We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable refit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra 100 Exhibition

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra 100 Exhibition to your Saves list
Mantra 100 Exhibition
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Exhibition Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Pacific International Apartments)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Reasonable refit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Mantra 100 Exhibition is a refit of what was, presumably, an old office building. It's not bad; certainly comfortable, but its age is showing.
Apart from filthy windows (and I don't see how it would even be possible to clean them), the place was spotless. The room was also very large, which is a bonus.
Although I was travelling for business on this occasion, school holidays meant I had my ten year old daughter with me. Giving her the main bed, I reluctantly accepted a sofa bed, and was pleasantly surprised at how comfortable it was.
One pain was the television remote. When will someone figure out a way to make hotel remotes work properly? Most of them are bad, but this one was almost useless. It took a lot of persistence to get it to do anything!
I was also annoyed at the lack of consistency between the stated policy of the hotel around towels. Despite following the instructions to 'hang your towel on the rail' if you don't want it changed, housekeeping nonetheless thought it was necessary to give us three fresh towels despite only getting one use out of the two we had to start with! And like most hotels, they're too lazy to provide a recycling bin, so I was left with that guilty feeling of leaving my recyclables next to the garbage bin knowing they'd go to landfill...
The kitchen is well-equipped, and although we only stayed two nights, I was surprised to see there was a washing machine for longer stays, so the room would be very comfortable for a week.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantra100, Manager at Mantra 100 Exhibition, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Dear Trevar,

Thanks for your review and taking the time to provide some useful feedback. I was please to hear you found our new sofa beds comfortable, our rooms spacious and that cleaning was up to standard.

I appreciate your comments about some of our sort comings. We have booked the window washers and our maintenance crew have addressed the remote issue. I will be reminding our housekeeping department about the towels.

I hope we get a chance to welcome you back to Mantra 100 in the future.

Kind regards,
Tim Young
Hotel Manager
Mantra 100 Exhibition
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    160
    83
    26
    19
See reviews for
81
107
19
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed in a 1 brm apt overlooking Exhibition st. The whole place has been recently renovated & was super clean (i'm very fussy about that!). Our room had plenty of space for us and a portacot, and the staff were great- very friendly and accommodating, negotiating a good deal for us on the rate for a 5 night stay.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantra100, General Manager at Mantra 100 Exhibition, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Dear ESchmid,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel in such a positive light. As a team we appreciate your comments and we are glad you enjoyed our freshly renovated rooms. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Tim Young
Hotel Manager
Mantra 100 Exhibition
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

My family from Newcastle booked five rooms in October 2011. The rooms were spacous and comfortable. The lane was a bit noisy in the wee hours but the service, particularly from Andre was faultless. Best reception manager ever experienced. Great place, great holiday. Close to MCG, Lygon Street & shopping. It was unanimous. Cant wait to return. Make sure you keep Andre.

Room Tip: Walk a lot and have a few Carlton Draughts and it doesnt matter. Also dont waste money on airport t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantra100, General Manager at Mantra 100 Exhibition, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Dear Joe D,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We appreciate the positive review and comments. All my staff work hard to provide a high level of service and I am pleased to hear that Andre helped to make you stay special. I am glad to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Tim Young
Hotel Manager
Mantra 100 Exhibition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

This was a very comfortable overnight stay but I wished I could have stayed longer. The room was large and more like a modern apparrment with a kitchen and laundry facilities in the room. Lovely bathroom and great shower. The reception was very helpful and accommodated my 1am arrival after flight delays. I will be going back.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantra100, General Manager at Mantra 100 Exhibition, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
Dear MarieS1,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and provide such positive feedback. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel to be comfortable. Thank you also for your comments about our Reception staff they really do appreciated it. We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Tim Young
Hotel Manager
Mantra 100 Exhibition
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Do not stay here as the noise and unti social behavior that goes on from dark until daylight in the lane way at the rear is horrendous and the staff of this Motel are powerless to do anything other than lock the front door at 9pm to keep the marauding youths out of their property. No sleep had by family of 5 for the two nights that we stayed there. We are never going back and suggest that anyone else avoids this property like the plague. Discraceful.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantra100, General Manager at Mantra 100 Exhibition, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Dear Tassie201,

I was disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. While I disagree with your statement about us being the nosiest hotel in Melbourne, I do concede that we are a city hotel an on occasions outside influences can occasionally affect our guests. We do our best to control such situations and as always we encourage our guests to notify us if a problem is being experienced. I would like to assure you that the noise you experienced is an exception and not a common occurrence.

If you have time and would like to discuss your experience with me personally please don't hesitate to call me at the hotel. Thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards,

Tim Young
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Fairy, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

After spending three nights at Mantra on Exhibition in August for business, I came home to discover I had had my camera and several pieces of jewellery stolen. When I rang to report the stolen goods the Duty Manager showed so little interest he was almost yawning on the other end of the telephone. He was so rude I couldn't believe he was actually the Duty Manager. He was not prepared to look into the incident in any way and just tried to fob me off. I will never stay at a Mantra Hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantra100, General Manager at Mantra 100 Exhibition, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Dear Jane F,

Thank you for taking the time to advise me of your situation. I am very concerned about this and I am sorry for your loss. If you could please contact me at the hotel I would very much like to discuss this matter with you.

Thank you for your time and I hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards,

Tim Young
Hotel Manager
Mantra 100 Exhibition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Newly Refurbished Apartment In Great Location.Manager And Reception Staff Very Friendly And Helpful .We Love Melbourne And Will Return To This Hotel As Often As We Can.

Room Tip: Rooms Overlooking Beautiful Trees And Open Space In Exhibition Street Are Great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantra100, General Manager at Mantra 100 Exhibition, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Dear Gary L

Thank you very much for your positive comment about our location, product and staff. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon,

Kind regards,

Tim Young
Hotel Manager
Mantra 100 Exhibition
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra 100 Exhibition? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra 100 Exhibition

Address: 100 Exhibition Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Pacific International Apartments)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#77 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra 100 Exhibition 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting spacious, contemporary designed one and two bedroom apartments, Mantra 100 Exhibition offers guests maximum comfort in the heart of Melbourne's cosmopolitan CBD. Surrounded by Melbourne's famous fashion boutiques, theatres and restaurants, Mantra 100 Exhibition offers 87 modern apartments with quick and easy access to popular entertainment and sporting venues. The MCG, Rod Laver Arena and Federation Square are just a few. Mantra 100 Exhibition's modern apartments are all stylishly furnished and featuring air-conditioning, LCD Televisions with digital channels and Foxtel stations, stereo's with IPod docking stations and CD player, kitchenette, laundry facilities, lounge and dining areas. Mantra 100 Exhibition Street delivers contemporary accommodation in the heart of Melbourne, ideal for business travelers, holiday makers, short-term and long-term guests. For your comfort the hotel and all apartments at Mantra 100 Exhibition Street are strictly non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Mantra 100 Exhibition reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra 100 Exhibition Melbourne
Mantra 100 Exhibition Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra 100 Exhibition, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.