We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rude staff, disappointed.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Discovery Melbourne to your Saves list
Discovery Melbourne
3.5 of 5 Hostel   |   167 - 175 Franklin St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“rude staff, disappointed.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

stayed here for about a week, at first seemed cool but then things didn't seem as good. everyone in my room was loud and were drinking despite a no alcohol rule. tried to tell reception about it but they didn't seem to care. website claimed they had free wifi only to discover that you had to pay per day. generally didn't have a particularly friendly backpacker feel. plus housekeeping staff were inexcusably rude- turning light on in the morning (i was trying to sleep after not getting back from work till 4 in the morning) and spraying some kind of aerosol around the whole room, again, despite a strictly no aerosol rule. overall, disappointing stay, would recommend nomads up the road instead.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant167, General Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thanks for the Feedback it is really important to obtain honest feedback both positive and negative as this is the only way the we can train and grow our team to be super stars! - I am shocked to see that the Reception and Housekeeping staff were rude and this has been addressed as it is totally not acceptable. I am sorry that your experience at our Hostel was tarnished by such things, but again I am working with the team to ensure a high level of service is provided at all times. I do hope you will try us again to experience what the service is normally like and have a great experience as that is what we strive to provide to all.
Enjoy your time in Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    62
    52
    40
    31
See reviews for
4
30
70
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed at this hostel for a week while I was in Melbourne back in January 2013. From outside, the hostel looks quite impressive. The downstairs main common area/reception/restaurant is cool because its a big gathering space with free wifi. The rooms however, were small and felt a bit cramped. They had big shower rooms with a separate toilet room which is always nice. The food at the restaurant was cheap and the staff were nice. With all that said, I didnt like this hostel that much but its a decent enough place to sleep and get cleaned up. I should also add, the location is decent - just a few minute walk to most things in the area. I wouldnt stay at this hostel if i was to go back to Melbourne as I know of many better ones!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant167, General Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hi Lauren,
Thanks for your feedback - Great to hear that you enjoyed the facilities and the guest lounge area - the rooms are a mixture of all sizes, subject to what you booked at the time you may have been in a smaller dorm room. I am currently in the process of rearranging the floor plans of the Hostel to aleviate any such concerns in the future. I hope to see you next time you are in Mlebourne.

Have a great weekend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I travelled by myself, stayed in an 8 bed female dorm. Awesome girls in my room which made up the best part of my stay. I had trouble at checkin as my online payment had not been processed, so I had to pay again, the whole process was time consuming and messy, Nothing about my booking was correct. However I dealt with nice people. Showers were hot, toilets and kitchen clean etc. Café was good, great coffee. After I had checked out and was able to prove about my online payment afew days later, I did get my refund, thanks to Phil for dealing with that. I was also able to book the penguin parade day trip through discovery which was awesome.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMngr, General Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thankyou for your Review and providing feedback I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the location and the facilities - I will pass on your thanks to Phil for assisting with your Refund - I hope you are enjoying your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Together with my friends, we're coming to Melbourne for the very first time. We're very satisfied with the friendly staffs and the free transport to the hostel was very much appreciated! The free breakfast and wifi gave us much convenience. We stayed at 12-beds girl's dorm but it was nice, not noisy like we had worried before. The bathroom and wash room were clean, however I found out that sometimes the warm water supply was not consistent, it could turn out to be cold and then back to warm the next second. And another thing is, our card keys were so troublesome. We had stayed there for 4 nights and almost everyday we need to go downstairs to complain about the malfunction cards. It's quite frustrating.

There're other good sides such as: a 7-11 around the corner not far from hostel, just walk across the road and you'll got everything. Mini markets nearby. Located at the center of city which is very near to Queen Victoria Market. Many happenings and free events every week. A bar just located downstairs (Had not been there but we didnt feel noisy staying at our room upstairs). A kitchen available till 11-ish pm.

The day we're rushing to airport, we're so relieved that the staffs were willing to help us to book the taxis even though they're quite busy. Really appreciated that and overall, it's a really friendly and comfortable hostel!

Room Tip: Room I get was on 2nd floor, nice and quiet if you would like to know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I stayed here for 2 weeks. Good location, very close to CBD, Victoria Market, and there are also many nice restaurants just around the corner. Staffs are all very helpful. And the cafe and bar provide great opportunities to make friends with backpackers from around the world.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMngr, General Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review, February 5, 2015
Thank you for your Review on TripAdvisor – It is always great to receive feedback from our valued customers. I am glad to hear you have enjoyed your time at Discovery Melbourne and we do hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Have a great Time exploring all Melbourne, Victoria and the rest of Australia has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corowa, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

There is a lot to love about discovery melbourne. Whether it's the events they hold, their very helpful staff, or their below ground club. The only negatives that come up is the size of the rooms is Very small, but that's to be expected at such a great price. Also, the roof level wasn't being used at that time, and I was a little bit upset by that, as it looked like much could be done there.
Overall, loved it, and will most likely be coming back sometime soon.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors have less noise from the below ground club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMngr, General Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review, February 5, 2015
Thank you for your Review on TripAdvisor – It is always great to receive feedback from our valued customers. I am glad to hear you have enjoyed your time at Discovery Melbourne and we do hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Have a great Time exploring all Melbourne, Victoria and the rest of Australia has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Discovery Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Melbourne

Address: 167 - 175 Franklin St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Melbourne 3.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discovery Melbourne is a large city backpackers conveniently located right in the heart of the Melbourne CBD. Enjoy a free breakfast each day between 7am - 9am, newly installed Global Gossips Wifi throughout the Entire Buidling, and if your stay with us for 14 or more consecutive nights, a FREE airport pick up from Tullamarine. (*Conditions apply.) Features include a basement bar, cafe, cinema, job & travel agencies, rooftop with BBQ's and 24 hour reception with great local staff.For travellers looking to share accommodation we have 4, 6 & 8 share dorms and also 10 - 16 share dorms for those looking for an even cheaper option. For those wanting some privacy we also have basic private double, twin & family rooms. All rooms have shared bathroom facilities, heating and linen.Our Events Program offers guests many opportunities to explore and make friends! Discover amazing street art & hidden secrets on our free walking tours & head out of the city on our free markets & beach bus tours! Our bar The New Disco Bar has cheap drink specials including Happy Hour until 8pm from Wednesday - Saturday! Great DJ's get the dance floor pumping and a huge range of events, such as Poker nights, Minute to Win it and Ladies night on a friday. If it's great coffee & food you're after, the chefs at our licensed cafe serve up delicious food 7 days a week including all day breakfast and some of the best pizzas in town! Our fantastic Melbournian staff will make you feel right at home 24/7 Our overnight security, CCTV, lockers and swipe card access will ensure you and your belongings are safe! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HostelBookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Discovery Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.