We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4.5 stars: Best place I stayed in Melbourne.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Greenhouse Backpacker

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Greenhouse Backpacker to your Saves list
The Greenhouse Backpacker
228 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“4.5 stars: Best place I stayed in Melbourne.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

STAY: 2 Nights
TYPE OF ROOM: 5 Bed Mixed dorm

LOCATION: Superb. Located on SE corner of city square mile. 5 min walk to supermarket and well served by trams. Close to Flinders Street station. Not too hard to get to Southern Cross station to catch sky bus to airport. Everything cool in central Melbourne is down alleyways and this makes it the perfect location as most of the good ones are over this side of the city. Small cafes and sushi bars around corner and your main Macdonalds/subway etc on main road.

STAFF: Reception was on 6th floor which I found strange till I realised that the hostel comprises the 3rd floor up to the 7th. It really isn't a chore to get into a lift and press a button. Staff were helpful and reasonably friendly although not overtly so. I can't put my finger on it but there was something missing that I've seen elsewhere. Perhaps an enthusiasm to help new travellers and volunteer info on what to do in town and how to get around. There were always plenty of them though and they often put reminders out over the tannoy for people to wash and clean up after themselves! The staff member who took us on the free day walk was superb. So knowledgeable being a local and she took us to all the things that you can't find on a tourist map.

ROOMS: Clean and serviceable. Well secured by swipe card which is required to get anywhere private. Only negative is that my room backed on to an alleyway which seemed to be the central HQ hub for the city road sweepers. Hence I was wide awake from 6:30am as they came and went. Just luck of the draw.

BATHROOMS: Communal, large, very clean and reminded me of the changing rooms at a decent gym or day spa. Showers were pretty good.

KITCHEN: Plenty of utensils and cooking stoves. They serve a free breakfast every day of Cereal, milk, bread and spreads. Also free tea and coffee throughout the day. The fridges were pretty rammed full though so I imagine it gets tight in peak season.

COMMON ROOM/TV: Utterly brilliant. Large tv area with about a dozen sofas. Common area next to dining area with comfy seats/ sofas. Bright, colourful. Even seats where you could plug in laptops etc to use WIFI.

LAUNDRY: Usual washers and dryers costing about $7 to do both. They sell powder at reception for $1.

INTERNET: Free! Both the 4 terminals and the WIFI. The terminals were never that busy and there would usually be one free shortly if there wasn't already. You could pretty much hop on and off when ever you wanted as long as you didn't permanently hog a terminal and were considerate to other guests wanting to use them. Only negative was that the terminals had no USB ports to upload photos.

MISC: Every sort of brochure/flyer for tours and activities you can think of in common room area plus a booking centre manned by a member of staff. The hostel always had something social organised each day. There was a good vibe although people didn't come up and talk to you like they do elsewhere and I sensed this was because there was a higher proportion of longer term livers-in who were there to work. You pretty much need to go to the hostel socials if you want to meet people or actively engage smaller groups.

SUMMARY: GREAT PLACE. Ideal if you are there to work longer term. Still your best bet if you're there for a shorter stay.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    92
    44
    20
    14
See reviews for
6
49
105
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Greenhouse Backpackers is located right in the city of Melbourne, making it very accessible and cheap to travel around!

My friends and I enjoyed the stay, the most memorable experience is cooking in the kitchen and chilling out at the common area. Being able to cook allows us to save the money for some of our dinners, so we could spend them on shopping! Breakfast is also provided daily, (cereals and milk) though there were some days we craved for some outside food... like pancakes!

I'm glad they have pretty strict rules about guests who invite their friends over for drinks. The hostel gets into a pretty high mood in the evenings, which is fine. Their security system also helps to keep the place safe. Almost forgetting to mention, my fiance LEFT his clothes, with his wallet and iPhone after shower one morning, and totally forgot about it until the late afternoon while we were out on tour. He came back worried, but found all his stuff intact at the reception! Of course more credit should be given to the fellow backpackers who were very honest.

We also booked tours through their Friendly Travel Desk who provided the best deals for the tours to Yarra Valley, Great Ocean Road and Mornington Peninsula. (I dare say best because I have done research on these tours and hadn't found a better deal than theirs.)

The staff here were okay, I thought they had a "don't mess with us" kind of aura, but that's fine.

However, our first day was quite a horror when we found out our room was a 5-person sharing dorm. We had made several requests to make sure all four of us could get the same room, but we didn't expect to be sharing with another guest! We felt really awkward because we arrived past midnight with all our excitement and our roommate was already sleeping. Anyway, it turned out well as we got to know him and the next roommate better.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Stayed here for 6 months, from the start of October 2011 to April 2012. The location of the hostel couldn't be any better, you are right by Federation Square and Flinders Street Station which is the Central Hub for the transport system around Melbourne. The hostel itself is very good, the tv room and area on the 6th floor are where everyone socializes, as well as the rooftop which on a nice day is good for sunbathing! The rooms are pretty basic but it's just somewhere to sleep so its fine. The receptionists are helpful on the whole but some of them aren't the most friendly, once asking to borrow cards off them was met with "why don't you lot buy your own?" At the hostel there is roster drawn up for people staying there to clean the kitchen, or common area on different nights for which they get a nights free accommodation. A great idea but unfortunately the night manager decides the roster and he displays extreme favoritism. My name was down on the list since for months and I never got given any days to clean, with the occasional day here and there when the person supposed to be doing it couldn't. The shifts were always given to girls who used to complain about doing it - very frustrating.
The hostel often runs events which are good, such as the pub crawl and the free meal (usually pasta). Breakfast is provided free between 7-9 every morning and there are pancakes on a sunday morning also. This is a nice touch and starts the day off well with free cereal, tea and bread for toast. The kitchen on the whole is good but can get very messy which is due to people staying there not the hostel. Free access to computers is a big plus, its supposed to be 30 minutes a day but whenever one is free you can always jump on.
Overall I would recommend this hostel as its location is unbelievable and you will be well placed to see all of Melbourne. The rent is around 217 a week during summer which is decent value for Melbourne city centre.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan L, Public Relations Manager at The Greenhouse Backpacker, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Hi Tottey,

I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I have passed it along to our team here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Good location close to central Melbourne trendy cafes close by.
Free Meal not good at all.

Room Tip: Look first
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

First off, it's a hostel. Know what to expect when you stay at one.

I booked a double for one, because it's still a great deal. Room was clean and nicely sized, nothing too comfortable, but again, it's just a place to lay your head at night. No windows, which was a bit irritating, but I would've just been looking at the side of the next building anyways. Bathrooms were clean, up-to-date. Kitchen was clean, although I only used it for storing beer and leftover kebab. They do breakfast once in a while, decent, but you need to get there quick. The etiquette of fellow travelers in regards to kitchenware and behavior was questionable, but that's not the fault of the hostel.

Staff was friendly and helpful. They have events almost every day, take advantage of them. Cut-price AFL tickets and the pub crawl were both good times, and really inexpensive. In-house travel booker was helpful as well, found a nice daytrip.

Location couldn't be better for a visitor to the city. Right in the middle of everything, a block from Federation Square, a 10 minute walk from the MCG. Very secure - aside from advanced locks, it's right on top of a police post. Rooftop was a nice place to catch a smoke, eat, or just look out over the city.

Negatives? The WiFi was free, and you could get it in your room... sometimes. Very tempermental, but I wasn't there to surf the internet anyways. One sink in the bathroom was busted, but there were 3 others. The one lift was acting strange, sometimes would stop a few inches above or below level, and was down for a day or two.

All in all, a pretty good experience. I wouldn't recommend it for families, couples would be iffy, and would avoid it for business. But solo or friends? It'd be a horrible idea to not consider the place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

This was the first hostel that i stayed in when coming to Oz and it was actually recommend to me by a friend who now lives Melbourne and i'm so glad that i chose this hostel to stay in. Firstly value for money defiantly!! $35 a night but you get so much for that, I've stay in a lot of hostels for roughly the same money and this one is so clean, rooms clean, lockers, bathrooms best that I've used in oz, great common rooms, free breakfast and WIFI and also the open air roof top as well. Secondly the feel of the place chilled, relaxed and very homely also such a great vibe it just makes you wanna get up and enjoy every day!!!! and last but not least the staff again amazing!! makes you feel so welcomed, as helpful as anyone can be to whoever you are and such a great laugh and when the staff are that good it always makes the hostel that much better as well. I've made some amazing new friends since I've stay here and also friends for life!!!! IF YOUR STAYING IN MELBOURNE DON'T GO ANYWHERE ELSE!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

This was one of the worst hostels we stayed in 3 months. To start positive: the location is great, in the centre Melbourne. We didn’t like the room without windows and noisy till late. The kitchen is not always available because some evenings they were making free meals and then you can’t use the kitchen. Kitchen was often dirty. Fridge is very full and some items of use were stolen. When we told the reception they were not interested at all. The security camera didn’t work, they told us.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan L, Public Relations Manager at The Greenhouse Backpacker, responded to this review, April 1, 2012
Hi Jacky,

Thank you for leaving your feedback. Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. In the year since your visit we have renovated the hostel, upgraded our kitchen and more. Thanks again and if there is anything else you wish to ad, please feel free to call or e-mail us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Greenhouse Backpacker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenhouse Backpacker

Address: 228 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greenhouse Backpackers is located in the heart of the Melbourne CBD with Flinders Street Station, Federation Square and famous cafe filled laneways less than a five minute walk away.Guests are welcomed with inclusions such as Free Daily Breakfast, Free Unlimited Internet 24/7, Free Walking Tour, Free Dinner Tuesdays, Free Activities and more.Get the inside information on the sights of Melbourne on our half-day walking tour, hear the tunes of local DJ's and bands on our pub crawl, taste the market fresh ingredients in our Free Tuesday dinners.If you are looking for even more tours and trips, see our in house Fully Licensed Travel Agency for expert experience and the best deals on trips around Australia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your The Greenhouse Backpacker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenhouse Backpacker Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Greenhouse Backpacker, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.