We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location but noisy for outside” 3 of 5 stars
Review of United Backpackers Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added United Backpackers Melbourne to your Saves list
United Backpackers Melbourne
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   250 Flinders St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Elephant Backpackers)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Limited Discount Code!
Ranked #10 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“good location but noisy for outside”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

friendly staff, cheap drinks, funny games..good location the only thing is you can hear everything; trains, cars, music on the street, bit hard to sleep well but al in al really nice place. Rooms are clean and nice. toiletts and showers are not cleand properly. kitchen is huge, enough space for everybody. Free WIFI downstairs in the lounge.Laundry room is big and clean.
no windows on the 3th floor.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    57
    22
    4
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
18
91
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Very clean and modern hostel. Good beds, fun individual doors for each room. Safetylockers under beds and key card needed for doors and lift. Good free wifi in common areas including basement (nice big longe with many sofas/benches) and ok connection also in the big kitchen. Bar noise doesn't bother at all, a least in 3rd floor, and even the traffic noise doesn't bother inside. Free trams operate in the center and there is a tram stop right in front of the hostel for touristic tram going loop around the center. Many grocery stores right around the corner.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

I stayed here for just over 2 weeks as I was completing an internship in Melbourne. It was one of the cleanest hostels I've staying in as it is really new. The kitchen was huge with heaps of fridge and cupboard space. The only negative was that is was always really busy because it is such a popular and good hostel.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

United Backpacks is in the perfect location in Melbourne..... Laneways, cafés & awesome bars!! This hostel has a great vibe along with being quirky & fun with plenty of little hangout spaces.. Our dorm room and the facilities were clean & comfortable.. Thumbs up to the United team!!

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It's was my first experience and it was really bad. The employe of the hostel lobby are very rude and speak to you like a dog. They organised a free tacos night for the backpackers, but it was just enought for maximum 10 persons. It was very bad food also.
So i don't recommande that hostel!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Hello there,

Oh no. I'm really sorry to read that you did not have a great experience with us. Quite honestly though, I am also really surprised. We work super hard at United to ensure that all of our guests receive amazing service from our gun reception crew - in fact, our service is something we pride ourselves on, and is something that is mentioned time and time again in reviews and feedback.

I'd love to hear more about your experience so that I can address any issues with our staff directly, as what you are saying is definitely not in line with our expectations. Please feel free to contact me directly jess@unitedbackpackers.com.au

Taco and Trivia Tuesday! What a treat!! We routinely cater for up to 50 free meals and yep it's basic - but it sure is tasty...and best of all...free!

Happy travels
Jess
Operations Manager
United Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Fine for what it is. Targeted much more at a gap year / uni age, the vast majority of the guests were early twenties.

Dorms comfortable, if not exactly spacious though beds are horribly squeaky. The advertised most comfortable pillows are a complete disappointment - average at best.

Fab air con! Bathrooms inadequate for number of people and poorly thought out - so on my floor all of the toilets were in the shower rooms. Given most of the time you had to queue for a shower (usually briefly to be fair) going to the loo was a farce at peak times.

Kitchen again, not really big enough for the size of the hostel - always busy, to the extent you fell over people if you attempted to cook. Space in fridge / shelves at a premium. Not well equipped.

Bar downstairs ok. Not often busy and rather unsociable in that people stuck to their groups - the social activities didn't really encourage people to mix. Advertised free food not really worth it generally. I didn't do the mingle session they hold in the morning which may well have been better for this.

There is lots on, and the staff were all really friendly and happy to help - directions, booking tours, advice - whatever really. They bring this place above the niggles - though as per the above comments there is huge room for improvement.

In particular, noise levels rather spoilt the 'chill out' room next to the bar since it was only peaceful when the bar wasn't open. Bit different from how it's advertised!

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Hello Pentala!

Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. I'm super happy to read that there was lots you loved about your stay (like the super AC on level 3, and our incredible staff - who work around the clock to ensure that you have the best possible time in this amazing city (thanks for noticing that!).

Peak times can be tough in any hostel - we definitely have enough bathrooms and toilets for the number of guests who stay here and the kitchen (which I call the beating heart of the hostel) can get crazy during rush hour for sure.

I'm sorry that you found the bar to be a bit unsociable - we definitely work hard to create an amazing events program to help you meet new people! Free dinner is just icing on the cake :)

Thanks again for leaving your thoughts - we do appreciate it - and we strive to never stop learning, growing and improving!

Happy Travels
Jess
Operations Manager
United Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I visit melbourne during march i found its awsome hostel for bechlors and couple and grops i stay 4 night and really i enjoy stay meet difrant peoples and share biews of life location is very nive its in heart of city easy access all areas and trans station is very near mist importnt is indain restorant dowan stairs was awsome i advice young guys stay there and enjoy price is soo economical

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Oh My! What lovely things to write. Thank you!

Come back and see us again soon!

Happy Travels
Jess
Operations Manager
United Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to United Backpackers Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about United Backpackers Melbourne

Address: 250 Flinders St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Elephant Backpackers)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — United Backpackers Melbourne 2*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and find out why travellers voted United Backpackers Australia's best hostel at the Adventure Travel Awards in 2014! It's no secret we have the best location in town right opposite Flinders Street Station and only opening in 2013 we offer you brand new facilities, heaps of sweet spaces including our funky basement bar and most importantly great value for money. Our hostel is full of personality with Melbourne's laneway culture, funky decor and quirky art throughout. All this is served up with a great atmosphere, amazing staff, cool events, top notch security and the best pillows in town! Us in a nutshell: • Accommodation for 290 travellers over 3 levels • FREE Wi-Fi in common areas • Every bed has its own power-point, reading light and locker • Sparking clean bathrooms cleaned around the clock • Designer kitchen & dining room overlooking Flinders Station with ovens and heaps of equipment, hot plates and storage • Underground Chill Lounge open 24 hours • Lost & Found our cool as, Melbourne style basement bar open 7 days • Funky TV Lounge filled with beanbags & free DVD hire • 24 Reception manned with a rock star reception team of Melbourne locals • Top class security with swipe card access, lockers in all rooms & CCTV • Cool free events to show you the real Melbourne experience • Guest laundry open 24/7 • Free luggage storage We have a variety of accommodation options to choose from so whether you are looking to share a dorm from 4 to 12 beds filled with your newest friends, or to splash out on one of our private ensuite rooms, you will find it at United Backpackers! All rooms have: • Lockers • Bedside light and power point for your charging pleasure • Lots of space • High quality, comfy beds and linen • Choose between shared or ensuite bathrooms • Swipe card access • Heating & fans (private ensuite rooms have AC) • Cleaning servicing the rooms daily ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your United Backpackers Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Backpackers Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage United Backpackers Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.