We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne to your Saves list
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   250 Elizabeth St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Plan in Advance and Save!
Ranked #65 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Top Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed 3 nights and was thrilled with the location. Trams out the front door, train station in walking distance. The apartment was very clean and spacious and provides all that is required including a washer/dryer. The beds are very comfy and considering the location there is no road noise, all the basics are provided including soap/shower gel but no other toiletries. For a city break this is ideal, close to shops, food and public transport. We would return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Hello Wendy F,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us at Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne! It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your trip and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Our central location is certainly convenient to enjoy all that Melbourne has to offer; and our spacious apartments are designed with all the amenities to ensure our guests feel at home. We also hope you had time to relax in our jet-pool and sauna while you were here?!

Thank you again Wendy F for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne in the near future. Happy travels!

Kind Regards,
Ruthie Hunt
Marketing Executive
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    134
    61
    18
    11
See reviews for
82
70
23
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chatswood, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I stayed here whilst on business in Melbourne. I chose the Somerset because of the location and price.

The room I stayed in was very clean but basic. The shampoo dispenser didn't work in the shower and tiles could do with regrouting. The furniture in the living room was chipped and dated.

There is nothing up market about this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Hello Sally37S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne, we appreciate your feedback.

I am sorry to hear your apartment felt tired. We have recently replaced the carpets and new furniture is going into all the rooms shortly. For convenience, we now offer complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the property!

We would be interested to know what room number you stayed in so we can review the tiles and shampoo dispenser? If you have the time it would be great if you could email us at florence.hairie@the-ascott.com.

Thank you again Sally37S for your review and we hope to welcome you back to Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne in the future.

Kind Regards,
Ruthie Hunt
Marketing Executive
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is billed as luxury serviced apartment. Certainly, if you're looking for a luxury apartment you can do much better in the CBD. Not serviced on a Sunday which happened to be our only full day there. Location is good in the heart of things but the apartments are in need of a update. Our small fridge had a broken off shelf so you couldn't stand wine or milk upright. Mould on the shower tiles. TV in lounge couldn't get reception. Asked to change apartment after first night due to unacceptable standard. Staff very helpful in this and second apartment a bit better.

Room Tip: Tram noises at the front start early, but the view at the back is demolition work. Take your pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed here for five nights in early February 2013. The location was hard to beat. The size of the apartment was generous and the bed was excellent. We had two televisions, Seemed a bit much for the size of the apartment. The kitchen block was convenient, but the cookwear had been abused and could stand replacement. The whole place looked a bit tired, especially the bathroom and the carpetting. The staff was very helpfull however and over all we were happy with the place. We were disappointed that there was no Wifi, only a plug-in internet connection.

Room Tip: Check out if any rooms have been recently upgraded. Our room was at the front but noise was no probl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hello OmaPuck,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our location, our down town address is certainly hard to beat.

We are sorry to hear that the apartment felt tired. Good news though, our property is going through a soft refurbishment soon with new carpets and furniture and we now offer complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the property.

We do hope you take advantage of this the next time you are in town.

We pride our self on our commitment to customer service, so I will certainly pass on the positive feedback to our staff. Thank you again for your review OmaPuck and we look forward to welcoming you back to Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Ruthie Hunt
Marketing Executive
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed here two nights on a visit to Melbourne and found it to be v. comfortable and well-appointed. We enjoyed the sauna and hot tub and even had use of the umbrella which came with the room when it started to pour outside. The showers are powerful and our room even came with a combination washer-dryer in the room! The only drawback is what we have found in many Australian hotels - no in-room wifi! The Aussies need to catch up on this. However, the location on Elizabeth street puts you within a block of the free circle tram and close to just about everything downtown. You HAVE to visit Melbourne!!

Room Tip: There is a large construction project underway on the east side of the building. Ask for a room on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hello Authored,

Thank you so much for your kind review on your recent stay with us at Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne! It sounds like you thoroughly enjoyed your trip to Melbourne and it’s great to hear you took advantage of the facilities we have to offer.

The good news is we are now offering complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the property.

Thank you again for your review Authored and we look forward to welcoming you back to Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne.

Kind Regards,

Ruthie Hunt
Marketing Executive
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellywooder
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for two nights in mid jan. I was surprised by how large the apartment was, with a separate lounge area and well equipped kitchenette. The bathroom was also large and even had a washer/dryer, although we didn't use this. The room was nice and clean and the staff on reception were very friendly and helpful. To top it off the somerset is a great location. We will definitely stay here again!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I had stayed in the apartment for a month from 3 March 2012 - 2 April 2012. Apartment was well maintained, service was also very good, view from the apartment was great. All the utilities were available in the apartment. Somerset as a whole was very good, it had the basic amenities such as gym, jacuzzi, sauna bath. People on the help desk were also very cooperative and helpful. Overall enjoyed the stay and it was fun.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms facing Elizabeth
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne

Address: 250 Elizabeth St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#59 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#65 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne is located in the heart of the city's central business district with a labyrinth of lane-ways, restaurants and shopping precincts only moments away. Positioned perfectly for both the business and leisure traveller, Somerset on Elizabeth offers the convenience of location and contemporary living, fused with the highlights of Melbourne's food, arts and entertainment culture. The modern serviced apartments offer 135 spacious one and two-bedrooms, each with separate living and dining areas, fully-equipped kitchens and modern amenities. The property also features a 24-hour reception, business centre services, complimentary wireless broadband internet and a meeting room; as well as a fully-equipped gym, jet pool, sauna and outdoor courtyard. It is easy to enjoy all that Melbourne has to offer when staying at Somerset on Elizabeth, with easy access to transport, sporting grounds, and theatres. As well as being ideally located within walking distance to Emporium Melbourne, the Strand Arcade, H&M as well as popular shopping precincts Bourke Street Mall and Melbourne Central. Somerset on Elizabeth is the gateway to experiencing Melbourne's famous precincts and ever-changing culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset On Elizabeth, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Somerset On Elizabeth Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.