We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Australia, but less than Best Western Europe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tudor-Box Hill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tudor-Box Hill to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tudor-Box Hill
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   1101 Whitehorse Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3128, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great for Australia, but less than Best Western Europe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

"+" In general we liked the room size, design and facilities of the hotel. Also we've been lucky to get free upgrade for the room with jacuzzi :) And the region is some kind of asian quarter with a cheap places to eat. "-" The bathroom was very cold and there was a crack on the wall that, on my opinion, does not fit with the Best Western quality standards. The cables from a/c were placed inside the wardrobe. No elevator.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTudor, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tudor-Box Hill, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at The Tudor. We will review your comments to ensure we continue to provide a high level of service and quality to all our guests.
Kind Regards
The Tudor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    42
    18
    4
    5
See reviews for
26
20
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We spent a week in the BW with two waterpolo teams (27 boys) competing in the city at the National Championships.
We stayed across the road at in apartments and were really very pleased with the accommodation - the rooms are big, well appointed and the beds are extremely comfortable (some of the most comfortable beds I have slept in for a longtime).
The staff at the hotel were great and very accommodating given the amount of pent up energy running around there property. The breakfast and dinner was good and as ordered - we were not looking for fine doing and had described a menu prior to checking in - the packed lunches were very good.
Boxhill shopping and restaurants work really well and are just down the road as is the train and tram into the city. We drove in and out every day and although we had one bad traffic day we soon got used to the timings and best route so had no trouble, even popping in to the city at night for dinner/meetings.
A great stay in a good product with staff that wanted to help - well done.!!

Room Tip: The apartment block across the road from the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Bay BC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We spent three nights here well visiting Melbourne. It is about a ten minute walk to both the train station and tram station. We found the room depressing. We ordered the internet package which you pay extra for. There was a cable in the room and they gave me a wireless router to plug in to provide wi-fi in the room. It did not work even after trying a different router. The manageress was very helpful letting me try a router in a different room but it would not work either. We cancelled the package and I later saw them taking a router out to try in other rooms. The system needs updating. The bedside lamp was not working and I found it unplugged. Plugging it in involved opening the bedside cabinet, unplugging something else and running the cord through the open cabinet door. The attention to the little things was lacking.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTudor, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tudor-Box Hill, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed our helpful and attentive service during your stay. The internet system has been reviewed and works appropriately. We are currently undertaking a refurbishment program which will be concluded in the coming months, with a number of rooms already completed.
Kind Regards
The Tudor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katandra West
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Three of us stayed here on 12 th October as we were attending a 21st in Balwyn. We booked a 2 bedroom apartment, it is over the road from the Motel Complex. Cost was $230 and you get nice secure underground parking, lift to your very spacious apartment. Comfy beds, nice couches and tv with foxtel, nice kitchen, washer and dryer, roomy bathroom, a great place to stay just out of the city. It's lovely and quiet and a nice view out from the balcony. The only thing that would be nice is a tv in the bedroom and the apartment would be perfect. Would recommend as a place to stay. Also checking and out was nice and quick with pleasant staff. Ate breakfast 100 meters down the street at a cafe.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wangaratta, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

yes we wish we paid the extra ,would have to be the worst we have ever experianced ,they have used s lot of short cuts with temp.renos ,it was drafty ,dirty,needed a paint needed no more caps,bath needed sealing,Then the wiring holes in wall ,in cupbords,for faulty wiring,then just when we thought it couldnt get worst,the double bed electric blanket wasnt working missing a lead .and while i was complaining,the poor wife tried to set up the single bed only to find that cwas unpluged ,and lucky it was because that to was faultly,and would have gave us a shock.The girl and reception just wasnt interested ,,oh yes the old and poor aircond ,through out very little heat ,yes cut our stay short and left and would never ever stay there again ,yes had we known would have gladly paid extra .have sent of email of discussed to Bw

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTudor, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tudor-Box Hill, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review. We have thoroughly investigated your beautifully renovated guest room and found none of the issues you have mentioned. The new carpet, new curtains, new bedding linen and new pillows as well as the renovated bathroom with new stone vanity basin and new toilet do not reflect the description you have provided. We are currently undertaking a refurbishment program which will be concluded in the coming months, with a number of rooms already completed.
Kind Regards
The Tudor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queanbeyan, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The apartments are across the road from the motel and are huge. Parking is included in the price and is secure. The apartment was spotless and included a huge fully equipped kitchen. The trams and trains into the CBD are within a 10 minute walk. Box Hill is the Chinatown of East Melbourne and has a wonderful range of restaurants and food outlets as well as a shopping mall. The washer and dryer mean you don't have to return home with heaps of dirty laundry.

Room Tip: Leave yourself plenty of time to return the keys. The one way traffic flow takes a bit of negotiati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Bedroom for three for only $125 on a Saturday night. Nearby tram (109) goes through city and down to port Melbourne. Convenient to Coles and takeaway shops. Rooms are not new but large and comfortable and clean. Laundry free (byo powder).

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tudor-Box Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tudor-Box Hill

Address: 1101 Whitehorse Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3128, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#85 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tudor-Box Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contemporary interior of Best Western The Tudor Box Hill creates a light and airy atmosphere. Our friendly staff will ensure an enjoyable and hassle free stay. It is ideally located in the heart of Melbourne’s leafy eastern suburbs. Close to Melbourne CBD via Eastern Freeway. Gateway to Yarra Valley Vineyards and Healesville Sanctuary. Stroll to public transport, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tudor-Box Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Tudor-Box Hill Hotel Melbourne
Best Western Melbourne
Best Western Tudor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tudor-Box Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.