We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Helpful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Discovery Melbourne to your Saves list
Discovery Melbourne
3.5 of 5 Hostel   |   167 Franklin St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #62 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
1 review
“Friendly and Helpful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Travelling solo it was great to stay in a place with such friendly staff and hosted events! A great way to meet people. Bathrooms were clean. 8 bed dorm seemed cramped compared to the other sizes. 2 blocks from main shopping area and transport. Rooftop, cinema and bar facilities were all great =)

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    45
    32
    24
    19
See reviews for
3
18
49
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overall, you have all basic facilities(needs) such as kitchen, living room , bedroom, pub and others.

Their facilities are maintained well (at least you do not feel upset when you stay).

Probably, they could have improved on cleanliness, especially toilet.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Newcastle, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good location, friendly staffs, nice environment...
(not as clean as I was expecting... but ok!)
A good choice for solo/friends travellers with nice options for entertainment (pub, local trips and activities, etc)!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hostel is quite big with a lot of floors. The kitchen is huge but miss some cutely and cups. Overall, good hostel with good location and really friendly and flexible staff. Be aware there is a building being built in one side of the hostel. Can be a little bit noisy in the mornings.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in level 3 in the opposite side of the building that is being build.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

I like the location and the stuff. We are Checkin in midnight and get our cards and Can go in very comportable bed, i think. The hostel is very simple, you have a kitchen, in your rooms a bed, in Mixed rooms you Can Log your thinks with your own . The reception guy have give us many tips, where we Can ask for a Job (which streets). You Can copy your resume for little money and the reception guy checked your resume. we have a really nice bar crawl with him. As a backpacker you have all what you need.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014 via mobile

Quiet nice as backpackers but European girls who stayed next door to me were very very very noisy that shouting loughing play music so loud at 2am.
Kitchen become so Durty and full of people around 5-6pm
Nice rest area TV area for chill out
They have weekly price and location is very good
Linen was clean

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

We stayed in a twin room having just flown into Melbourne from the UK:

Good points:
Beds surprisingly comfortable despite initial appearance
Staff at desk friendly and helpful, also a cheap cafe which does nice sandwiches
Nice big common area with pingpong table and pool table
Free walking tour which was good fun- our guide, Jeff, was very friendly and even bought us some beers!
Reasonably quiet at night time
Free breakfast with cereals and toast.
Spotless bathrooms with plenty showers/toilets
Felt secure- need card access to get into room areas etc

Bad points:
Room very basic for the price we paid- tiny, a single bunk bed, and walls in need of a lick of paint
Very expensive wi fi.
No BYO allowed despite the bar not being open
Quite a lot of slightly odd long term people staying there.
Paper thin walls.

Overall:
Comfortable but quite average and would expect a better room for what we paid for.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Discovery Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Melbourne

Address: 167 Franklin St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Melbourne 3.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discovery Melbourne is a large city backpackers conveniently located right in the heart of the Melbourne CBD. Enjoy a free breakfast each day between 7am - 9am, newly installed Global Gossips Wifi throughout the Entire Buidling, and if your stay with us for 14 or more consecutive nights, a FREE airport pick up from Tullamarine. (*Conditions apply.) Features include a basement bar, cafe, cinema, job & travel agencies, rooftop with BBQ's and 24 hour reception with great local staff.For travellers looking to share accommodation we have 4, 6 & 8 share dorms and also 10 - 16 share dorms for those looking for an even cheaper option. For those wanting some privacy we also have basic private double, twin & family rooms. All rooms have shared bathroom facilities, heating and linen.Our Events Program offers guests many opportunities to explore and make friends! Discover amazing street art & hidden secrets on our free walking tours & head out of the city on our free markets & beach bus tours! Our bar The New Disco Bar has cheap drink specials including Happy Hour until 8pm from Wednesday - Saturday! Great DJ's get the dance floor pumping and a huge range of events, such as Poker nights, Minute to Win it and Ladies night on a friday. If it's great coffee & food you're after, the chefs at our licensed cafe serve up delicious food 7 days a week including all day breakfast and some of the best pizzas in town! Our fantastic Melbournian staff will make you feel right at home 24/7 Our overnight security, CCTV, lockers and swipe card access will ensure you and your belongings are safe! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Agoda, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Discovery Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.