We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option for after show/dinner or shopping trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Citigate Melbourne)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% off Opening Special
Ranked #88 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great option for after show/dinner or shopping trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

we chose this hote as it was within walking distance of our dinner venue and it is indeed in a very good location for walking access to many Melbourne venues. The hotel appears to have been recently refurbished and has a modern quirky feel. We didn't visit bu there is a ground floor bar area that would also be great for meeting before an event or late night drinks. our room was adequately sized and well appointed. A CBD size offering but really nicely done. We didn't have a window which was fine when you are not there for the views! and the CBD map treatment on the window space was interesting. Best of all the room was quiet. We would certainly use this hotel again in similar circumstances. Parking is a block away.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    81
    35
    15
    7
See reviews for
17
75
14
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is my second stay at a Doubletree Hotel, first one was in Izmir Turkey and I am pleased to say this one was far superior.
Beautiful warm and welcoming reception, on a cold Melbourne evening.
Room on the 10th floor was amazingly clean, with the most inviting looking, well made bed.
The Hotel is close to all that Melbourne offers with transport at the front door.
Wish I could have stayed longer.

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-MELFS, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear cookie077,

Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us on the 10th floor and that we exceeded your DoubleTree expectations.

You make a great point with regards to our location. We like to think that the hotel is one of the best located properties in Melbourne CBD, opposite Flinders Street Station, on the free CBD tram route and easily accessible by airport shuttle, taxi, bus and Uber transport options. A perfect position for an inner-city weekend getaway!

We shall look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future where there will always be a very warm welcome waiting.

Warm regards,
Clinton Farley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This place had it all, fantastic location, beautiful views from room (if you get the city/river view rooms), close to public transport and private car parking. Very friendly and helpful staff and gourmet welcome cookie on arrival what more could you ask for! Room was comfortable with heavenly bed and modern amenities and appliances, kitchen/restaurant and bar onsite also. Will come back again soon! Helpful traveler tip if you indeed on using a private vehicle park it in 300 Flinders St Secure Parking but beware parking fees throughout the working week.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-MELFS, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear jessicatheexplorer,

Thanks so much for taking the time out of your travels to post a review regarding your recent stay with us at DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street. In this day and age, I appreciate that life can be rather hectic and greatly appreciate the time it takes to provide feedback. We love feedback and it helps us to shape your next stay.

It is absolutely delighting to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us at the hotel and the teams' warm hospitality.

Safe travels and keep on exploring,

Best regards,
Clinton Farley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I have stayed in this hotel on and off for the last ten years under it's previous incarnations (even reviewed it!) but the makeover by Hilton is pretty amazing. The cold dull lifeless worn rooms are gone replaced with real warmth. The foyer likewise.

This hotel is in a great position, so this makeover really makes it a winner if you get a reasonable price.

One downside to note is that in a standard room your view is generally one metre to the building next door. If view is important upgrade to the front of the hotel (these rooms have a spiffy view of the station, though be aware they are noisier).

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-MELFS, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear ohmyhat,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review the hotel once again. It is wonderful to read that you have enjoyed staying at the hotel and calling it your home away from home for the past 10-years.

We shall look forward to sharing the warmth of our hospitality with you over the next 10-years! See you again soon...

Best regards,

Clinton Farley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The trendy raw grey cement & wood deco greets you as you enter the lobby. Great location for business travellers as it is close to the CBD and near shopping and dining places should you wish to squeeze in some city retail and dining therapy! Rooms are great sizes but some rooms are windowless. Nevertheless the location and great service more than makes up for the miss. Plus they have the latest range of Crabtree & Evelyn toiletries for you to pamper yourself after a long business day out.

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-MELFS, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Manwo,

Thanks for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor. It is great to read that you enjoyed your time with us, in particular our recently refurbished and spacious rooms and public areas. I'm glad that you liked our funky and very modern reception area.

We shall look forward to welcoming you back at some stage in the future.

Sincerely,

Clinton Farley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halberstadt, Germany
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spanking new, everything in order, great decor and interior. Really nice. I was also treated well as a Hilton Member, although they forgot to tell me, that internet was included in my room rate.

Would come again!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-MELFS, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear legrandviper,

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne – Flinders Street. I appreciate you taking the time to post on TripAdvisor.

We take pride in creating a rewarding experience for our guests, with particular focus on our service, facilities and overall experience offering and it is wonderful to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience with us. I appreciate your note regarding the explanation of Hilton HHonors member internet access benefits and will address this with my Front Office Manager. I am pleased to advise that from 1st August 2015 all Hilton HHonors members will receive complimentary WiFi when booking direct.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience. The team and I truly look forward to once again welcoming you back to DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street in the near future where there will always be a warm welcome awaiting your arrival.

Kind regards,

Clinton Farley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On arrival we were greeted warmly by friendly staff who ensured that the checking in process was easy and quick. We found our rooms to be well furnished / decorated, clean and quite even with the city at our doorstep. It was so convenient being located so close to the center of Melbourne with all of the attractions being so close by. After a good nights sleep we ventured to the restaurant on the ground floor for a magnifisant breakfast with a great variety of foods - both cooked and fresh. Overall the experience was what one expects from a hotel in the Hilton chain - it was a great experience and we look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-MELFS, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Marc C,

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne – Flinders Street. I appreciate you taking the time to post on TripAdvisor.

We take pride in creating a rewarding experience for our guests, with particular focus on our service, facilities and overall experience offering.

I am delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us, in particular our well appointed rooms and "Wake Up" by DoubleTree buffet breakfast offering.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience. The team and I truly look forward to once again welcoming you back to DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street in the near future where there will always be a warm welcome awaiting your arrival.

Best regards,
Clinton Farley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street

Address: 270 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Citigate Melbourne)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#78 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street 4.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Melbourne's dynamic city centre, DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street directly overlooks iconic Flinders Street Station. This 180 room hotel is within easy walking distance of many corporate offices, famous Melbourne laneways, the vibrant arts and entertainment district that spans Federation Square and Southbank, and a huge variety of the city's best restaurants, bars, cafes, and shops. A multi-million dollar refurbishment of the entire hotel is nearly complete. The result is a design-driven upscale hotel filled with new furnishing and boutique touches inspired by Flinders Street Station and the grand age of train travel, executed in a contemporary and warm way. Guests can socialise at the lobby bar and enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner at the ground floor restaurant. Room service is available 24-hours a day. When it is time to energise, guests can do so in the 24-hour fitness centre, or if it is time to work there are three meeting rooms and a complimentary 24-hour business centre. Stylish, modern and spacious, every refurbished guest rooms offers WiFi (fee applies), a flat-screen HDTV and a desk with ergonomic chair. Refresh with a selection of luxurious amenities in the contemporary bathroom and enjoy a restful night's sleep in the plush Sweet Dreams(R) by DoubleTree bed. All of this is just 22km from Melbourne's Tullamarine International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citigate Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Citigate Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Citigate Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.