We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   250 Elizabeth St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 3 Nights & Save 20%
Ranked #74 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment for 4 nights. I was very happy with our stay. The apartment is a good size for 2 people. There are marks on the walls and the glass between bedroom and lounge needs to have the hand marks cleaned off. There was areas that had dust on it but was cleaned once we pointed this out. There is only 1 lift working at the moment. Location is great.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne G, Senior Marketing Manager at Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear watts54,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review for Somerset on Elizabeth. We are happy to read you enjoyed the spaciousness of our apartments, though are disappointed to read the housekeeping of your room was not upto our usual standards and did not meet your expectations.

We apologise if this impacted the enjoyment of your stay, I will pass on you your review to the Residence Manager to address with our Housekeeping Team.

Thank you once again for the feedback, it’s feedback like yours which helps our Team continually improve to make sure we are meeting all guests expectations during their stays.


Warmest regards,


Joanne G
Senior Marketing Manager
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    112
    58
    18
    11
See reviews for
66
61
21
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed 10 days in a one bedroom executive apartment - very well maintained stylish bedroom. Spacious bathroom, living & dining area. Didn't have any problems with any thing in the apartment. My daughter enjoyed cooking in the fully-equipped kitchen with modern appliances.

Friendly and helpful staff.

Great location to everything - tram / bus stops, departmental stores, restaurants etc.

Value for money.

Will return to Somerset again on the next visit.

Room Tip: High floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne G, Senior Marketing Manager at Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear PatChan37,

How wonderful to read your review of your recent stay at Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know you and your daughter enjoyed your stay and that you would stay with us again.

We certainly hope you do, we look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Warmest regards


Joanne G
Senior Marketing Manager
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Old, tired hotel with rock hard beds, TV that continually blacks out. Daily servicing is a myth (at least in my case); in fact my bed wasn't made once that I can see and I have been here 4 days. Lifts dirty and not working to full capacity. Front desk staff very friendly and helpful and the location is quite central. Unfortunately, the hotel still doesn't deliver and I'm writing this review with 2 days of my stay left!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

It is a good-sized room but unfortunately things were falling apart. The blinds in the living room collapsed and were put back on by masking tape. I had to remind the staff to clean my room because when I came back to the hotel the second day, it was not cleaned at all. The bedrooms were not very well insulated from the brightness of the sun. The umbrella provided was broken. Some of the staff at the reception area were not helpful to my friends. I don't think I will stay at this property again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fhairie, Manager at Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hello Oriss,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am sorry to hear though that your stay with us did not meet your expectations and I would appreciate it if you could contact me directly at: florence.hairie@the-ascott.com, as I would like to investigate your feedback personally. Please do let me know the apartment number you were staying in and dates of stay.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed 1 night in a One Bedroom Executive Apartment.

I drove my car in so took up the valet parking option ($35) Even the hotel admits that this is a bit steep, but when you look into it the next best option is a $38 secure parking garage about a block away that only allows one entry in/out. This valet service you can take your car in and out as often as you like, which is great if your staying more than 1 night.

As stated, the check-in/check-out staff were fantastic. Really efficient and explained everything that you might want to know, also very friendly.

Unfortunately the room let this place down. I generally base my reviews on value for money, and at $205 for this one bedroom apartment, it did not live up to expectations. When you walk in the building the foyer is very deceiving, everything is bright, new and you feel like your going to be walking into a beautiful room. This was not the case.

The room itself (810) was very tired. Furniture is worn, the carpet had stains on it, the room needs to be re-painted, also the room for an "executive" was a little small. These are all issues i can live with. The big issue for me was the bed. Rock hard, and you could feel the springs through the mattress. The pillows were flat and felt like they had minimal stuffing inside them. It was a disappointing nights sleep, which to me is the most important.

In-room dining is available until 10:30pm weekdays, you can place orders online which i found interesting. Service fee is $6.40 which is acceptable considering the quality of items you can get delivered.

Technology wise. The TV does not have any usb ports or anything like that and is pretty old, but channel surfing is nice and quick, no lag between channels. Also, wireless internet is available if you call reception.

You can definately do worse in Melbourne, i just thought for the price tag it did not deliver.

Room Tip: Had room 810 as an executive apartment. Average.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne G, Senior Marketing Manager at Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Johnms1986,

Thank you for taking the time to provide the Somerset Tripadvisor Community and Somerset on Elizabeth with such a thorough review. Unfortunately, you are right, if you can avoid driving your car into town that would be our recommendation, being located in the centre of the CBD provides hurdles for reasonable priced parking. But we do try and provide the most economical options for our guests, such as yourself.

It will be a pleasure to pass on your feedback in regards to your experience with our Guest Service Team to the Residence Manager, our Team will be pleased to know they contributed to you enjoying your stay. You may be interested to know we are currently updating the décor at Somerset on Elizabeth which we hope to have completed by the end of 2013.

We hope if you choose to stay Somerset again you can take advantage of one of our promotions which may eleveate your concerns on the room rates of the property.

Warmest regards


Joanne G
Senior Marketing Manager
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACT, Australia
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Somerset has a great location and friendly staff, but the apartments felt a little dated and in need of a little TLC.

I visited with a group and we each had our own apartment (about 10 of us on business).

Many of us felt that the cleaning was not up to standard - the place has great potential but just falls short...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne G, Senior Marketing Manager at Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear FiverACT,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay on your business trip. If you wouldn’t mind providing further information to the Residence Manager Florence Hairie at Florence.hairie@the-ascott.com on your experiences with our Housekeeping Team that would be wonderful. As, we are keen to make sure we address all of your concerns.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Joanne G
Senior Marketing Manager
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne

Address: 250 Elizabeth St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne is located in the heart of the city's central business district with a labyrinth of lane-ways, restaurants and shopping precincts only moments away. Positioned perfectly for both the business and leisure traveller, Somerset on Elizabeth offers the convenience of location and contemporary living, fused with the highlights of Melbourne's food, arts and entertainment culture. The modern serviced apartments offer 135 spacious one and two-bedrooms, each with separate living and dining areas, fully-equipped kitchens and modern amenities. The property also features a 24-hour reception, business centre services, complimentary wireless broadband internet and a meeting room; as well as a fully-equipped gym, jet pool, sauna and outdoor courtyard. It is easy to enjoy all that Melbourne has to offer when staying at Somerset on Elizabeth, with easy access to transport, sporting grounds, and theatres. As well as being ideally located within walking distance to Emporium Melbourne, the Strand Arcade, H&M as well as popular shopping precincts Bourke Street Mall and Melbourne Central. Somerset on Elizabeth is the gateway to experiencing Melbourne's famous precincts and ever-changing culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset On Elizabeth, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Somerset On Elizabeth Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.