We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location... not so great bathrooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra 100 Exhibition

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra 100 Exhibition to your Saves list
Mantra 100 Exhibition
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Exhibition Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Pacific International Apartments)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Gympie, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“great location... not so great bathrooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

GREAT LOCATION... walking distance to the CBD, MCG and pretty much every attraction in the city centre!! though we booked 2 rooms for a group of 8 (2 adults 2 kids / 3 adults 1 kid). when we arrived there was only 2 queen beds in each room. I asked reception and the lady replied rudely that they were fully booked there was nothing she could do except send sheets up for the sofa bed. (I'm not sure why you would assign rooms with only queen beds when there was kids and adults??) The rooms were relatively clean.. except the bathroom!! White tiles show up EVERYTHING including where hasn't been cleaned!! There was mould and soap scum everywhere, particularly in the corners and around the taps! There was also marks all over the walls in the bedrooms, one room was missing the washing machine and had about 5w light globes in the bedroom (we had to use the torch on our phone to see!!!!)

Overall it was a nice hotel, though for the price we paid I expected better attention to detail on the small things!! The staff (bar one) where really friendly and helpful!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    160
    83
    26
    19
See reviews for
81
107
19
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ROCKHAMPTON
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed 10 days in Melbourne after Christmas. We flew out the day after boxing day and had a great time. The Mantra was close to all the places that we wanted to go or to the tram and the train station. The weather was even great for Melbourne. The staff were just wonderful and very friendly and were a great help when we asked them about anything.

Room Tip: We were in the front appartment on the 7th floor and we didn't have any noise but the view was o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

The location on exhibition st was excellent, you could walk around the city and easy reach to tram, Finders station etc. the room was spacious but I was over looked by an office floor. Needless to say I had to keep the curtains closed which made it dark. The main room lighting was at a low level. I thought that a few lamps around would have made it feel more homely.
Comfy bed and good size bathroom, and the washing machine was very useful. They have two hot plates but no sign of a saucepan! Compared to other serviced apartments I have stayed in around Australia this was the worst and needs upgrading to get 5stars from me.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I purchased a night at this Mantra when they had a special promotion and was very excited to get a deal at $109.

Not sure about the rest of the hotel but our room over looked the bins (not the real concern) and was adjacent to lifts, a/c, and seemingly every other moveable and noisy component of the hotel.

If the cheaper price only entitles the guest to a room where sleep is, at best, broken by the noise levels then please let the consumer know at time of purchase.

Mantra is a good chain but Room 101 is not what Pat Rafter is advertising - it shares more in common with George Orwell and 1984.

Room Tip: Avoid 101 at all cost!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantra100, General Manager at Mantra 100 Exhibition, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Family Holiday Sydney,

Thank you for providing feedback about your recent visit with us. I am sorry to hear you were disturbed by unacceptable levels of noise during your stay. I apologize for this and I will investigate the sources as outlined and will see what corrective action can be taken to fix the situation. If you would like to contact me at the hotel I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in more detail.
Thanks for your comments and I hope to hear from you soon.

Kind Regards,

Tim Young
Hotel Manager
Mantra 100 Exhibition
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Stephens, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We booked three nights at a fantastic rate for a Melbourne CBD property. Stayed in a one bedroom apartment and it was very spacious for the two of us with everything we needed. While we didn't need to do any cooking and spent very little time in the room, it was cleaned beautifully each day and the shower was good and the bed comfortable. Can't beat the location, we walked to a number of theatres during the Comedy Festival. Close to trams (including the City Circle Tram) and we walked to Chinatown, Lonsdale Greek for dinner and Hardware Lane for breakfast. Taxi rank also close by if needed. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Tired apartment, quite small, basic furnishing, staff on check in extremely disinterested at every stage (and remained disinterested even when my 12 year old daughter was missing briefly- that's a different story with thankfully a happy ending!). Parking is off site, inconvenient and an additional expensive expense.
It is a great location, but hey it's the CBD so there is plenty choice

Room Tip: Mantra on the Park, at the other end of Exhibition Street, far better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantra100, General Manager at Mantra 100 Exhibition, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear KatyMack,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at Mantra 100 Exhibition. I am sorry to hear that you found our reception staff to be "disinterested" at every stage. Please except my apologies for this. I have shared your comment with all my staff and I can assure you that this is not the service we wish to provide our customers. I appreciate your feedback on other aspects of your stay and we hope you will visit us again to experience the high level of service I know we can provide.

Kind regards,

Tim Young
Hotel Manager
Mantra 100 Exhibition
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We chose this accommodation in Melbourne because it was a "special" on an Accommodation Website. While the building isn't all that new, all the areas we went through had been extensively refurbished in recent years - except the lifts. The rooms are very modern looking, the facilities work well and nothing was broken. The staff were friendly and efficient.

Exhibition Street doesn't have trams on the street but there are trams on most surrounding streets, the free City Circle tram and trains are also in easy walking distance - there is even an IGA Supermarket a couple of blocks away (pointed out by the staff).

The only downsides are the obscene price of the wifi in the rooms and the availability of utensils for cooking. It is pointless having convention/microwave units in the room without any microwave safe cooking containers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra 100 Exhibition? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra 100 Exhibition

Address: 100 Exhibition Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Pacific International Apartments)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#77 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra 100 Exhibition 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting spacious, contemporary designed one and two bedroom apartments, Mantra 100 Exhibition offers guests maximum comfort in the heart of Melbourne's cosmopolitan CBD. Surrounded by Melbourne's famous fashion boutiques, theatres and restaurants, Mantra 100 Exhibition offers 87 modern apartments with quick and easy access to popular entertainment and sporting venues. The MCG, Rod Laver Arena and Federation Square are just a few. Mantra 100 Exhibition's modern apartments are all stylishly furnished and featuring air-conditioning, LCD Televisions with digital channels and Foxtel stations, stereo's with IPod docking stations and CD player, kitchenette, laundry facilities, lounge and dining areas. Mantra 100 Exhibition Street delivers contemporary accommodation in the heart of Melbourne, ideal for business travelers, holiday makers, short-term and long-term guests. For your comfort the hotel and all apartments at Mantra 100 Exhibition Street are strictly non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Mantra 100 Exhibition reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra 100 Exhibition Melbourne
Mantra 100 Exhibition Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra 100 Exhibition, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.