We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite Hostel in Oz” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Greenhouse Backpacker

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Greenhouse Backpacker to your Saves list
The Greenhouse Backpacker
228 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Favourite Hostel in Oz”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This was my favourite hostel in oz by far. Arrived on my own in September, left a week later with friends for life. The atmosphere was great, the rooms clean although a little cramped. It did get hot at night and my room didn't have a window, but as I wasn't spending much time in there anyway that didn't matter. The communal area was great, open and spacious. FREE breakfast every morning keeps you going in those first shaky days, the pasta night was another great addition as was the famous Bingo on Wednesdays. My favourite bit by far was the free walking tour, a fantastic introduction to Melbourne that covered all the stuff we really wanted to know- cheap places to get food, the best back alleyway bars and why you should cover your eyes around magpies. Would definitely recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    92
    46
    21
    14
See reviews for
6
50
107
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Leixlip, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Excellent hostel in Melbourne.
Great location, very easy to get around.
The hostel is very big with many floors, and I was very impressed how neat and tidy it was during my stay.
The only thing I didn't like was that the WiFi in the kitchen / reception area was very poor and sometimes useless.
Clearly too many people connected at the same time.
Other than that I had great days here!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I stayed in the hostel for a while, the 24 hour reception was very helpful, all the staff were very friendly, the manager, Steve, is an absolute legend, funny staff like Chrissy, Shannon and Maddy. Great atmosphere around there, can't speak highly enough of the place, definitely worth paying extra money for, you get free breakfast, wifi, tours of Melbourne, the list goes on.

Room Tip: floor 5 has the best showers
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights.

It's very centrally located, less than a 5 minute walk from Flinders Street Station and Federation Square. Very convenient for sight seeing in Melbourne as the free City Circle tourist tram and many regular trams all stop nearby.

We stayed in a double room with shared facilities. While the room was good, bathroom was not as clean as those in other hostels we stayed at during this trip, 'Hot' showers were warm at best and water pressure was low.

Free WiFi is included in room rate but only works in the common lobby on L06, and not in the rooms. A basic but filling breakfast (cereal, toast, jam, milk, tea / coffee) is free every morning.

Rooftop has a good view of the city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Great location and easy walking distance to everything in Melbourne, really enjoyed my stay here nice hostel and staff. If you use th elift make sure you get out on the right floor. Great rooftop area

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay came back a second time, had a private double room first time with a window second time without. Lockers available continental breakfast, rooftop lazy boys central to everything a comfy clean stay .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Bayern, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The Hostel is the best in Melbourne, but i cant understand why i must change the rooms every or every second day. And i am every time in a mixed dorm. Thats anoying. And i am not the only one. the most people who works here, are friendly, but some you can forget. Especial if you lost one time your internet code, than you dont get a second one for the free internet, but when i must change rooms, than it can be happend that i lost things. The Breakfest isn t nice and the kitchen all time dirty. Its a to small kitchen for so many backpackers, and all time you cant find space in Fridge or plats and cuterly. I dont like to cook here. the rooms are different. Some are good and some not. The floor had a aircondition, that means, they can just control the complette floor not every room, so it can be, that it is in one room very freezing and in the next one very hot. All together is the weekly price from 217 $ to expensive. The showers are ok, but yeah i cleaned in an other hostel, so for me it can be better

Room Tip: look for a room to the back or to the site street not inside or flinders lane it s to loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan L, Public Relations Manager at The Greenhouse Backpacker, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Hi Krissy,

Sorry to hear you experienced a few issues during your stay.

When guests do not tell us about their need to extend their stay until late, we often need to move them to accommodate for other bookings that have been made.

Our breakfast if cereals, tea and coffee, toast and spreads and needs to be kept this basic to ensure we can keep offering budget accommodation. Our kitchen is cleaned 4 times every day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Greenhouse Backpacker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenhouse Backpacker

Address: 228 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greenhouse Backpackers is located in the heart of the Melbourne CBD with Flinders Street Station, Federation Square and famous cafe filled laneways less than a five minute walk away.Guests are welcomed with inclusions such as Free Daily Breakfast, Free Unlimited Internet 24/7, Free Walking Tour, Free Dinner Tuesdays, Free Activities and more.Get the inside information on the sights of Melbourne on our half-day walking tour, hear the tunes of local DJ's and bands on our pub crawl, taste the market fresh ingredients in our Free Tuesday dinners.If you are looking for even more tours and trips, see our in house Fully Licensed Travel Agency for expert experience and the best deals on trips around Australia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your The Greenhouse Backpacker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenhouse Backpacker Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Greenhouse Backpacker, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.