We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything done just right!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Greenhouse Backpacker

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Greenhouse Backpacker to your Saves list
The Greenhouse Backpacker
228 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Leeds
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Everything done just right!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in many backpacker places around the world, and this is by far the best I have ever stayed in!! I'd give it 6 stars if I could. Location is excellent, very close to the train station, federation square and a really cool little lane with nice funky bars and restaurants on. It's as close to Paris as Melbourne can get. Everything is run like clockwork, counter staff 24hours, really professional, now exactly what is going on and are used to dealing with 20 something's. it's kind of like being at university again. The communal area on the top floor is where the counter is, it's clean bright, loads of computers, a tv room, laundry, friendly feel to it. Dorms are immaculately clean and well set out, great facilities. Free wifi which is great, it gets me so annoyed when places charge for wifi, it's about as essential as the toilet or a bed in this day and age. They also have a large communal kitchen and you can help your self to free breakfast a d coffee. To summarise, an excellent backpacker place, I cannot fault it in anyway. If more businesses were run as efficiently and as well as this the world would be a better place!

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    92
    44
    20
    14
See reviews for
6
49
105
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed at Greenhouse Backpackers for a week in one of their 6 bed dorms. I found this place very clean and comfy. It's quite a large hostel so for a shy person like me I found it hard to meet people but this is just personal. Great rooftop for smokers and they have heaps of freebies. The free internet is fantastic, as well as free breakfast everyday etc. Only qualms is that room has no windows but I guess thats just the type of building really and my bunk was a little squeaky but ear plugs remedy that. Fabulous location, right on Flinders lane which is a brilliant place surrounded by amazing shops and cafes.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I hadn't stayed at a Backpackers before so wasn't sure what to expect but did some research on previous reviews of melb backpackers. I was tossing up between three of them. I liked the central location of this place and thought the price was very good, and liked that it didn't have a bar within the building. Stayed for 5nights in a 6bed dorm.
Enjoyed the free use of internet, lots of places to sit in the lounge area, extremely clean bathrooms, never had to wait for one, and bed clean as well, didn't use the cooking area, ..... The things that I didn't like were, the bed felt pretty hard for me, I had taken my own pillow, so I used theirs to put under me, there were no windows in the rooms either, so it felt a bit stuffy in the morning, and staying with 6 people couldn't switch the main light on when someone was in bed, no matter what the time, had bed light, but could've done with a torch, but I managed ok. Not sure if this happens at other backpackers or because this one didn't have windows?? Anyway, overall was pretty good, and staff were always helpful!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in a 5 bed dorm for 1 week. The room wasn't overly big but had lockers where everyone could store things. Don't think the rooms got cleaned everyday and by the end of the week you could tell but the people i stopped with where clean.
Bathrooms where abit old fashioned and showers where only designed for short people and not anyone over 6ft. very clean and lots of showers so never had to wait.
Kitchen was big but not everyone tidy ipod after themselves and you could tell at times. the only problem i had was with the times they closed the kitchens to clean 10.30-11.30am & 9.30-11.30pm. not very practical i must say.
The common areas where very good, loads of seats and big tv room. they have free use of 4 computers aswell, and free wi-fi.
the free food night was excellent!!!
Overall good stay & would recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This place has a lot going for it... Good location, friendly staff, bedrooms are fine and the bathrooms are clean. The main problem is the shear volume of people staying here. It means the kitchen is always crowded and dirty despite the staff's best efforts to keep it clean. It's ok but for the price I did expect a little more.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed here for almost a month and loved it! Most of the reception staff are very nice and helpfull. Free wifi and free breakfast which is nice and lots of freebies during the week. Every sunday they do free pancakes and every tuesday a free meal. The person that's in charge of all the activities, Molly, is absolutely awesome! Clearly loves the city and is very keen to show you around on her walking tour. Great location, really right in the city centre. Do book ahead as it's regularly fully booked, with good reason ;) Ofcourse there were a few cons too. The kitchen isn't very clean mainly due to people not doing their dishes which starts to get really annoying when you actually do your own. Then there's a group of people staying here permanently and they can't really be bothered to talk to anybody but there own crowd or clean up after themselves. Other than that we had a great time here and recommend it to anyone looking for a good place to stay in Melbourne!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is our first ime ever visiting Melbourne, so we tried to find a hostel which is very central located. The Greenhouse Backpacker was the right choice. We took public bus+train from Melbourne Airport, as it was the cheapest option. We arrived at Flinders Station, and it was only 5 minutes walk to the hostel.

We stayed in a double room, well the room was basic, but for AUD 90 in the peak period of December, we don't complaint about it. We booked through the hostel and did not have to pay any down payment. Great.

We could rent a bicycle helmet (for free) from the reception to use the melbourne bike share. Using it smartly (every 30 mins change the bike at the station) was really cheap. Only AUD 5 for both of us, the whole day.

Free wifi was fast but only accessible in the common area. If you'd like to get free wifi, you can walk to Federation Square, 5 mins from the hostel, where you can find outdoor free wifi.

Going to Southern Cross Station is a bit far from the hostel (20 mins walk), we took taxi instead cost AUD 10.

Overall this hostel has a great location. If you'd like to see the detail review and pictures, you can search in google tesyasblog greenhouse backpacker.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Greenhouse Backpacker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenhouse Backpacker

Address: 228 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greenhouse Backpackers is located in the heart of the Melbourne CBD with Flinders Street Station, Federation Square and famous cafe filled laneways less than a five minute walk away.Guests are welcomed with inclusions such as Free Daily Breakfast, Free Unlimited Internet 24/7, Free Walking Tour, Free Dinner Tuesdays, Free Activities and more.Get the inside information on the sights of Melbourne on our half-day walking tour, hear the tunes of local DJ's and bands on our pub crawl, taste the market fresh ingredients in our Free Tuesday dinners.If you are looking for even more tours and trips, see our in house Fully Licensed Travel Agency for expert experience and the best deals on trips around Australia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your The Greenhouse Backpacker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenhouse Backpacker Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Greenhouse Backpacker, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.