We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Citigate Melbourne)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off Opening Special
Ranked #91 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
“Great stay, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed here 4 nights for my birthday and was upgraded to a nice king room with a view (902). All the staff was friendly and the breakfast buffet was pretty good too. Even though the receptionist forgot my cookie she called within 5 minutes to apologize which I thought was a nice touch. My only gripe was the Internet was pretty slow and choppy but the location was absolutely perfect. You can pretty much walk and and explore whatever your heart desires.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    71
    35
    13
    7
See reviews for
16
65
14
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Otaki, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Very good hotel , great location and great service. First Double tree hotel in Melbourne and has set the standard very high. The foyer of the hotel is very new and trendy, location is great and if you need anything just ask the staff.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-MELFS, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear David T,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor. It is wonderful to read that you thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of your stay from our recent refurbishment to helpfulness of our team.

We strive to offer the best of the best in location, service and accommodation offering and its pleasing to read that we hit the mark.

We shall look forward to welcoming you back at some stage in the future where there will always be a warm welcome waiting.

Kind regards,

Clinton Farley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We checked in early with ease. Was greeted with a yummy warm choc chip cookie! ! Reception staff great customer service. Sent us to great locations for shopping. Room was very small but done up nicely to the Hiltons standard. Bathroom very nice too. I had booked thru Hotels.com and got a great rate for our room so didn't care that we had an interior room. No view and very limited natural light . If we had a longer stay I would have booked a room with a view!! Overall great stay and location spot on !!

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-MELFS, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear DiDi41,

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne – Flinders Street. I appreciate you taking the time to post on TripAdvisor.

We take pride in creating a rewarding experience for our guests, with particular focus on our service, facilities and overall experience offering.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us, in particular our location to great shopping recommendations and our team level of service for which we strive to offer only but 100%.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience. The team and I truly look forward to once again welcoming you back to DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street in the near future where there will always be a warm welcome awaiting your arrival.

Best regards,

Clinton Farley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed there for 1 night at the end of our month long trip to ANZ and FP in april 2015.

It's a good hotel in Flinders st. , near Fed square. Location is great.
Room was very small, but very clean, and with everything working properly.
Checkin was very fast, and all the staff at reception were great. Very helpful.
There wasn't free wifi...which nowadays is not understandable.

Overall it's a good hotel and i would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-MELFS, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Sun H,

Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, in particular our location in the heart of Melbourne's downtown.

I'm sorry to read that you were not made aware of our complimentary WiFi offering in our business centre and lobby areas.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience. The team and I truly look forward to once again welcoming you back to DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street in the near future where there will always be a warm welcome awaiting your arrival.

Kind regards,

Clinton Farley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manahawkin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Thoroughly enjoyed this lovely boutique hotel right on the heart of Melbourne. The lobby is very attractive and modern- we enjoyed a glass of wine while waiting for our room to be ready. Upon arrival in the room we were equally pleased by the cleanliness and attractiveness. Although it is rather small and the view less than inspiring, it was nevertheless always well maintained and definitely sufficient for our needs. The only negative was the lack of internet/ wi fi in the rooms- we had to go down to the lobby for any service whatsoever. If this were rectified it would surely be a perfect location for travelers to Melbourne.

Room Tip: One overlooking Flinders' Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-MELFS, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Greg A,

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne – Flinders Street. I appreciate you taking the time to post on TripAdvisor.

We take pride in creating a rewarding experience for our guests, with particular focus on our service, facilities and overall experience offering.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us, in particular our location, recent refurbishment and level of room cleanliness. We take pride in maintaining and delivering on the little things that join together to make each and every exceptional guest stay.

I appreciate your commentary regarding complimentary wifi in guest rooms. While this is currently charged we do offer complimentary wifi in both our 1st floor business centre and lobby. Having said this, from the 1st of August 2015 all Hilton HHonors members will receive complimentary wifi internet access. Please ask us how, if you are yet to become a member.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience. The team and I truly look forward to once again welcoming you back to DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street in the near future where there will always be a warm welcome awaiting your arrival.

Kind regards,

Clinton Farley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Used this as a city stop over nicely appointed, great sized rooms, modern throughout with a nice bar at the entrance and a free cookie! friendly staff and a great location. Happily book again.

Supermarket situated just up the road, opposite the station not going to get a better location for the price in Melbourne.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-MELFS, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Bootheman,

Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street, in particular our location and value for price paid.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience. The team and I truly look forward to once again welcoming you back to DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street in the near future where there will always be a warm welcome awaiting your arrival.

Kind regards,

Clinton Farley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Got a room at the corner therefore have enough natural lighting, rather heard from other review that only got limited natural light on the middle room. Bed is comfort enough for me to snooze till the morning.

Breakfast was ok and more than enough to fill your tummy.

Plenty of to-do around this hotel and absolutely convenient to get around, main attractions was just nearby and within reach in Free Tram Zone.

Train station just across the street and getting to airport was just about 30 minutes in normal traffic.

Room Tip: Try corner room if you need more natural lights, otherwise you will staying in darker room if you do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-MELFS, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear KhongLoon,

Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, in particular our location, providing easy and convenient access to Melbourne's many attractions and sites. I'm glad to know that you were able to make good use of the free trams in the inner city and Flinders Street station directly opposite the hotel.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience. The team and I truly look forward to once again welcoming you back to DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street in the near future where there will always be a warm welcome awaiting your arrival.


Kind regards,

Clinton Farley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street

Address: 270 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Citigate Melbourne)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#79 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street 4.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Melbourne's dynamic city centre, DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street directly overlooks iconic Flinders Street Station. This 180 room hotel is within easy walking distance of many corporate offices, famous Melbourne laneways, the vibrant arts and entertainment district that spans Federation Square and Southbank, and a huge variety of the city's best restaurants, bars, cafes, and shops. A multi-million dollar refurbishment of the entire hotel is nearly complete. The result is a design-driven upscale hotel filled with new furnishing and boutique touches inspired by Flinders Street Station and the grand age of train travel, executed in a contemporary and warm way. Guests can socialise at the lobby bar and enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner at the ground floor restaurant. Room service is available 24-hours a day. When it is time to energise, guests can do so in the 24-hour fitness centre, or if it is time to work there are three meeting rooms and a complimentary 24-hour business centre. Stylish, modern and spacious, every refurbished guest rooms offers WiFi (fee applies), a flat-screen HDTV and a desk with ergonomic chair. Refresh with a selection of luxurious amenities in the contemporary bathroom and enjoy a restful night's sleep in the plush Sweet Dreams(R) by DoubleTree bed. All of this is just 22km from Melbourne's Tullamarine International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citigate Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Citigate Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Citigate Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.