We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apartments with an Office Feel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra 100 Exhibition

Save Saved
You added Mantra 100 Exhibition to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra 100 Exhibition
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Exhibition Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Pacific International Apartments)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Apartments with an Office Feel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2008

Our family of 2 adults and 3 young children stayed here for 3 nights in a 2 br apartment during the Australian Open Tennis. We booked about 10 days ahead and secured a room for $309/night, the hotel matching an advertised internet rate.
The location is great for the tennis, about 10 min. walk at max. Chinatown, trams, Bourke Street Mall, Federation Square all an easy walk.
On the PLUS SIDE of the apartments themselves, they were quite roomy,clean,secure. We had 2 queen beds(both comfy) and a fold-out sofa plus kitchenette,washing machine/dryer combined,2 small tv's and plenty of hangers and cupboard space.You get a choice of 5 different type of pillow!
On the DOWNSIDE, the apartments are converted office space and lack character,despite the odd picture and occasional attempt at decor. I kept saying, "I feel like I'm sleeping at the office"(not that I ever have!). The corridors are narrow and despite there being 10 floors, lifts only go to the 9th. Needless to say, we were on the 10th floor and had to take the stairs the final floor.The corridors were not air conditioned and the 1 air conditioner in the living room of our apartment struggled to keep us cool. The garbage trucks at the rear of the building woke us each morning at 4.30a.m(ask for a room facing the street instead)......plus,you need a degree to operate the dryer component of the washer/dryer. Only 1 toilet/bathroom for 5 people also had its shortcomings.
Would I stay here again? Possibly, especially for the tennis due to the easy walk. I was a little disappointed in the whole building's ambience but service overall was good, the price was fair and it was clean. Happy travels!!

  • Liked — Proximity to Tennis and CBD
  • Disliked — Office ambience/lack of character
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    118
    65
    22
    17
See reviews for
61
84
16
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2008

My other half and I spent four nights at this hotel in August and while it was perfectly nice, we felt that the building and staff were a little clinical and sterile, making us feel one of a million visitors, rather than one in a million! We were probably spoiled having just left the most friendly accomodation ever in Cairns but still, the staff were functional but not really friendly. The room was clean and tidy but not especially comfortable or welcoming.

Good points: nice comfortable bed, lovely big windows so plenty of light and a decent enough view. Room service (from an outside catering company) was brilliant, delicious food and very good value. I'd highly recommend this.

Bad points: clinical staff, minimalist style decor, no bath plug (despite asking for one every day for four days) and badly designed shower/bath combo leading to wet floor. Also the location of the hotel, while handy for Flinders Station etc was a bit isolated, especially in the evening when we found we had to walk quite a distance to get something to eat.

  • Liked — very quiet, spacious room, good room service
  • Disliked — clinical staff and surroundings, more suited to business travellers than tourists.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2007

I had just returned from a week's stay at Melbourne. I booked in to Pacific Intl on Exhibition for its proximity to CBD and Chinatown.

I was travelling with a big group of 10 pax, which included old folks and young kids (all 3 generations!) and had booked 2 2-bedroom apartments, plus it was crucial to get both the rooms situation as close as possible to each other.

I was lucky because the hotel obliged and gave us the rooms on the same floor and opposite each other. So we just left the rooms open and the kids can run between each of the rooms.

We had requested for extra towels prior to check in which was there when we checked in. The toiletries when we checked in was not enough for everyone, and when I told the check-in counter about it and just gave my room number, they even delivered it to the other room!

The quality of the beds were not bad, and we had a kitchen to work with. The sofa a bit worn, but it was still functional as a sofa bed. And the staff was nice enough to provide additional sheets for the sofa bed.

On the downside, the design of the toilets especially the bath was less than optimal as there was no shower door and just a glass pane which also meant a lot of splashing water during the shower and subsequently a wet floor.

The bathtub could also use some non-slip stickies as my parents plus kids were slipping and sliding on the bath tube, which was fun for the kids but not so for the old fogies.

Then there was the carpark. Pitifully small, and I had a hard time parking my tarago MPV. The ride down the car elevator was fun, but I had a hard time looking for the key slot on the road.

And it's proximity was lovely. A quick stroll to Chinatown for yum cha, and also lots of restaurants and shopping near by.

Loved it, and will be back the next time if we go visiting melbourne again, provided they keep up their standards.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, location, quality of furnishing, kitchenette
  • Disliked — Bath area, parking
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2007

I stayed at the Pacific International for one night while travelling on business. After spending much longer stints in 'cosy' hotel rooms this place was a welcome relief. I stayed in a one bedroom apartment on the first floor facing Exhibition St. The apartment was HUGE. The living area could be closed off from the bedroom and the bathroom was separated by a hallway. The kitchen was well equipped and all the amenities were comfortable. The apartment had really big opening windows which makes a nice change from constant A/C. Despite being on the first floor I heard no traffic noise. The location is brilliant... close walking distance to Flinders St train station, Federation Square, shopping, Southbank etc etc... I will definitely be staying here next time I'm in Melbourne.

  • Liked — Spacious and fully self-contained. Cheap room service menu!!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2007

My husband and I did a three week tour of Australia and stayed at the apartments for a week, while visiting Melbourne.

Our room was on the fourth floor and looking out of the back of the building on to office blocks. This isn't the place to stay if you want a great view, but if you want to be conveniently located to all attractions and want clean, comfortable accommodation then book now.

The apartment was a great size. The kitchenette was fully equipped with a washing machine, fridge, microwave/oven, toaster, kettle etc. It was very handy to be able to cook some nights, instead of going out. The lounge had a TV, dining table and chairs, small sofa and an armchair. The bed was firm but very comfortable and you didn't get the impression that loads of others had slept on it before you.

The apartment was serviced every day with new towels etc, and they even did our washing up, which was excellent. Only one small dig was that the floor didn't appear to be vacuumed often when we were there. Also there was one day when we weren't left towels but we called to the front desk and what seemed like seconds later towels arrived, so no problems there.

We found we were able to walk to most attractions from where we were and if we wanted to go further afield there was a free tourist shuttle stop just up the road which would take you around the city. A little further away there was a free tram stop too, which took a slightly different route to the bus. Very handy. There were leaflets with load of information in the foyer to the Pacific and the reception staff were always very helpful if we needed some advice.

Would definately recommend going to the Rialto Tower for the most amazing views of the city. Also southbank by the river is the best place for eating out and drinking, as there is lots of choice and great views of the city by night. I wouldn't recommend the river cruises. It was the biggest waste of money. It is very short with little commentary of what you are looking at on the banks - big disappointment.

I would definately use this accommodation again and would recommend it to anyone who is travelling on a budget but doesn't want to stay in youth hostels.

  • Liked — Convenience to the city and cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing bad to say
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, NSW, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2007

We arrived at around 10.30am and were kindly allowed to check in immediately upon arrival. The rooms are plain but contemporary and comfortable. Furnishings are of an average or standard quality. As with most apartment style accomodation, the space is terrific and makes the idea of a small hotel room unappealing. At Pacific International on Exhibition, the lounge room is all glass at one end, overlooking Exhibition Street. The internal bedroom is separated from the living space by a part glass partition and sliding door. The bathroom is large, but poorly designed with a shower over the bath and no hand towel rack adjacent to the basin. Speaking of design, there was a lot of white noise in our room from the plumbing and ventilation systems in the building. There were the usual niceties including a small breakfast pack, cooking utensils etc. If you like to self-cater, the kitchen would be challenging. However if you like to prepare breakfasts and/or lunches then it is ideal. There is no mini bar, which I find appealing. In this particular apartment the laundry had been removed. This posed no problem for me as my stay was only for two days, however others may expect a laundry and be disappointed. On the plus side there was pay TV and a small stereo. This proved to be a problem for our neighbours who played 'doof doof' music for some time until we complained to reception. The complaint was dealt with quickly and effectively with management reporting back to us what action they had taken and asking us to keep them informed if the situation did not improve. Top marks for this. Room service too was good and prompt. I surmised that the food is pre-prepared and frozen, however it was very tasty and reasonably priced. Our room was serviced, bed made and dishes washed. All of this was good although I felt that the house-keeping was just good enough and that the property did not sparkle. For example there was still construction dust or similar in the kitchen cupboards, windows were not clean, wardrobe door tracks dirty... that sort of thing. The things that matter were clean, but it could be better. In summary, this accomodation is well situated and good value. The staff were all friendly and efficient. I have stayed at numerous other establishments in Melbourne and have no hesitation in saying that this is one of the better ones. Recommended.

  • Liked — Space, security and location
  • Disliked — Didn't quite sparkle
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland NZ
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2007

We chose Pacific apartments on Exhibition on the location and also based on the previous reviews.
We chose a one bedroom and was satisfied with the space and pleased with the large window that let in lots of natural light.
The room was fairly clean although it looked a little tired in places.
The room didn't have much atmosphere and felt quite sterile however we found it to be quiet at night and the queen size bed comfortable.
Setting up the broadband access was a tad confusing and the online help spoke to my wife like she was an idiot.
We found the reception staff helpful but not particularly friendly.
The bonus was the location, close to Swanston St and all those lovely arcades, China Town is also nearby and various small minimarkets.

  • Liked — Great location, reasonable price
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mantra 100 Exhibition? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra 100 Exhibition

Address: 100 Exhibition Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Pacific International Apartments)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#80 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra 100 Exhibition 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Mantra 100 Exhibition reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra 100 Exhibition Melbourne
Mantra 100 Exhibition Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra 100 Exhibition, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.