We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthiest kitchen in a hostel I have ever seen” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Greenhouse Backpacker

Save Saved
You added The Greenhouse Backpacker to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Agoda.com
and 2 more sites!
The Greenhouse Backpacker
228 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Filthiest kitchen in a hostel I have ever seen”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The last time I had stayed in this hostel it was of high standard, but several years later it has really gone downhill. I was assured by the staff that we would be made welcome with our young family but the staff were difficult from the minute we arrived, despite having my husband and little one parked in a loading zone the staff made check in difficult; the kitchen was atrocious with bins overflowing so badly there was rubbish left all over tge work benches - there wasn't even a clean knife or space to prepare food and the bathrooms, including the disabled one we were allowed access to so we could shower our child, were filthy. When we took photos to the manager, he said that people had to clean up after themselves, but if they are offering a service that says it is clean it's clearly not. That kitchen needs reporting to the health department, it's really that bad!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan L, Public Relations Manager at The Greenhouse Backpacker, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hi Froggiem,

Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay.
Are you certain you have got the right hostel? I have investigated your issues here and none of our managers can recall a guest showing them photos. Our kitchen and bathrooms are also cleaned four times every day.

Can you please send us an e-mail to greenhouse@friendlygroup.com.au with some more details and I will look into this some more. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    74
    36
    16
    14
See reviews for
5
44
88
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed for 1 night in a private room. Great staff, very friendly and helpful. Close to everything. Great place to stay. As i work in the tourism industry i was more than happy with my accommodation thank you

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Great Location for this hostel everything you want to do is on your door step ! Also good kitchen facilities and chill out areas ! Travelling with my boyfriend we found this a greathskta, for locations and cleanliness ! Would really recommend it apart from our room . We stayed in room 405 which was right opposite the male and female toilets/showers. We were here for 5 nights and not 1 night did we get a decent sleep . The showers are available 24hours a day and every hour there was at least 2 people showering/blow drying there hair at all times in the morning .The busiest time being from 2-6! The room also has a glass window in itso every time either of the doors open u hear it and also see the bright lights. We would basically get to sleep until around 1-2 and then be up until sometimes 7.30 In the morning .In the end we couldn't wait to leave which was a shame ! Apart from that thought couldn't fault it !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan L, Public Relations Manager at The Greenhouse Backpacker, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Hi Stacey,

Sorry to hear you felt disturbed by the light in your room. I can't remember hearing of this issue before but I will look into finding a solution.
Glad you liked everything else.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This was my favourite hostel in oz by far. Arrived on my own in September, left a week later with friends for life. The atmosphere was great, the rooms clean although a little cramped. It did get hot at night and my room didn't have a window, but as I wasn't spending much time in there anyway that didn't matter. The communal area was great, open and spacious. FREE breakfast every morning keeps you going in those first shaky days, the pasta night was another great addition as was the famous Bingo on Wednesdays. My favourite bit by far was the free walking tour, a fantastic introduction to Melbourne that covered all the stuff we really wanted to know- cheap places to get food, the best back alleyway bars and why you should cover your eyes around magpies. Would definitely recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leixlip, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Excellent hostel in Melbourne.
Great location, very easy to get around.
The hostel is very big with many floors, and I was very impressed how neat and tidy it was during my stay.
The only thing I didn't like was that the WiFi in the kitchen / reception area was very poor and sometimes useless.
Clearly too many people connected at the same time.
Other than that I had great days here!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I stayed in the hostel for a while, the 24 hour reception was very helpful, all the staff were very friendly, the manager, Steve, is an absolute legend, funny staff like Chrissy, Shannon and Maddy. Great atmosphere around there, can't speak highly enough of the place, definitely worth paying extra money for, you get free breakfast, wifi, tours of Melbourne, the list goes on.

Room Tip: floor 5 has the best showers
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights.

It's very centrally located, less than a 5 minute walk from Flinders Street Station and Federation Square. Very convenient for sight seeing in Melbourne as the free City Circle tourist tram and many regular trams all stop nearby.

We stayed in a double room with shared facilities. While the room was good, bathroom was not as clean as those in other hostels we stayed at during this trip, 'Hot' showers were warm at best and water pressure was low.

Free WiFi is included in room rate but only works in the common lobby on L06, and not in the rooms. A basic but filling breakfast (cereal, toast, jam, milk, tea / coffee) is free every morning.

Rooftop has a good view of the city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Greenhouse Backpacker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenhouse Backpacker

Also Known As:
The Greenhouse Backpacker Hotel
The Greenhouse Backpacker Hotel Melbourne
Address: 228 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 101 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greenhouse Backpackers is located in the heart of the Melbourne CBD with Flinders Street Station, Federation Square and famous cafe filled laneways less than a five minute walk away.Guests are welcomed with inclusions such as Free Daily Breakfast, Free Unlimited Internet 24/7, Free Walking Tour, Free Dinner Tuesdays, Free Activities and more.Get the inside information on the sights of Melbourne on our half-day walking tour, hear the tunes of local DJ's and bands on our pub crawl, taste the market fresh ingredients in our Free Tuesday dinners.If you are looking for even more tours and trips, see our in house Fully Licensed Travel Agency for expert experience and the best deals on trips around Australia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your The Greenhouse Backpacker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Greenhouse Backpacker, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.