We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly, great atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of United Backpackers Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added United Backpackers Melbourne to your Saves list
United Backpackers Melbourne
250 Flinders St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Elephant Backpackers) (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Maastricht, The Netherlands
1 review
“Clean, friendly, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hostel is a very good and nice place to stay. I had a great time in here. It was very clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. The bar downstairs is a good place for a drink with your roomies. Kitchen is organized very well. I stayed in a dorm for 12, that was packed but no bad feelings about this. It's situated in the middle of the city center. Good places nearby to eat cheap and also if you want to spend a bit more for an evening.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Hello there!

Wowsers! What lovely things to say. I reckon you've pointed out just about everything that we love about United Backpackers too!

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your feedback - we really appreciate it! Hopefully you will get to come back and visit us again soon.

Happy Travels
Jess
Operations Manager
United Backpackers Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    42
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
14
67
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Clean and tidy hostel. It was located in the city. I didn't use the kitchen so I can rate that but a nice hostel. They don't let you have any food or drink in the room. Our room had a bathroom too. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Hi there!

Thanks for leaving your feedback! We really appreciate it and I am so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you again the next time you are in this amazing city!

Happy Travels
Jess
Operations Manager
United Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here for 7 nights and it was brilliant, clean bathrooms, clean dorms and a clean kitchen! The social areas were lovely and big & air conned and there was always something going on in the downstairs bar. The 2 hour free guided tour around Melbourne was very helpful. Staff were great too. The only problems were the really hot rooms at night.

Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Hello!

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your feedback! We really appreciate it! Super happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us (how good is that free tour eh?).

We hope to see you again soon!

Happy travels
Jess
Operations Manager
United Backpackers Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If it wasn't for the wifi and laundry facilities being down. The wifi seemed very temperamental and it became frustrating when trying to look for jobs/accommodation so we ended up going to the library for wifi as its not accessible in you room. They offered an alternative place to do laundry which did a good job.
I imagine the rooms get very hot Jan/Feb as there is only two large fans in the rooms, but I visited in December and it wasn't a problem. Showers and toilets very clean, kitchen was also clean and large enough for all guests.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Hello there!

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We really appreciate it! I'm glad that there was lots that you loved about your stay!

We work super hard around the clock to make sure this place is kept super clean and tidy - thanks for noticing!

Good news! Our super awesome laundry is now open and accessible 24 hours a day! We are just about to install another access point on level one which should improve the stability of the wifi up there (in the meantime, the wifi in the basement is super awesome - it's our worst kept secret!)

Hopefully you will get to come back and visit us again soon (and maybe we'll get 5 stars next time :)

Happy Travels
Jess
Operations Manager
United Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We leave today from a 4 night stay in United backpackers. We had a great time, the location is absolutely brilliant, everything is on flinders street or just a few blocks behind!
We stayed in an all girls 12 bed dorm... Not enough room for the amount of bodies in the room, girls had their clothes and suitcases and backpacks everywhere... Each bed had a night light and a plug which was very handy, and a locker under the bed.
HOWEVER, there wasn't any air on in the room!!!! We experienced a couple of 40 degrees days when here and the room was unbearable! There are 2 fans on the ceiling that do nothing. The windows didn't open far enough to even get your hand out, abit of a joke by the end of our stay to be honest! My friend over heard one of the staff explaining that the only floor with aircon was the 3rd floor. Lucky them. We had to keep our door open with the bin which even then we were told we weren't aloud to do..
A well equipped kitchen, loads of storage space but still not enough... Had to ram our food in the fridges.
No wifi in the rooms, only in the public areas which was still pretty poor unless you were in the basement, the only time I seemed to get a connection.
And then probably the worst thing of all about this place, which I'm not sure everyone is actually aware about, but when showering, the sides on the cubicles are very high up, and when the shower is turned on and the water covers the black tiled floor it turns into a mirror and reflects up into the next cubicle along and basically whoever is in the next cubicle has just had there dignity lost probably without even knowing as you see them as naked as the day they were born. I will be emailing the management about this as never has this happened in all my months of travelling and never have I been so uncomfortable to use a shower! Dreadful. BEWARE SHOWERERS!

Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Hello there,

Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback, I'm glad to read that there was lots you loved about your stay! You sure can't beat this amazing location can you? And we think our bed lights and plugs are awesome too!

Yep - Melbourne sure does heat up doesn't it? And this old building can hold the heat. We don't have AC in our level one and two rooms (and we don't advertise that we do!) - only on the 3rd floor like you said - which is where we have our smaller dorms and private rooms - so they are a little pricier. We have just installed AC into all our communal spaces though which helps!

Our super awesome kitchen and dining room has plenty of storage space - but yep - it can get busy in there!

The FREE wifi is available in all the communal spaces - and like all wifi can get a little slower when it's peak time - your best bet is always the basement - where the wifi is most stable (and as a bonus, it's cooler down there too!). We are installing another access point on level one which will help as well.

Honestly, it's the first time I've heard anything about the tiles in the bathrooms! Definitely something we can look into.

Thanks again for leaving your feedback.

Happy Travels
Jess
Operations Manager
United Backpackers Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was meant to be staying one night here, but ended up extending my stay, even though I had free accommodation sorted for the rest of my time in Melbourne! The rooms are clean and well thought out with power sockets and reading lights next to every bed. The social areas are also great for meeting new people, the bar "Lost and Found" has good cheap drinks and has some form of event every night (trivia, karaoke, cheese&wine...). The location is also perfect, right next to the entrance for Flinders St Station.
Would definitely return.

Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Hey there!

Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback about your stay at United Backpackers. I am stoked to read that you enjoyed your time with us! Hopefully you will get to come back and visit us again soon!

Happy Travels
Jess
Operations Manager
United Backpackers Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Don't get me the wrong location is great and the place is kept clean and the staff are nice but as far as hostels go it's one of the worst I've stopped in . Rooms are like a sweatbox , there's no outdoor area , you cant take alcoholic drinks in even if you just want to keep them in the fridge. The ovens are an absolute pain in the a*se to use as half the time they don't work and as atmospheres go for hostels and meeting people it's non existent. Do your self a favour and book somewhere else

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Hi there,

Thanks for leaving your feedback. I'm bummed to read that we didn't meet your expectations. I'm glad that you did find some things that you enjoyed (our staff and location really can't be beat and we work super hard to make sure that the hostel is kept clean and tidy all the time - thanks for noticing!)

We are a big old hostel so yes, it can heat up in here in summer! We have just installed brand new air conditioning into our communal areas (it's great and works a treat!) - you missed it by mere days.

We don't have an outdoor area (nor do we advertise one) - but we reckon our awesome facilities make up for that - the kitchen (I hadn't heard any feedback about the ovens - I will look into that) and TV lounge on level one as well as our brand new basement chill out lounge, bar and laundry are super great!

We work super hard to ensure that everyone has a great time with us - offering heaps of free events throughout the week (walking tours, market tours and free breakfasts just to name a few) along with our nightly bar events. You can imagine that it is just not possible for us to allow people to BYO alcohol onto the property as we are a licensed venue - this would be illegal. The good news is that the bar is super cheap (what?$6 pints! that's crazy!) and has a great atmosphere :)

Happy Travels
Jess
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to United Backpackers Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about United Backpackers Melbourne

Address: 250 Flinders St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Elephant Backpackers)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and find out why travellers voted United Backpackers Australia's best hostel at the Adventure Travel Awards in 2014! It's no secret we have the best location in town right opposite Flinders Street Station and only opening in 2013 we offer you brand new facilities, heaps of sweet spaces including our funky basement bar and most importantly great value for money. Our hostel is full of personality with Melbourne's laneway culture, funky decor and quirky art throughout. All this is served up with a great atmosphere, amazing staff, cool events, top notch security and the best pillows in town! Us in a nutshell: • Accommodation for 290 travellers over 3 levels • FREE Wi-Fi in common areas • Every bed has its own power-point, reading light and locker • Sparking clean bathrooms cleaned around the clock • Designer kitchen & dining room overlooking Flinders Station with ovens and heaps of equipment, hot plates and storage • Underground Chill Lounge open 24 hours • Lost & Found our cool as, Melbourne style basement bar open 7 days • Funky TV Lounge filled with beanbags & free DVD hire • 24 Reception manned with a rock star reception team of Melbourne locals • Top class security with swipe card access, lockers in all rooms & CCTV • Cool free events to show you the real Melbourne experience • Guest laundry open 24/7 • Free luggage storage We have a variety of accommodation options to choose from so whether you are looking to share a dorm from 4 to 12 beds filled with your newest friends, or to splash out on one of our private ensuite rooms, you will find it at United Backpackers! All rooms have: • Lockers • Bedside light and power point for your charging pleasure • Lots of space • High quality, comfy beds and linen • Choose between shared or ensuite bathrooms • Swipe card access • Heating & fans (private ensuite rooms have AC) • Cleaning servicing the rooms daily ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your United Backpackers Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Backpackers Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage United Backpackers Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.