We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tudor-Box Hill

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tudor-Box Hill to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tudor-Box Hill
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   1101 Whitehorse Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3128, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Bedroom for three for only $125 on a Saturday night. Nearby tram (109) goes through city and down to port Melbourne. Convenient to Coles and takeaway shops. Rooms are not new but large and comfortable and clean. Laundry free (byo powder).

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    35
    17
    3
    4
See reviews for
22
19
6
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sale, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Very impressed,Great place to stay, clean, tidy and close to hospital.very friendly service. Would recommend without hesitation.. Would never stay anywhere else if in this area.wish all motels were as good as this.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the best western Tudor in late June. The room was seriously in need of a refurbishment as it was very tired and dated. The bed however was comfortable and the room was clean and tidy. Wouldn't recommend the standard low price room

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTudor, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tudor-Box Hill, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your positive feedback in relation to our comfortable beds and high level of cleanliness. We are currently undertaking a refurbishment program which will be concluded in the coming months, with a number of rooms already completed.
Kind Regards
The Tudor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

East Melbourne suburbs.about 30 minutes from city centre.Stayed in the 2 and 3 bedrooms new apartment accross the street from the old Best Western Tudor Motel.Fully equipped with all a family need for holiday travel-washing&drying machines,Oven,microwave,each room heater/AC etc.Theres total of 12 apartments in 3 floors,quiet surrroundings with on street or basement parking.10 minutes walk to left is Box Hill town-many Asian shops and Centro shopping complex with fresh marts,Woolsworth and Coles supermarket etc.Easy to get food to cook in apartment or for Asian food.
10 minutes drive to Westfield big shopping complex in Doncaster and less than that to join the freeway to city or Yarra valley.
Value for money at A$230/nite 2 bedroom.Highly recommended for Asian family travellers as easy to City,Yarra and Phillips Island which we did and in quiet surroundings.

Room Tip: highest 3rd floor best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed here whilst attending a course in Bayswater from 8-13 April. The room while being a bit sparse was clean and neat with adequate space to work. The water pressure was fantastic and bathroom had a great spa bath to relax in.
The service and food served in the restaurant would put some so called 5 star hots to shame! Try it out when you stay there..I promise you will be in for a treat! Best lamb cutlets I have ever tasted!!
Nice wee bar and patio attached to enjoy a beer.. Great service from the serving staff. Would recommend hotel to anyone!
Keep up the good service.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed in apartment as it was $20 dearer than a room (but its unserviced if staying a few days). What they don't say is that it is in a seperate complex 400 metres away and has no mini bar. Room is large with full kitchen and quiet. Bed was great. Bathroom was large with a "walk - in" shower - pity it had a flow resrictor and water saver head but you had plenty of room to run around and get wet!. For food, I found that the cafe across from reception was fantastic and much cheaper than the hotel offerings. Also for Dinner, de Fazios Italian 3km down the road in Blackburn was sensational. I'd stay again for sure.

Room Tip: I think any apartment would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This was a great hotel to stay at - we had a two room apartment that was clean spacious and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful and the secure undercover car parking was excellent.

However, when I first tried to book here I used the Best Western website - it crashed twice when I tried to book and the third time it managed to change the booking date, back to the default date between my confirming the booking and final payment. I tried to sort this out with Best Western, but unfortunately it was MY FAULT, because it is impossible for them to make a mistake (if only I was as perfect as these arrogant, unfriendly and inflexible people).

Fortunately Mark and his team at the hotel were understanding and quickly got this sorted for me. Full marks to them

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tudor-Box Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tudor-Box Hill

Address: 1101 Whitehorse Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3128, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#82 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tudor-Box Hill 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contemporary interior of Best Western The Tudor Box Hill creates a light and airy atmosphere. Our friendly staff will ensure an enjoyable and hassle free stay. It is ideally located in the heart of Melbourne’s leafy eastern suburbs. Close to Melbourne CBD via Eastern Freeway. Gateway to Yarra Valley Vineyards and Healesville Sanctuary. Stroll to public transport, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tudor-Box Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Tudor-Box Hill Hotel Melbourne
Best Western Melbourne
Best Western Tudor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tudor-Box Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.