We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of United Backpackers Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added United Backpackers Melbourne to your Saves list
United Backpackers Melbourne
250 Flinders St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000 , Australia (Formerly Elephant Backpackers) (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
1 review
“A wonderful hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

I really love there, I have been Melbourne for 5 days, everything was really great, the staff, the location, the people who I met, next time when I come back to Melbourne, I will still stay this great place!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Hi there!

Wow - what lovely things to say! I'm really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us - hopefully you will get to come back and stay with us again soon!

Happy Travels
Jess
Operations Manager
United Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    33
    17
    3
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
12
58
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights and it was a great hostel. Very good location, right in the city and next to a lot. Very clean, both bathroom and rooms. Comfortable beds and fun atmosphere. The kitchen is huge and it's easy to meet people. I was traveling alone so I made friends very easily.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Hello,

Thanks for leaving your feedback - I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Hopefully we will see you back at United one day soon.

Happy Travels
Jess
Operations Manager
United Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Good impressions were made before I even arrived in Melbourne. I was trying to pick a hostel to stay in and United stood out because the staff actually care enough to read and reply to reviews!

Everything else was a bonus, and there were plenty! Activities throughout the week, a massive kitchen that's great for meeting other guests, free wifi, personal power outlets, clean (if somewhat stiff) linen, regular cleaning throughout the day... heck, I could even watch F1 in the TV room.

The staff are helpful, but they put their foot down if you try to bring outsiders in. Location wise, you can't be closer to Flinders Street Station and Degraves Street. Noise doesn't get in unless it's made by the room mates, but in the mornings the smell of fried bacon from the street sometimes does...

What's not to like? Running out of drinking water at night, only to find that the kitchen's closed. The bathrooms take a long time to dry too. Neither of these things stopped me from enjoying my stay. Thanks guys!

Room Tip: Air conditioning in the upper floors only. Bear that in mind in summer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Hi there - thanks for leaving your feedback. We do appreciate it and frankly, who doesn't enjoy reading good things about themselves! We take all feedback super seriously - even the bad stuff that occasionally pops up, it helps us continue to improve.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and all that we have to offer (I think you listed just about everything!) - we work really hard at providing an amazing Melbourne experience for all of our guests and love sharing this incredible city (but yep - we do draw the line at sharing our space with people who are not staying here - as you can imagine this is a security issue for all of our guests - luckily there are loads of great places nearby where you can take your friends!)

We hope to see you back at United one day soon (if only to enjoy the smell of bacon and coffee from the shops below...mmm I'm hungry now!)

Happy Travels
Jess
Operations Manager
United Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

I am staying here for 4 nights. The location is very2 good, i will give it 5 stars for the location, 5 stars for the bed and 5 stars also for the staff here. The staff will let you know anything you wanted to know in Melbourne, they will help you as much as they can. I Just hope the kitchen crew will be little bit strict with the kitchen users, remind the users it is not their home and they don't have their mother to wash the dishes for them, this is not fair to others. This place definitely the best place to stay.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Hello! Thank you very much for your kind words and lovely review - we do appreciate it (everyone loves to hear nice things about themselves!).

Our amazing United Crew love Melbourne - and we love sharing it with our guests and you're right our location IS incredible - right in the heart of Melbourne and all the best it has to offer.

Like you said - sometimes people do take advantage of the kitchen - leaving their mess all over the place (definitely not fair to all the people who do the right thing!) - that's why we have staff in the kitchen 7 nights a week to ensure that people are doing their dishes (though some sneaky folks always manage to get away with it!)

I am super glad that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you back at United one day soon!
Happy Travels
Jess
Operations Manager
United Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I booked 3 nights at United Backpackers and I think it was quite good.
The staff were friendly, helpful and funny :) I like them :)
I chose 12-girl-doom room and that room was almost full when I came. Everybody in my room were somehow noisy, and a bit untidy :) Rubbishes were all on my room's floor. But it was not UBs' fault, right ? :) Luckily, beds are clean and comfortable.
Kitchen is large with enough equipment for basic cooking, a bit messy, especially at about 6-8pm when everyone come back the Backpackers and have dinner :) Bathroom for girls is small but clean, maybe sometimes we need to wait for others since there are not enough spaces. There is no laundry, for me, it's fine since I bring enough clothes but if you stay there longer, it may bring little difficulty. Wifi is free in kitchen and other common areas ( not in bathroom :)) ) , and it's fast so I can eat and upload my photos taken during the day at a same time :)
For my 3-day-trip in Melbourne, I don't have any big complaint about my accommodation and really recommend others to stay in UBs :)

Room Tip: I'm sorry that I chose Terrible for Fitness centre and Swimming Pool. Actually ,there is no neit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Hello!

Thank you for leaving your thoughts about your stay at United Backpackers - we're glad you enjoyed your time here! I think we have the best staff in the business here at United - I'm glad you liked them too!

Yep -sometimes we can't control how tidy people are in the dorm rooms (though we try!) or make people do their dishes - though we do have staff in the kitchen from 8pm every night to try to ensure that this is getting done.

Our laundry room is currently being built in our basement - along with our brand new bar and extra communal space - I hope you get to come back and see us again soon!

Happy Travels
Jess
Operations Manager
United Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

Great staff. Great environment. Amenities are solid, location is best. Free wifi in the common areas -- the only downside to the hostel is that there's no bar there (currently in the works though!) and the wifi doesn't work in the rooms. Otherwise, awesome experience.

Stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Wow! What lovely things to say - thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts - it's much appreciated.

Don't worry! The bar is on its way - we hope to have it up and running very soon - along with our brand new laundry facilities and extra communal space.

Hopefully we will see you again soon
Happy Travels
Jess
Operations Manager
United Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I booked 3 nights at United Backpackers and it was a very good experience. Good value for money, very friendly staff, and very clean rooms and amazing bathroom.
There is a light and power for each bed so you don't have to look for where to plug your phone or your laptop. Very comfy pillows and bed.
The location is also great, very close to Federation Square and everything.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Hello!

Thanks for leaving your thoughts on your stay at United Backpackers we're glad that you enjoyed your stay!

How good are those bed lights and power points!?! No more searching for the elusive power that can be such a problem in hostels eh? Thanks for noticing how hard we work to keep the building super clean - we have an amazing clean crew who work around the clock to do so.

Hopefully we will see you again soon!
Happy Travels
Jess
Operations Manager
United Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to United Backpackers Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about United Backpackers Melbourne

Address: 250 Flinders St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000 , Australia (Formerly Elephant Backpackers)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come join the fun & excitement at Melbourne’s newest backpackers! Opposite Flinders Station & on the most happening laneway in town, our location is unbeatable but the vibe is even better!At United Backpackers we look after our travellers with modern, sparkling clean & funky facilities, unique experiences, fantastic staff, top notch security and the best pillows in town! Not only are we the newest and coolest hostel in Melbourne, we offer great value for money and an awesome vibe, all right in the heart of Melbourne! If you are looking for something a bit different and a whole lot of fun, then get booking!Us in a nutshell:• Accommodation for 300 superstar travellers in shared & private rooms over 3 levels • 24 Reception manned with a rock star reception team of Melbourne locals• FREE Wi-Fi in common areas • Brand new, sparking clean bathrooms cleaned around the clock• Fantastic new designer kitchen with ovens and heaps of equipment, hot plates and storage• Light & bright dining & common room with huge windows and great views • Funky TV/Chill Out Lounge with lots of cushions and free DVD hire available• Top class security with swipe card access, lockers in all rooms & CCTV • Cool free events to show you the real Melbourne experience! • A travel desk and help with jobs• Opening Early 2014 - Bar United, our funky basement bar.* Please note we do not currently have a guest laundry as this will open as pat of the basement level facilities in early 2014.ACCOMMODATION We have a variety of accommodation options to choose from so whether you are looking to share a dorm from 4 to 12 beds filled with your newest friends, or to splash out on one of our private ensuite rooms, you will find it at United Backpackers! All rooms have: • Lockers• Bedside light with power point for your charging pleasure• Lots of space• High quality beds and linen • Choose between shared or ensuite bathrooms • Swipe card access• Heating & fans (private ensuite rooms have AC)• Cleaning servicing the rooms daily ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your United Backpackers Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Backpackers Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage United Backpackers Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.