We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the worst ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Nomads All Nations Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Nomads All Nations Hostel to your Saves list
Nomads All Nations Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   2 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Melbourne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“the worst ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

nomads terrible what has happened here. bed bugs, noisy and rough as. will never recoment this hostel to anyone. on a rough street in heart of city near the strip clubs sleep didnt really happen partys in the hall way staff who did nothing at all.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    18
    24
    24
    50
See reviews for
Families
0
11
48
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012 via mobile

I booked this place because of the fab location, but that's basically all this hostel has to offer. The place is very run down and the rooms smell horribly.
After we checked in and went to our room there seemed to be no available beds. So I went back downstairs to tell reception. We got moved to another room. Only after the Staff moved some clothes and freed up the beds though. I got woken up in the middle of the night by a fellow backpacker who told me that I'm sleeping in his bed!!! Quite a bad experience.
Also the facilities were not clean at all.
Wouldn't stay here ever again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surfers paradise
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

monster size place, prices unusally high, staff arrogant and bed bugs galore! this property has actaully turned me off nomads. luckily there's always nice travelers to be found in big places, not counting the staff

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here over the weekend, we didn't really know what we were in for with all the reviews but it was really good. Great friendly people, great location, the bathrooms and showers were cleaned everyday! The bar downstairs had great drink specials. I wouldn't stay here for a long period of time but a couple of nights is fine!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Everything about this hostel was terrible. There were doors hanging off their hinges, only one toilet out of 8 was in working order. It was noisy with people drinking and singing outside peoples bedrooms until 5am and the staff did nothing to stop this. The bunk beds had no ladders so bad luck if you were on the top bunk, the beds also squeeked so bad that you woke up everytime someone moved. It was dark, dirty and cramped and the staff on more than one occasion gave us wrong information regarding trams or anything else we wanted to know. They also don't give refunds, probably because if they did everyone would request one!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

chose this hostel off the free beer at check-in it states on their advert in airport b/c looked and cost the same as other hostels advertising at airport but with this extra perk. when arrived, they dont do free one beer anymore and havent for a while. this was first let down. on top of that, bathrooms were dirty, wooden floors very loud and room smelled. the location is great right next to southern cross station if your only staying one night and have to get up early to catch a bus or train, but i wouldnt advise staying there for multiple days. they should change their advert at airport.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Penang
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

My friend and I stayed in a twin room on the top floor. When we first opened the door, we were surprised to see an empty room with two bunk bed and a heater only, we got new sheets and pillow case, which is good. I personally love the room because it reminds me of the apartment where Carrie Bradshaw stays in "Sex and the City" minus all other amenities. It has the best location for public transport. The City Tram circles station is just a couple of steps away, and it is within walking distance to South Bank, Southern Cross Station and even Federation Square. We didn't interact much with others in the kitchen area or the staff at the reception, but I find the people there are generally very nice :)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nomads All Nations Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads All Nations Hostel

Address: 2 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nomads All Nations Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Nomads All Nations Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nomads All Nations Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.