We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location and nice atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Discovery Melbourne to your Saves list
Discovery Melbourne
3.5 of 5 Hostel   |   167 Franklin St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #62 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good location and nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

It was a really good hostel with very helpful and nice staff.
We did both the walking tour around Melbourne and the market tour. Both were some of the best things we did during our stay. Especially the market tour where we went to the farmer's market. It was good to see such a different part of Melbourne.
The free walking tour was really good since it gave us inspiration to what to see when walking around by ourselves.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    44
    32
    24
    19
See reviews for
3
18
48
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed for 1 night in a twin-bunk private room, during what appeared to be a very busy period. Check-in took a while standing in line, and when I did make it to one of the receptionists it turned out my room wasn't ready yet (I'd indicated my arrival time when booking, and I showed up later than that time) but that wasn't a big deal and after a wander around the nearby Queen Victoria Markets it was ready when I returned. Managed to get a decent sleep, and the bathroom facilities were adequate. The big attractions for staying here were the central location (very close to many places and public transport is very close by) and also the free breakfast in the morning, which was a help-yourself selection of cereals and toast, with jam on hand to put on the toast, and tea/coffee/milk. The provided disposable plates made it easy to clean up after breakfast and head on out, and check-out was simple and efficient. Didn't try cooking in the kitchen during my visit nor used the lounge or bar at any stage, but can imagine the kitchen and lounge would have been rather crowded due to the number of people staying. You pay for the location, but its a popular place (great if you want to meet people) and what you get is quite decent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMngr, General Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for your review and the feedback provided – It is so important to learn how our guests feel about the Hostel and the facilities, tours and events that we provide. We are constantly updating our Hostel to give you a better experience so thanks for your patience during this time.
I hope you have had a great time in Melbourne and we look forward to seeing you again soon! – Merry Christmas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Ideal backpackers stay if looking for a variety of services, a seperate lounge, lobby/cafe and bar areas means you don't feel forced into partying or into your room, staff are all ace and helpful. There has been a fair bit of renovation going on while I have been staying here but for the most part hasn't affected me negatively, looks to be promising for the future

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Took a private room at this place on 25th and 26th October. Beds are clean and comfortable, and the bathrooms are spacious with working hot water (especially for the weather in spring now). Heater's functioning too. Check-in was smooth and staffs are quite friendly. I didn't check out the kitchen and rooftop bar so can't comment on this.

The best part about this place is the location. Just a stone throw away is the Franklin Street/Elizabeth Street tram station, has a 7-11 nearby to resupply, short walk away from Hertz and Europcar car rental company, as well as walking distance to places of interest like Lygon street, Queen Victoria market, Old Melbourne Gaol, Melbourne Central etc. Food places are plenty and all just walking distance.

Overall, a very good place to stay if you just need a place to layover while you spend most of the time exploring the Melbourne CBD.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vic, Spain
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I think is really well situated in relation with the prize, instead its dimensions make it unconfortable. Kitchen is not always clean, but it has everything and you can cook around. Decent rooms, good atmosphere, free activities every day... it is good enogh for visit and enjoy Melbourne and come back only to sleep!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Considering the size and potential this hostel has, it did not live up to expectations implied from the website. The rooftop bar and social area was only open for an hour or two each day, the living and kitchen facilities were messy and unclean, and the rooms were of a low standard. On a more positive note, the beds were comfy and the location was great, but a high charge for wifi and unhelpful staff (I realise this may not be the case for all staff members, and that I might have just been unlucky with the ones I spoke to), I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMngr, General Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Hi Charlotte,
Thank you for your review on Discovery Melbourne. I am a little concerned with a couple of items in saying our Rooftop Bar is only open for a couple of hours a day - When in fact we don't have a roof top bar - all other social areas are infact open 24 hours a day except the cinema which opens at 7am and closes at 11pm, so sorry I'm unsure as to exactly the areas you are referring to. The Guest kitchen does get used alot especially when we have 500 or so people making breakfast lunch and dinner within a few hours. This does get cleaned 5 times per day, so it may have been in between these times when you tried to use it. The guests are supposed to wash and clean there own dishes leaving the kitchen tidy, but as i am sure you have seen the majority do not do this. I do apologise if you thought some staff were rude, as this is certainly not the expectations I have of my team.
I do hope you enjoy your travels in Australia.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Decent rooms, plenty of room around and in the kitchen, always showers and toilets available. Kitchen is very hit and miss, sometimes very messy and no clean clean cutlery but it's all there if it's clean. Bar isn't always open so i wouldn't call it a party hostel but during the weekends there's some good stuff happening but could be organised better. Rooftop is great in the sun, be great for a BBQ but nothing organised during my stay. For a better atmosphere try Nomads, or a pleasant stay try Urban Central, but this is bang in the middle, nearly 4 star.

Room Tip: The more beds the more social!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Discovery Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Melbourne

Address: 167 Franklin St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Melbourne 3.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discovery Melbourne is a large city backpackers conveniently located right in the heart of the Melbourne CBD. Enjoy a free breakfast each day between 7am - 9am, newly installed Global Gossips Wifi throughout the Entire Buidling, and if your stay with us for 14 or more consecutive nights, a FREE airport pick up from Tullamarine. (*Conditions apply.) Features include a basement bar, cafe, cinema, job & travel agencies, rooftop with BBQ's and 24 hour reception with great local staff.For travellers looking to share accommodation we have 4, 6 & 8 share dorms and also 10 - 16 share dorms for those looking for an even cheaper option. For those wanting some privacy we also have basic private double, twin & family rooms. All rooms have shared bathroom facilities, heating and linen.Our Events Program offers guests many opportunities to explore and make friends! Discover amazing street art & hidden secrets on our free walking tours & head out of the city on our free markets & beach bus tours! Our bar The New Disco Bar has cheap drink specials including Happy Hour until 8pm from Wednesday - Saturday! Great DJ's get the dance floor pumping and a huge range of events, such as Poker nights, Minute to Win it and Ladies night on a friday. If it's great coffee & food you're after, the chefs at our licensed cafe serve up delicious food 7 days a week including all day breakfast and some of the best pizzas in town! Our fantastic Melbournian staff will make you feel right at home 24/7 Our overnight security, CCTV, lockers and swipe card access will ensure you and your belongings are safe! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Discovery Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.