We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice addition to Melbourne CBD” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Citigate Melbourne)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off Opening Special
Ranked #85 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice addition to Melbourne CBD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Limited options in Melbourne have made finding a hotel a challenge. The new Doubletree is a welcome addition to the assortment.
The restaurant and bar are well staffed and priced reasonably despite the location.
The hotel has clearly undergone a transformation from its former life and has the overall feel of any other Hilton property.
Clean, functional rooms, beautiful beds, and well-appointed bathrooms will make this my new go-to for Melbourne travel.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    85
    36
    15
    7
See reviews for
17
78
15
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bunbury, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Perfect for a short city stay. Very convenient location, friendly super helpful staff. Spotless well furnished room. Well planned bathroom. Worried it would be noisy at night but we slept very well in a very comfy king size bed. Delicious breakfast buffet. Will be returning.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-MELFS, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Hellsy13,

Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor. It is so pleasing to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us from the moment you arrived with the presentation of our signature warm chocolate chip cookie.

I'm glad to read that you had a great sleep and enjoyed the stunning views from your Flinders Street room.

We shall look forward to welcoming you back to Melbourne again very soon, we have a cookie with your name on it!

Warm regards,

Clinton Farley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The experience began when we checked in, the lobby smelt delicious went we walked in and upon check-in we received warm cookies - best hotel check-in ever! The rooms were lovely and modern and considering the hotel is on Flinders Street, it was suprisingly quiet.
Definitely would consider a return stay! Prefect location for going out and exploring Melbourne.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-MELFS, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear melissarossit,

Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street.

I am delighted to hear that you loved our warm signature cookie welcome and that the team offered your best hotel check-in ever! We certainly strive to be different and ahead of the game, ensuring each and every guest stay is that much more special.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience. The team and I truly look forward to once again welcoming you back to DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street in the near future where there will always be a warm welcome awaiting your arrival.

Kind regards,

Clinton Farley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Double Tree by Hilton is extremely central, it was easy to walk to many places in Melbourne CBD. Although it was on a busy street my room, which was on the 8th floor, was quiet. The room was immaculate, albeit quite small. The staff were helpful and friendly. The reception and restaurant are very trendy and the buffet breakfast had a good variety of food.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-MELFS, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Neats61,

Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, in particular our central downtown location, stylish look and feel and our buffet breakfast variety.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience. The team and I truly look forward to once again welcoming you back to DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street in the near future where there will always be a warm welcome awaiting your arrival.

Kind regards,

Clinton Farley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

This hotel was just remodeled in December and it still looks new. Right on Main Street across from the train station, it is easy to find and miss. The hotel name is on the top of the building, so from the the other side of the river I could see the hotel. But at street level, there are so many stores and shops it's difficult to see the hotel until you've actually come up on it, even pass it if you're not careful. The entrance and lobby are funky with a welcoming vibe of a ski resort chalet. A bit darker than most lobbies with a cool fireplace right in the middle and the restaurant directly behind it. Loved the decor and the breakfast buffet is quite nice. The rooms are nice as well. Nothing in particular that states "wow" but there is no bathtub, just a shower with no door. Stylish and the water doesn't fly out like I thought it might. Free WiFi in he lobby. I stayed on the HHo ore floor and found nothing different to any other floor. No lounge and the gym is still under construction. God news is the staff gives you a free entrance ticket to the gym next door. The business lounge is small, clean, and has two computers. He meeting room is nice and splits into two with a sliding door. The staff was very pleasant and helpful.

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-MELFS, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Freedomtrail,

Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with, in particular our central down town location and our funky arrival lobby. I appreciate your comment regarding street level signage, this is something that we are aware of and are currently reviewing.

We shall look forward to welcoming you back to Melbourne again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Clinton Farley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

From being greeted at the door , checking in and receiving the yummiest huge cookie on arrival. The staff was always willing to please...breakfast was excellent..buy hey if you choose not to include breakfast this Hotel is surrounded by food in every street. Train Station and trams all situated as you walk out the front reception do everything is at your door...casino walking distance...heaps to do in Melbourne...

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-MELFS, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Sandra C,

Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor. It is wonderful to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay with, in particular our central down town location. We shall look forward to welcoming you back to Melbourne again in the not too distant future.

Warm cookie regards,

Clinton Farley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, India
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

As per Australia Standard, the hotel infrastructure might be great. Did not find it as great as per the other travels i have done. Hotel staff was very nice, friendly and caring. The staff was very courteous and helpful in all regards.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-MELFS, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Vikas G,

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne – Flinders Street. I appreciate you taking the time to post on TripAdvisor.

I am sorry to read that on this occaision the design of the hotel did not quite hit your expectations. Your feedback plays an important part in our process of continually improving and ensuring your next experience with us is great one.

I appreciate your feedback regarding our team and are glad that you were well looked after during your stay.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience. I do hope that you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back on a future visit to DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street, where there will always be a warm welcome awaiting your arrival.

Yours sincerely,
Clinton Farley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street

Address: 270 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Citigate Melbourne)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#76 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street 4.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Melbourne's dynamic city centre, DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street directly overlooks iconic Flinders Street Station. This 180 room hotel is within easy walking distance of many corporate offices, famous Melbourne laneways, the vibrant arts and entertainment district that spans Federation Square and Southbank, and a huge variety of the city's best restaurants, bars, cafes, and shops. A multi-million dollar refurbishment of the entire hotel is nearly complete. The result is a design-driven upscale hotel filled with new furnishing and boutique touches inspired by Flinders Street Station and the grand age of train travel, executed in a contemporary and warm way. Guests can socialise at the lobby bar and enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner at the ground floor restaurant. Room service is available 24-hours a day. When it is time to energise, guests can do so in the 24-hour fitness centre, or if it is time to work there are three meeting rooms and a complimentary 24-hour business centre. Stylish, modern and spacious, every refurbished guest rooms offers WiFi (fee applies), a flat-screen HDTV and a desk with ergonomic chair. Refresh with a selection of luxurious amenities in the contemporary bathroom and enjoy a restful night's sleep in the plush Sweet Dreams(R) by DoubleTree bed. All of this is just 22km from Melbourne's Tullamarine International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citigate Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Citigate Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Citigate Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.