We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hostel, good value for money and very clean!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of United Backpackers Melbourne

Save Saved
You added United Backpackers Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com HostelBookers.com
and 1 more site!
United Backpackers Melbourne
250 Flinders St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000 , Australia (Formerly Elephant Backpackers) (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good hostel, good value for money and very clean!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

A great hostel for backpackers or people spending a few nights in the city.
Good location, just over the road from flinders station, this does cause I little bit of noise disturbance if you get a room on the front but nothing terrible.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.
The hostel was very clean, rooms immaculate. All beds have a plug socket and reading light which is really helpful for the modern day traveller. Lockers under beds are also provided. The kitchen was a good size and lots of storage shelves and fridges. Drinking is allowed in the kitchen until 12am and so it can get a bit crowded and noisy in there in the evenings but I great place to meet new friends.
There was no laundry which was a negative for me but apparently they are in the process of having one fitted.
Overall a great hostel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, today
Hi there,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We love hearing good things about ourselves (who doesn't!).

We think we are the best located hostel in the city - smack bang in the middle of all the great things this city has to offer. Our awesome clean team work around the clock to keep the hostel spick and span - thanks for noticing! And just quietly - I think we have the best staff in the business!

Our laundry room is under construction and hopefully will be up and running soon. In the meantime we have access to a laundry just meters away.

We hope to see you back at United soon!
Happy Travels
Jess
United Backpackers Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    15
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
7
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Having stayed at many hostels around the world this one is best for exploring Melbourne as everything is at your finger tips.

Pros:
Friendly staff
Opposite main station and tram stop
Near attractions
Very clean
Good sized locker, bring your padlock
Near Coles supermarket
Big kitchen
Lots of clean bathrooms
Comfy pillow
Personal light and powerpoint
Shelves in ensuite to put shower stuff
Secure card access
Elevator
Air conditioning on level 3 rooms
Free luggage storage
Sky bus drop you off a few minutes from the hostel

Small cons:
Wash basin in ensuite was very small, but at least soap was provided
Lots of fresh out of uni and school backpackers which is what you'd expect of course, but if you're a few years older it's hard to meet people on your wavelength
No breakfast

Keep it up!

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, today
Hi Mister_Bump (great name!)

Thank you very much for you kind words and taking the time to leave your feedback. It's much appreciated! We love this hostel and this city and really enjoy sharing it with all of our guests.

You're right - there is lots to love (I think you listed almost everything!) We hope to see you back at United the next time you're in Melbourne.

Safe Travels
Jess
Operations Manager
United Backpackers Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Big rooms (ours had an ensuite) , lovely old building with high ceilings , good price and in a top location. Relatively clean by backpackers standard and very nice staff to boot. Would def stay again if we come back to melbourne.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, today
Hey Cindy!

Thanks so much for leaving your feedback and your kind words. I'm super glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you back at United Backpackers someday soon!

Happy Travels
Jess
Operations Manager
United Backpackers Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked an private ensuite room, it's better than I expect. Very cosy and comfortable, love sleeping in it. It's clean but they don't clean thoroughly once you are staying in it. They just clear the dustbins. Probably clear the hairs in ur shower. It's actually good enough but if they can vacuum will be good.. I think some rooms they do. They don't have hair dryer, so if you are like me who has first world problem which was quoted by the staff there, remember to bring your own. If you are expecting to make friends there you can forget it, as ppl there usual in a group. They are not that friendly enough to check you out and befriend you. Or maybe because I'm Asian that's why? Or I look unfriendly haha? Location are perfect! Just right opp flinders street station! Very convenience! Overall I love my stay despite not able to make new frds but that's alright I guess.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for 2 weeks in a 6 person dorm. The hostel is the nicest hostel I've ever stayed in by far in the best location in the city. It is a hostel and you're paying less than $30/night so obviously it's not going to be like a 5 star hotel, which I think some people forget when staying in a hostel (especially tripadvisor people)! They have events like pub crawls, trivia nights and walking tours. I highly recommend the walking tour. Mike from the front desk was a killer pub crawl leader, super fun and personable. The only major downside is that they have limited air con. If you're coming during their summer months, I straight up don't recommend this place. The first night I was there it was 32 degrees that day and there were 5 other people in my room and we were cooking. I couldn't imagine having no AC when it gets to 45. nope. It's also very loud at night in the rooms from the noise from the streets. I feel like there were a lot of long term people there, which gave it a really clique-y vibe, but that honestly didn't phase me at all. Overall, if it's not really hot outside, stay here. It's fun, cheap, great location, smoothly run and clean.

Room Tip: The 6 bed was perfect. It's a bigger room, less clustered than the terrifying 12-bed and easier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, today
Hello!

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback! i'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay and there was lots you loved - we think we're pretty good too! I love to hear great feedback on our awesome staff - and Mike is definitely one of the best!

You're sure right about our location - smack bang in the middle of the best that Melbourne has to offer and yes, sometimes the street can get a little noisy. That's the price you pay for this location eh!?

We hope to see you back at United someday soon!
Safe Travels
Jess
Operations Manager
United Backpackers Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a good hostel for sure. It's clean, pretty spacious, air con in the rooms, an alright size kitchen, free wifi, a lift, nice staff, good sized single bathrooms with shower and toilet (can get really dirty with pubes and hairs all over the sink and floor but it's gonna so just wear flip flops in the shower). The only thing I feel it is lacking is atmosphere, and it really is lacking in it... They have free activities in the week but I've not met anyone to do it with because everyone is quite clichy and always go out early rather than drink in the kitchen... Even thought you can drink in here until 12am. I think when the bar is finished downstairs it will be a great place to stay! I'm not extending my stay this time though, maybe I'll come back when the bars done!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, today
Hello there,

Thanks for leaving your thoughts about your stay. I'm so glad to hear there was much you loved! I especially love hearing about the nice staff! I think we have the best in the business here at United and we like to go out of our way to make your stay as enjoyable as possible, so I'm sorry to hear that you felt it was hard to meet people. Like you said we have loads of free activities every week - everything from walking tours to pub crawls to free comedy nights, all events that you should definitely go on and we guarantee you'll meet people that way!

Our basement is, as you know under construction, and there are big plans for the space - stay tuned!

We hope to see you back one day soon
Safe Travels
Jess
Operations Manager
United Backpackers Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hostel was definitely the cleanest I've ever seen. It's brand new (I think it just opened a few months ago) and all the rooms/common areas are super modern. The location is perfect, right in the city CBD next to Federation Square. Easy access to all transportation (directly opposite Flinders Street train station and the free tram around the city as well as other paid trams). Feels very safe & secure. It's a pretty social hostel - many people hang out in the TV room (which has lots of beanbags, super cool) and people enjoy drinking in the kitchen at night. The one downside is that people can get pretty loud, since the kitchen closes at midnight, it never really disrupts sleep unless you tend to go to sleep pretty early. There's free wifi, which is really nice, but it doesn't work too well when everyone's on it (mostly in the evenings). Overall United Backpackers is a really nice & clean hostel with friendly people and a great location - would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Some rooms have A/C, but they're a bit more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hi Christina W!

Thanks so much for your kind words and taking the time to leave your feedback - we love hearing about it when people enjoy United as much as we do!

Our amazing clean team work around the clock to keep the hostel super clean and tidy (seriously there is someone here almost 24 hours a day!) and we work hard to create a fun and sociable atmosphere by hosting lots of free events throughout the week (and super comfortable if you do just want to chill in a beanbag)! Our amazing location makes it super easy to get out and around the city - we're right in the thick of things eh? Yep the wifi does struggle a little at peak times - and we are working on ways to improve this as I type!

We'd love to see you back here sometime soon!
Happy Travels
Jess
Operations Manager
United Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to United Backpackers Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about United Backpackers Melbourne

Also Known As:
Elephant Backpackers Hotel Melbourne
Elephant Backpackers Hotel
Elephant Backpackers
Address: 250 Flinders St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000 , Australia (Formerly Elephant Backpackers)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 101 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come join the fun & excitement at Melbourne’s newest backpackers! Opposite Flinders Station & on the most happening laneway in town, our location is unbeatable but the vibe is even better!At United Backpackers we look after our travellers with modern, sparkling clean & funky facilities, unique experiences, fantastic staff, top notch security and the best pillows in town! Not only are we the newest and coolest hostel in Melbourne, we offer great value for money and an awesome vibe, all right in the heart of Melbourne! If you are looking for something a bit different and a whole lot of fun, then get booking!Us in a nutshell:• Accommodation for 300 superstar travellers in shared & private rooms over 3 levels • 24 Reception manned with a rock star reception team of Melbourne locals• FREE Wi-Fi in common areas • Brand new, sparking clean bathrooms cleaned around the clock• Fantastic new designer kitchen with ovens and heaps of equipment, hot plates and storage• Light & bright dining & common room with huge windows and great views • Funky TV/Chill Out Lounge with lots of cushions and free DVD hire available• Top class security with swipe card access, lockers in all rooms & CCTV • Cool free events to show you the real Melbourne experience! • A travel desk and help with jobs• Opening Early 2014 - Bar United, our funky basement bar.* Please note we do not currently have a guest laundry as this will open as pat of the basement level facilities in early 2014.ACCOMMODATION We have a variety of accommodation options to choose from so whether you are looking to share a dorm from 4 to 12 beds filled with your newest friends, or to splash out on one of our private ensuite rooms, you will find it at United Backpackers! All rooms have: • Lockers• Bedside light with power point for your charging pleasure• Lots of space• High quality beds and linen • Choose between shared or ensuite bathrooms • Swipe card access• Heating & fans (private ensuite rooms have AC)• Cleaning servicing the rooms daily ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your United Backpackers Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage United Backpackers Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.