We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Citigate Melbourne)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off Opening Special
Ranked #93 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Bondi, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Nice location for a business hotel, across from Flinders Street Station and next door to Fitness First gym. Check in and receive a warm chocolate cookie.
Negative - there is no where to park a car to off load upon arrival. The closest car park is nearly 2 blocks away.
I also sent 2 emails to the hotel in regards to lost property, however upon promises to return with their findings was never followed up (twice).

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    63
    35
    13
    7
See reviews for
15
60
14
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Loved the location of this place, beds so comfy and concierge staff helpful azzzz, would of been good to have a microwave in room but above all great place to stay, had a room looking out towards the railway station which was nice, everymorning i loved to ppl watch

Room Tip: the higher the better, i reakon anything over the 6th floor and you can see the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Was a great stay, great location... just don't book 2 rooms at once.. they mess it up and get the other person to barge into your room at 6 in the morning while you're sleeping. Glad I don't sleep in the nude!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-MELFS, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Alexadre E,

Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us, in particular our location. I do apologise that your second booking under the same name was checked in to your already occupied room. Please be assured that I have addressed this with my Front Office Manager following your feedback submitted via our internal channels.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience. The team and I truly look forward to once again welcoming you back to DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street in the near future where there will always be a warm welcome awaiting your arrival.

Kind regards,

Clinton Farley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I am in town for business, this hotel is dead center of the CBD! walking distance to great attractions, restaurants, transportation (Free CBD trolleys to get you everywhere) across the street from the train station, close to all the sporting venues. The room was good, usual downtown small (250-300 square feet guessing) staff was good, overall nice experience. Nope, won't disappoint the few of you that watch my reviews... NO ice machine, room service only, or I just picked it up each night as I came in. You will not be sorry if the price isn't a problem.

Room Tip: I Had room 602, GREAT View! Guessing all on the train station side is great,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-MELFS, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear David M,

Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us, in particular our location and new look recently refurbished rooms and public areas.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience. The team and I truly look forward to once again welcoming you back to DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street in the near future where there will always be a warm welcome awaiting your arrival.

Kind regards,

Clinton Farley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a 2 night stay her during the school holidays after the Easter break and we loved it. The buffet breakfast is really terrific at only $30 if paying for an extra guest, and the dinner at night was first class. We enjoyed a King bed room which was most comfortable without it being 2 single mattresses joined together! Just a short walk to the Bourke St Mall. Oh, and the warm choc chip and hazelnut cookie on arrival is delicious. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-MELFS, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Hewjo,

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne – Flinders Street. I appreciate you taking the time to post on TripAdvisor.

We take pride in creating a rewarding experience for our guests, with particular focus on our service, facilities and overall experience offering.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us, in particular our location and food offering at breakfast.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience. The team and I truly look forward to once again welcoming you back to DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street in the near future where there will always be a warm welcome awaiting your arrival.

Kind regards,

Clinton Farley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My hotel was walking distance to everything. Room was great. Staff was great. I decided to stay one more day on the spur of the moment, and the manager on duty helped me out immediately. I was even able to stay in the same room!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-MELFS, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Carol Q,

Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us, in particular the attention provided by my Assistant Manager on Duty assisting you extend your visit.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience. The team and I truly look forward to once again welcoming you back to DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street in the near future where there will always be a warm welcome awaiting your arrival.

Kind regards,

Clinton Farley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A new item for Hilton in the centre of town and it's a Double Tree so you know what you are getting....the location could not be better for heading out and walking around the city BUT I do not know what I was thinking when I ate in the hotel restaurant versus going out....I had lamb which was overcooked and cous cous which was undercooked.....in summary stay for the location if all you need is a bed and remember to eat out !

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-MELFS, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Stuart294265,

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne – Flinders Street. I appreciate you taking the time to post on TripAdvisor.

We take pride in creating a rewarding experience for our guests, with particular focus on our service, facilities and overall experience offering.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us, in particular our location. I appreciate your feedback regarding your dining experience and are disappointed that we fell short. As we strive to be different from the "normal" with our funky new hotel we recently employed our Head Chef from outside of the hotel industry. I personally dislike visiting hotels where you experience the same old hotel food and hence we recruited one of Melbourne's best. It appears that we missed the mark during your stay however I am pleased to let you know that tonight we launched a new menu which is absolutely amazing, incorporating some fairly unique interactive dishes - a completely different level to the menu you experienced. Further to this we are currently running a dine between 5-7 promotion where you will receive a complimentary bottle of wine when dining with another or a glass when dining by alone. I hope that we will be able to host you again at Platform 270. You won't experience many hotel restaurants without a "hotel chef", I'm sure you will be impressed.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience. The team and I truly look forward to once again welcoming you back to DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street in the near future where there will always be a warm welcome awaiting your arrival.

Kind regards,

Clinton Farley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street

Address: 270 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Citigate Melbourne)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#77 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street 4.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Melbourne's dynamic city centre, DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street directly overlooks iconic Flinders Street Station. This 180 room hotel is within easy walking distance of many corporate offices, famous Melbourne laneways, the vibrant arts and entertainment district that spans Federation Square and Southbank, and a huge variety of the city's best restaurants, bars, cafes, and shops. A multi-million dollar refurbishment of the entire hotel is nearly complete. The result is a design-driven upscale hotel filled with new furnishing and boutique touches inspired by Flinders Street Station and the grand age of train travel, executed in a contemporary and warm way. Guests can socialise at the lobby bar and enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner at the ground floor restaurant. Room service is available 24-hours a day. When it is time to energise, guests can do so in the 24-hour fitness centre, or if it is time to work there are three meeting rooms and a complimentary 24-hour business centre. Stylish, modern and spacious, every refurbished guest rooms offers WiFi (fee applies), a flat-screen HDTV and a desk with ergonomic chair. Refresh with a selection of luxurious amenities in the contemporary bathroom and enjoy a restful night's sleep in the plush Sweet Dreams(R) by DoubleTree bed. All of this is just 22km from Melbourne's Tullamarine International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citigate Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Citigate Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Citigate Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.