We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super downtown location!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne to your Saves list
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   250 Elizabeth St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase
Ranked #59 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Springfield, Virginia
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Super downtown location!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed here two nights on a visit to Melbourne and found it to be v. comfortable and well-appointed. We enjoyed the sauna and hot tub and even had use of the umbrella which came with the room when it started to pour outside. The showers are powerful and our room even came with a combination washer-dryer in the room! The only drawback is what we have found in many Australian hotels - no in-room wifi! The Aussies need to catch up on this. However, the location on Elizabeth street puts you within a block of the free circle tram and close to just about everything downtown. You HAVE to visit Melbourne!!

Room Tip: There is a large construction project underway on the east side of the building. Ask for a room on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthie H, Marketing Executive at Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hello Authored,

Thank you so much for your kind review on your recent stay with us at Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne! It sounds like you thoroughly enjoyed your trip to Melbourne and it’s great to hear you took advantage of the facilities we have to offer.

The good news is we are now offering complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the property.

Thank you again for your review Authored and we look forward to welcoming you back to Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne.

Kind Regards,

Ruthie Hunt
Marketing Executive
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    139
    62
    18
    11
See reviews for
89
75
25
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wellywooder
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for two nights in mid jan. I was surprised by how large the apartment was, with a separate lounge area and well equipped kitchenette. The bathroom was also large and even had a washer/dryer, although we didn't use this. The room was nice and clean and the staff on reception were very friendly and helpful. To top it off the somerset is a great location. We will definitely stay here again!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I had stayed in the apartment for a month from 3 March 2012 - 2 April 2012. Apartment was well maintained, service was also very good, view from the apartment was great. All the utilities were available in the apartment. Somerset as a whole was very good, it had the basic amenities such as gym, jacuzzi, sauna bath. People on the help desk were also very cooperative and helpful. Overall enjoyed the stay and it was fun.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms facing Elizabeth
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barham, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I have stayed at both Somerset on Elizabeth as well as the apartments at QVII (twice) now, and I have enjoyed both locations immensely. They were very central for my needs and clean and well set out - I would have to say the one at QVII was my favourite as it was over great eateries and the chocolate place! Any time I need to stay in Melbourne for more than a couple of nights, I will stay here!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirroul, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I had a long stay at the somerset for business from mid Oct 2012 thru to Jan 11 2013. I came to the Somerset with apprehension after reading a few reviews here. From what I could tell other reviwers were upset with the noise from construction work (A large department store is being built right next door) and the noise from Elizabeth St (trams etc). I found the noise levels to be quite acceptable. I was in room 911 facing SE towards Burke St mall this meant I didnt directly face the construction work or Elizabeth St though.
My room was clean, small and nice enough. 1 bedroom with LCD inset wardrobes and a king size bed. It has a window which you can open in it. The living room was on the smaller side with dinning tabe hard up against the wall a 2.5 seater lounge small coffee table and very small 1 seater lounge. Across from all this was another LCD screen.Both tv's in the room did NOT have digital service, which did get quite annoying after 3 months. They do supply some cable channels though fox sports fox 8 CNN etc. In the corner was the business work space which has the internet port (no wifi) 2 power sockets etc. The living room also has a small kitchenette with a 2 burner gas top, dish washer, fridge/frezzer and sink. The bathroom is a very basic design. Toilet, Bath/Shower combo no drawers or cabinet just a shelf and to one side is a washering machine/dryer combo which I take issuse with, only because I tend to destroy my clothes in them. All in all its a pretty basic apartment which is functional. If your looking for a luxury romantic getaway this isnt the place to book. If you need a place in the city then its fine and the perfect location!!!
The staff were great I had a few moments throught my stay where I called on them and everytime my requests were dealt with quickly and professionally.
Just a note.. NO room service was available. The hotel offers one of those 3rd party room service leaflets. I didnt use this service and I'm pretty sure its not 24hr. Someone might verify that.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Great location, walking distance to everything in the city. Train lines close by and tram stop right out the front.

The rooms are a good size, with separate bedroom and lounge/kitchenette area. This was great with a baby as we had space to hang out while she had her day naps. The kitchen was small but functional to prepare simple meals and baby food.

The hotel is looking a little aged, with the hallways a bit dingy and dirty with scuff marks along the walls. But the rooms were kept clean and fresh. Staff were friendly and helpful with dining suggestions.

There was construction going on behind the hotel, but we were on the street side and heard very little of this. On the 5th floor we were able to hear the traffic/tram bells, but this was quite background noise and we did not find this a problem. I would recommend avoiding the construction side if you intend to be sleeping in your room during the day.

The gym had everything you need for some basic exercise and the spa was great.

Room Tip: Avoid the construction side if you intend to sleep in the room during the day. Street side was not t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The location was great - right on the main street and close to Flinders station. The apartments were very clean and well equipped. Except for a few small points (the washing machines didn't work, the remote control didn't have a cover, a couple of glasses were broken in the cupboard) the only real issue we had was the internet was slow. All in all though, good value for the money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne

Address: 250 Elizabeth St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#55 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#57 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#63 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne is located in the heart of the city's central business district with a labyrinth of lane-ways, restaurants and shopping precincts only moments away. Positioned perfectly for both the business and leisure traveller, Somerset on Elizabeth offers the convenience of location and contemporary living, fused with the highlights of Melbourne's food, arts and entertainment culture. The modern serviced apartments offer 135 spacious one and two-bedrooms, each with separate living and dining areas, fully-equipped kitchens and modern amenities. The property also features a 24-hour reception, business centre services, complimentary wireless broadband internet and a meeting room; as well as a fully-equipped gym, jet pool, sauna and outdoor courtyard. It is easy to enjoy all that Melbourne has to offer when staying at Somerset on Elizabeth, with easy access to transport, sporting grounds, and theatres. As well as being ideally located within walking distance to Emporium Melbourne, the Strand Arcade, H&M as well as popular shopping precincts Bourke Street Mall and Melbourne Central. Somerset on Elizabeth is the gateway to experiencing Melbourne's famous precincts and ever-changing culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset On Elizabeth, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Somerset On Elizabeth Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.