We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel in Melbourne” 5 of 5 stars
Review of United Backpackers Melbourne

Save Saved
You added United Backpackers Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
United Backpackers Melbourne
250 Flinders St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000 , Australia (Formerly Elephant Backpackers) (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 114 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
San Martino di Lupari, Veneto, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best hostel in Melbourne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

I think this is one of the best hostel I've ever stayed. Its position is perfect, just 1 minute walk to Federation square and it is in front of Flinders Street Station, so you can reach every point in the city. Hostel is huge and very clean, the kitchen is very big and can host a lot of people, and it is a good place to find other backpackers. Not many long term travellers so it is easy to meet new people and pub crawl is very good. The only drawback is that there is no bar and laundry and no breakfast included, but they are now building a new section, so after that it would be perfect. WiFi is good but it works only on the first floor (but it is good because at least you can meet other people, they say). I'd definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    26
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
7
41
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hostel is great!!! I stayed here for a week & would happily have stayed longer.
Free WiFi (only on 1st floor in TV room and kitchen) this was good though as this made people go to the social areas and chat.
Lockers in rooms - bring a padlock. So clean and new. Staff friendly and a lift in the hostel for heavy bags as there are a few floors. Not too noisy.
Security - very safe swipe card to get into rooms & floors. Storage area for luggage if you have a flight after check out time.
1 problem - bunk beds squeak like crazy!!!!!!!!!! If someone turns over in their sleep then it can wake a light sleeper.
Location is opposite Flinders street station easy to walk into the city centre or catch a tram or train. Perfect!!
I would stay here again definitely.

Room Tip: You choose top or bottom bunk. Linen provided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

location = great. next too major travel infrastructure and CBD
hotel itself = great. modern and comfortable backpacker hostel. although the double bed frames are metal, thus make noise when ever you climb up. but meh...
staff = 50/50. some are great and friendly and helpful, then the other half are outright rude. i.e. watched a girl at the front desk berate some asian guy who didnt understand what some extra bond was for. literally patronized him. and i had some drunk chick throw up multiple times on herself on the bunk below me. so i tried to help her. when the cleaning staff came they told me to stay out of it and its none of your business in a rude and condescending manner... ffs i just helped the poor girl and was showing sympathy. its not hard to say, there is nothing more you need to do to help, we will look after her. i could have been a prick and demanded a new room etc for the smell, but i was genuinely caring. basically a customer service fail...
im sure this hotel is good for partying, but i was there to visit friends so didnnt really care about that aspect... although the drunk chick on the buk below me was probably a good sign you can get loose at this joint...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

United Backpackers is very modern, with 24/7 key card access, 24/7 reception, and cream facilities. The reading light and outlet were very helpful, the kitchen is great, and the bathroom is very big! Also, extremely close to everything. This was my first hostel experience, and I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Hello! Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your feedback - we really do appreciate it. I am so glad to read that you had a great time with us. We were your first hostel? We are honored! Thanks for choosing us to share your travels with :)

Hopefully we will see you back at United one day soon.

Happy Travels
Jess
Operations Manager
United Backpackers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed three nights at the United Backpackers. The staff were very helpful, everything was super clean and they had great facilities. Flinders street is the perfect location I had no trouble walking to most sights or catching the public transport there. I would stay again and recommend to friends.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Hi there Alisha K,

Wow! What lovely things to say. We think we're pretty good too! United sure does provide the perfect location when exploring this amazing city. Right in the thick of things with a myriad of options just outside the front door! We work super hard to ensure that all out guests can get the most out of their time here (not to mention working around the clock to keep the hostel spick and span - thanks for noticing!)

Hopefully we will see you again soon!
Happy Travels
Jess
Operations Manager
United Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is my first time to stay in a hostel, glad that I chose United Backpackers. Conveniently located, 5minutes walk to the trams and just across to Flinders street train station. Lots of restaurants, shops, supermarkets nearby.

Staff and other backpackers were very nice and friendly. Rooms and bathrooms were cleaned every day. Free wifi in common areas.

Just a little noisy because I stayed on the 1st floor, which was where the kitchen was.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, 5 days ago
WOW! Your first hostel and you chose us! Thank you - what a pleasure :) We think that you sure chose the best hostel in Melbourne - you can't beat this location when visiting this great city, right in the centre of all the action.

Happy travels - come back and see us again soon!
Jess
Operations Manager
United Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My first time visiting Melbourne, stayed at United Backpackers because I got recommendation from my friend who also stayed there months before.
Got myself a 8 bed dorm room, and the room was enough for me. Its clean and comfortable. The bathroom was clean and nice as well. The kitchen which is also the common room also good.
It would be nice if the Wi-fi connection available on each floor, so you don't have to go downstairs just to check on email or need internet connection.

The location was probably the best thing about United Backpackers, whereas its across Flinders Station, one of Melbourne landmark. So its easy to find.
Room rate was also good enough for a hostel like United Backpackers. Considering it is new hostel with great location.

I'd recommend my friends to stay here if they're visiting Melbourne!

Room Tip: For your convenient, choose rooms on 1st floor where the kitchen/common room is located
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback about your stay with us. You're right you know, we reckon we have the best location in Melbourne - right in the thick of things with all the best that Melbourne has to offer right at the front door, you can hardly get closer to the action eh?! We work around the clock to keep the hostel super clean and tidy (and we love to hear that people have been saying nice things about us!)

Ahhh, wifi - We want to avoid having people stay in their rooms all day and not mingling - that's why the wifi is only available in the communal areas. We will shortly be opening some more communal space (our basement area is almost complete!) which will also have wifi access along with our brand new awesome bar and laundry facilities - Yay!

Happy Travels - hopefully you can come back and visit us again soon :)
Jess
Operations Manager
United Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to United Backpackers Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about United Backpackers Melbourne

Address: 250 Flinders St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000 , Australia (Formerly Elephant Backpackers)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 114 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come join the fun & excitement at Melbourne’s newest backpackers! Opposite Flinders Station & on the most happening laneway in town, our location is unbeatable but the vibe is even better!At United Backpackers we look after our travellers with modern, sparkling clean & funky facilities, unique experiences, fantastic staff, top notch security and the best pillows in town! Not only are we the newest and coolest hostel in Melbourne, we offer great value for money and an awesome vibe, all right in the heart of Melbourne! If you are looking for something a bit different and a whole lot of fun, then get booking!Us in a nutshell:• Accommodation for 300 superstar travellers in shared & private rooms over 3 levels • 24 Reception manned with a rock star reception team of Melbourne locals• FREE Wi-Fi in common areas • Brand new, sparking clean bathrooms cleaned around the clock• Fantastic new designer kitchen with ovens and heaps of equipment, hot plates and storage• Light & bright dining & common room with huge windows and great views • Funky TV/Chill Out Lounge with lots of cushions and free DVD hire available• Top class security with swipe card access, lockers in all rooms & CCTV • Cool free events to show you the real Melbourne experience! • A travel desk and help with jobs• Opening Early 2014 - Bar United, our funky basement bar.* Please note we do not currently have a guest laundry as this will open as pat of the basement level facilities in early 2014.ACCOMMODATION We have a variety of accommodation options to choose from so whether you are looking to share a dorm from 4 to 12 beds filled with your newest friends, or to splash out on one of our private ensuite rooms, you will find it at United Backpackers! All rooms have: • Lockers• Bedside light with power point for your charging pleasure• Lots of space• High quality beds and linen • Choose between shared or ensuite bathrooms • Swipe card access• Heating & fans (private ensuite rooms have AC)• Cleaning servicing the rooms daily ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your United Backpackers Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Backpackers Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage United Backpackers Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.