We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel I've ever stayed in!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of United Backpackers Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added United Backpackers Melbourne to your Saves list
United Backpackers Melbourne
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   250 Flinders St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Elephant Backpackers)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Limited Discount Code!
Ranked #11 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best hostel I've ever stayed in!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I chose this hostel on its fantastic trip advisor rating to begin with, and I wasn't disappointed. Insanely clean, comfortable and smack bang in the middle of the city. The tram & train station are right on the doorstep, although you can't hear it from inside. Very comfy beds, your own plug socket & light even on the top bunk. Very Friendly staff who can't help enough. Free soup & Taco nights shouldn't be missed! And the free walking tour of the city is fab! Hands down the BEST hostel I've stayed in during my 6months in Australia, I wish I could pack it in my backpack and take it with me for my future travels.

Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    66
    23
    4
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
19
104
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We loved staying here, the people were really friendly, and people make it. If you are a lone traveller there are social events everyday of the week. Down stairs the bar is cheap with events on such as pub quiz and games night with the chances of winning trips up the east coast and free bar tabs! The kitchen was nice, always clean and great place to socialise, even with the free wifi. The wifi didnt work all the time, but was free! The tv room was great when hungover. And the location was perfect able to walk anywhere and just outside was the free tram.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very good hostel, i recommand it, clean room and good areas ..
I arrive in may 2015 and it was a good period to go there !
Very good hostel, i recommand it, clean room and good areas ..
I arrive in may 2015 and it was a good period to go there !

Room Tip: Very good hostel, i recommand it, clean room and good areas .. I arrive in may 2015 and it was a goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a good time on impromptu trip to Hawks v Swans football game organised by hostel, good clear if a bit cool night, good close game, good group from hostel, good natured crowd at game, good lad who organised it, good all round really.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

too soon to discuss, only just got here, seems ok so far. very good location near to shops, all transport hubs, cbd, clubs pubs casino, football stadiums etc but i wouldn't recommend you worry about using the wifi cos they make you fill out a whole of stuff like this before you can use it, and if you want to use it early it means you don't have anything to write about!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was the first stop of my east coast tour. The hostel is really easy to get to from the airport on the airport shuttle. It's located next to Flinders Street station so it's a perfect base for all the city centre attractions including lots of lovely coffee shops and restaurants in the laneways.

The hostel is pretty big but I quite liked that as I met lots of people but if you prefer a smaller more intimate hostel then this might not be the place for you. There is also a bar in the basement which is pretty cool, serves cheap drinks and one night when I was there a band played - I think there are events most evenings.

I stayed in a 4 bed mixed dorm which was spacious, modern and clean.

No complaints about this place!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Easy to get to perfect location to walk the cOoL streets of Melbourne love this city it was great getting lost in all the streets lots to see! Helpful staff always upbeat and ready to help. I think it's worth paying a bit more for 4 bed dorm, really large kitchen area and nice TV lounge and actual bar downstairs it nice too ! I really like this hostel

Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hey!

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your feedback - we appreciate it and I'm so glad to read that you enjoyed your time with us - we reckon our 4 share dorms are definitely worth it (but our 12 shares are pretty good too!).

We really like you too - Come back soon!

Happy Travels
Jess
Operations Manager
United Backpackers Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to United Backpackers Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about United Backpackers Melbourne

Address: 250 Flinders St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Elephant Backpackers)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — United Backpackers Melbourne 2*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and find out why travellers voted United Backpackers Australia's best hostel at the Adventure Travel Awards in 2014! It's no secret we have the best location in town right opposite Flinders Street Station and only opening in 2013 we offer you brand new facilities, heaps of sweet spaces including our funky basement bar and most importantly great value for money. Our hostel is full of personality with Melbourne's laneway culture, funky decor and quirky art throughout. All this is served up with a great atmosphere, amazing staff, cool events, top notch security and the best pillows in town! Us in a nutshell: • Accommodation for 290 travellers over 3 levels • FREE Wi-Fi in common areas • Every bed has its own power-point, reading light and locker • Sparking clean bathrooms cleaned around the clock • Designer kitchen & dining room overlooking Flinders Station with ovens and heaps of equipment, hot plates and storage • Underground Chill Lounge open 24 hours • Lost & Found our cool as, Melbourne style basement bar open 7 days • Funky TV Lounge filled with beanbags & free DVD hire • 24 Reception manned with a rock star reception team of Melbourne locals • Top class security with swipe card access, lockers in all rooms & CCTV • Cool free events to show you the real Melbourne experience • Guest laundry open 24/7 • Free luggage storage We have a variety of accommodation options to choose from so whether you are looking to share a dorm from 4 to 12 beds filled with your newest friends, or to splash out on one of our private ensuite rooms, you will find it at United Backpackers! All rooms have: • Lockers • Bedside light and power point for your charging pleasure • Lots of space • High quality, comfy beds and linen • Choose between shared or ensuite bathrooms • Swipe card access • Heating & fans (private ensuite rooms have AC) • Cleaning servicing the rooms daily ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your United Backpackers Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Backpackers Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage United Backpackers Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.