We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap,clean and fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Discovery Melbourne to your Saves list
Discovery Melbourne
3.5 of 5 Hostel   |   167 - 175 Franklin St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“cheap,clean and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

a nice clean hostel located in Melbourne CBD big room so loads of space for you stuff,big open rooftop space great for the sunny day in Melbourne and a in house cinema for the rainy days
Spent 5 weeks here the staff are very helpful

Room Tip: bigger room the cheaper it is
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    63
    52
    40
    31
See reviews for
4
31
71
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

free breakfast is good staff are friendly helpful full of local knowledge .. the facilities are clean daily . rooms are spacious. nice large kitchen . to cook up a good scram ...good location ..amazing atmosphere

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

One of the best hostel in Australia! Love it! Lovely staff allways ready to help you, lovely beanbag cinema and free breakfest! Downstairs bar is nice and quit cheep!
Great location and close to public transport!
Next to free tram zone!

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sittard
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My partner and I stayed in Discovery for 4 nights during easter and I must say it is definitely the best place where we have stayed so far in Australia. It's super clean, beautiful newly furnished rooms and shared bathrooms and the staff is nice! We loved the location, roof terrace, lounge and the indoor cinema and Traveldesk from Backpacker World Travel. If we come back to Melbourne we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMngr, Front Office Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear thailalaudy,

Thank you for your kind comments. It's been fantastic to read your review!.

Please let us know if you are coming to Melbourne again because we would love to accommodate you, and promise will take really good care of you!.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

To begin with, I have been at worse hostels. But Discovery Melbourne has a somewhat good reputation which they barely lived up to! The room and facilities were clean, however in the double bed we shared there were no proper sheets. One sheet was placed underneath the big cover/duvet and one on top, which was fairly gross considering that the sheets will not move with the duvet at all times... The staff was not too welcoming and our first encounter was a rude man checking us in. I would not recommend it or go there again, but as I said, not the worst place to stay at.

Room Tip: Do not pick a double room if you want duvets with proper sheets to avoid bugs and poor hygiene.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellant location...nice rooms and beds...nice friendly staff...fast wifi...free breakfast and nice bar...nice travel agency which gives attractive offers...cleanliness of the kitchen and the toilet can be better.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed at Discovery for a few nights with a friend, decided to take advantage of the seemingly cheap rates and good location. However from the beginning we had issues. We booked through booking.com and upon arrival were told that we had the wrong dates, and they were full so had no room for us. We showed the the booking details with the correct dates and it turns out their system somehow messed up our booking. They found us a spare room which was upgraded with an ensuite and was actually a half decent room so we were pretty happy with that. However our key cards were constantly playing up so we always had to get help getting into our room - turns out electronic devices effect them so don't put them in the pocket with your phone!!
The next day at around midday we had a phone call from the manager asking why we hadn't removed our bags from our room as they had someone checking in. We hadn't been told that we had to change rooms so we ended up having to cancel our plans for the afternoon and head back to the hostel to relocate our bags. We were shifted into a tiny stinking hot room with a broken window, the room was dirty and the beds were uncomfortable.
The free breakfast was not as expected, just some bread, a toaster and jam and butter, plus cereal and milk.
On the postative side - security was great, someone checking for key cards to enter the dorms. The drink specials at the bar were great, and we started off a few evenings down there meeting new people from all over the world. The staff were mostly courteous although often clueless as to what was happening with our room changes. Having staff at the desk 24/7 was great too. Location is brilliant, walking distance to everywhere we wanted to go - thank god because being country girls we couldnt work out how to read the tram maps!!

Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Discovery Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Melbourne

Address: 167 - 175 Franklin St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Melbourne 3.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discovery Melbourne is a large city backpackers conveniently located right in the heart of the Melbourne CBD. Enjoy a free breakfast each day between 7am - 9am, newly installed Global Gossips Wifi throughout the Entire Buidling, and if your stay with us for 14 or more consecutive nights, a FREE airport pick up from Tullamarine. (*Conditions apply.) Features include a basement bar, cafe, cinema, job & travel agencies, rooftop with BBQ's and 24 hour reception with great local staff.For travellers looking to share accommodation we have 4, 6 & 8 share dorms and also 10 - 16 share dorms for those looking for an even cheaper option. For those wanting some privacy we also have basic private double, twin & family rooms. All rooms have shared bathroom facilities, heating and linen.Our Events Program offers guests many opportunities to explore and make friends! Discover amazing street art & hidden secrets on our free walking tours & head out of the city on our free markets & beach bus tours! Our bar The New Disco Bar has cheap drink specials including Happy Hour until 8pm from Wednesday - Saturday! Great DJ's get the dance floor pumping and a huge range of events, such as Poker nights, Minute to Win it and Ladies night on a friday. If it's great coffee & food you're after, the chefs at our licensed cafe serve up delicious food 7 days a week including all day breakfast and some of the best pizzas in town! Our fantastic Melbournian staff will make you feel right at home 24/7 Our overnight security, CCTV, lockers and swipe card access will ensure you and your belongings are safe! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Discovery Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.