We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel on Canterbury

Save Saved
You added Clarion Hotel on Canterbury to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel on Canterbury
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   326 - 330 Canterbury Road | Corner Springvale Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3131, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and absolutely loved it. We wish to come back for a holiday and spend more time here.

The staff were beyond helpful and such a pleasure always. The food at the restaurant was beautiful. The pool and spa were wonderful and the free courtesy bus that took us to our desired location was fantastic!

The room was very cosy but elegant non the less! Once again the staff were exceptional! They called us in the morning to confirm taxis, courtesy bus and if we wanted a later check out.

Would definitely stay here again and recommend it for anyone wishing for a quiet holiday away from the city (although it is near trams that will take you there in about 45 mins) or a business trip!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    16
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
8
6
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We hopped over to spend our weekend due to an unfortunate power failure at our house and were pleasantly surprised by the hotel once we checked in.

To begin with, The receptionist accommodated us late in the evening and we checked in around 08:30 PM. The room was very well appointed although it does take a little bit of time to figure out where the AC remote was and the bathroom light switches were.

The room had a well stocked mini -bar and the linens were clean, comfortable and relaxing. Had the opportunity of ordering room service since we checked in late and that was a downer. The Room service menu in the room was not the same as the one with the actual restaurant/room service guys. We ended up having a wagyu burger which was good to taste but 18$ for a burger ?? not to sure about the price.

The hotel itself was quiet, peaceful and very tidy. The rooms are value for money and better than some of the CBD hotels we have stayed in.

Will surely come back !!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie L, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel on Canterbury, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Abhishek C,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Clarion Hotel on Canterbury and for taking the time to provide your feedback on Trip Advisor.

It is great to hear that you found most areas of the hotel of an excellent standard. I am sorry to hear that your expectations regarding the Room Service Menu were not met. I have informed my Operations Manager and we will be reviewing the prices of the menu in the New Year.

If you return to have Dinner with us, please keep in mind we have both Oliver's Restaurant available for fine dining, as well as our new Atrium Cafe for casual dining. Our Atrium Cafe has a large variety, bistro style menu at affordable prices.

Thank you again for your comments, they are invaluable to helping us to better our services.

We look forward to your next stay at Clarion Hotel on Canterbury and wish you a Merry Christmas and a safe and happy New Year.

Kind Regards,
Stephanie Lee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Not sure how it gets 4.5 stars. Deluxe room was on the small side with a firm QB but no lounge to watch the old style analogue 51cm TV. The restaurant has fantastic food with mains at $35 - 40 and entree's 15 - $22. Wine list was good too. Shower was good. Mini bar is good but you have to ask for fresh milk (yet its 4.5 stars). On the pro-active side they have a paper recycling box in the room. Lots of stairs for this property so if you've got bad knees etc - not good. Didn't try breakfast but they push it when you book - probably because Moe's is next door with probably better value....

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor unless you like stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle J, Manager at Clarion Hotel on Canterbury, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Brad,
Thank you for your feedback. We are currently changing over all Televisions to Flat Screens. Half the hotel has been completed and the remaining rooms are being changed over in the next few months. Hopefully by the time you stay with us next, you will be able to enjoy a brand new Television in your suite.
Thank you for your comments about Oliver's Restaurant and the menus, we do change all menus seasonally and our breakfast menu has quite a selection to choose from.
In relation to the stairs in the hotel, we do have a few sets of staircases. we also do have a lift, that is located near the restaurant, not in the reception area, perhaps when you checked in we should have be pointed this out more clearly for you to use. Please accept our apologises for the inconvenience of having to use the stairs only throughout your stay, when the lift was just a short distance away.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy the New flat screen Televisions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suisse
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Positive: well maintained, friendly staff.

Not so good: one hour away from downtown Melbourne (bus+train); at a junction between two large and active roads (but good noise insulation); aging interior design, particularly the bathroom equipment.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle J, Manager at Clarion Hotel on Canterbury, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for your feedback Stephane. We are located only 20 kilometers East of the Melbourne CBD, but it may take about one hour to travel to the hotel via public transport, depending on which public transport options you choose. Some trains stop at all stations and others are more express. It normally takes only 30 minutes to travel from the CBD of Melbourne by car or taxi. If you let us know your plans, we can arrange a corporate car transfer for you at a flat fee from the city or airport to the hotel. Which may help with future traveling times.
Clarion Hotel on Canterbury has a french provincial, old world feel of a bygone era and we are continuously assessing and improving, updating and replacing soft furnishings. We are happy to look into any particular items in any specific room, so they can be assessed for upgrading.
Thank you again for your feedback and we looking forward to seeing you again next time.
Clarion Hotel on Canterbury Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

If this hotel is in the area you want to stat it is very adequate. Probably a good 4 star rating. The rooms are a reasonable size. It has a good restaurant

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle J, General Manager at Clarion Hotel on Canterbury, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thankyou for your choosing to stay at Clarion Hotel on Canterbury and your feedback and listing on tripadvisor. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.
Kind Regards, Clarion Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011 via mobile

Some call it charm. Others quaint. I just think it's tired and dirty.

Some call it convenient. Others call it central. I call it on busy road humming with loud traffic noise.

Some say the staff are great. I concur BUT... friendly staff do not always a pleasant stay make and so whilst they are accommodating and cheerful, the just can't make up for the dirty carpets, buzz of the traffic, olde world/faux bourgeois furniture and lackluster attempt at catering for an admittedly picky and finnickety me.

Some may like it. Others may rave. Me? I would pick the Novotel at Glen Waverley over the Clarion any day of the week.


  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

The rooms are lovely, service is good. The food is both pricey and the breakfast we ordered should not have been allowed to come out of the kitchen. I can't believe the server was not embarrassed to bring it to us. Burnt eggs are not worth $25. The internet is incredibly slow. It's only useful for surfing the web. No Face Time or Skype, no viewing any kind of video

So, if your looking for a lovely room in this area with pleasant friendly staff and don't need to eat there or use internet for business purposes, it's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clarion Hotel on Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel on Canterbury

Address: 326 - 330 Canterbury Road | Corner Springvale Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3131, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#90 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#111 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Hotel on Canterbury 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old World Charm, 21st Century Outlook. Elegant and sophisticated. Dramatic and memorable. Enjoy the luxury of our 72 rooms and suites, dine in the distinctive Oliver's Restaurant, or the relaxed Atrium. Our 6 innovative and flexible function rooms provide the perfect environment for any event from 2 to 200 guests. We are here to provide you, our special guests, with a truly memorable and authentic hospitality experience. DINING Oliver's Restaurant offers unparalleled dining in Melbourne's eastern suburbs. Imaginative cuisine prepared by our International chef's, impeccable service and a classic charm. The Atrium - modern fare in a relaxed, casual atmosphere. Perfect for pre - function cocktails or a more casual approch to dining and functions WEDDINGS Intimate setting, unique decor, extravagant and luxurious personal touches. Let us host your most special day. Our Wedding Consultant will personalise your day and oversee every detail, to give you a truly 5 star Wedding experience. MEETINGS AND EVENTS Classic elegance meets 21st. century business accumen. The Clarion Hotel on Canterbury is only 20 minutes from Melbourne's CBD and the ideal venue for Executive conferences, meetings, Training days, workshops, Product launches and more. Our experienced Conference team will assist you in presenting a first rate event in a professional environment fitted with todays technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Clarion Hotel on Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion On Canterbury
Clarion Melbourne
Melbourne Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel on Canterbury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.