riser or the car noise from accelerating away from the lights would have really annoyed me. But it was handy to work.
So if you just need a bed, and don't mind paying hotel prices for a motel standard. Fine.

Room Tip: Get a room facing off the street frontage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed in a 2 bedroom suite and shared with some friends. The room was situation over two floors with two bedrooms and two full bathrooms. Although the decor was outdated, the hotel served its purpose well. There was a fully equipped kitchen in the room as well.
The only gripe I had was that the tv was small, old and and difficult to use. Appeared that the batteries were getting old...
Nice hotel that needs a face left soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Staff were friendly at desk and in restaurant. Rooms need updating couldn't believe all rooms didn't have flat screen TV's and bed had seen better days. stayed in executive spa suite so expected more for the rate. it was convenient location based on facilities alone would not return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ugo_Bisogno, Manager at Clarion Hotel on Canterbury, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Craftboy,

Thankyou for your review on our Hotel, as it is greatly appreciated. We apologise that your stay with us was not up to your standard, but we are in the process of upgrading all our facilities. If you decided to stay with us in the future you will find that our upgrade may suite all your needs.
Hope to see you in the coming future

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clarion Hotel on Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel on Canterbury

Address: 326 - 330 Canterbury Road | Corner Springvale Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3131, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#88 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Hotel on Canterbury 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old World Charm, 21st Century Outlook. Elegant and sophisticated. Dramatic and memorable. Enjoy the luxury of our 72 rooms and suites, dine in the distinctive Oliver's Restaurant, or the relaxed Atrium. Our 6 innovative and flexible function rooms provide the perfect environment for any event from 2 to 200 guests. We are here to provide you, our special guests, with a truly memorable and authentic hospitality experience. DINING Oliver's Restaurant offers unparalleled dining in Melbourne's eastern suburbs. Imaginative cuisine prepared by our International chef's, impeccable service and a classic charm. The Atrium - modern fare in a relaxed, casual atmosphere. Perfect for pre - function cocktails or a more casual approch to dining and functions WEDDINGS Intimate setting, unique decor, extravagant and luxurious personal touches. Let us host your most special day. Our Wedding Consultant will personalise your day and oversee every detail, to give you a truly 5 star Wedding experience. MEETINGS AND EVENTS Classic elegance meets 21st. century business accumen. The Clarion Hotel on Canterbury is only 20 minutes from Melbourne's CBD and the ideal venue for Executive conferences, meetings, Training days, workshops, Product launches and more. Our experienced Conference team will assist you in presenting a first rate event in a professional environment fitted with todays technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Clarion Hotel on Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion On Canterbury
Clarion Melbourne
Melbourne Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel on Canterbury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.