We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Citigate Melbourne)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off Opening Special
Ranked #86 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overnight ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Hotel is clean and trendy, trio of dips yummy with a glass of Pinot Gris. Room well laid out with plenty of space, bed comfy and bath room well appointed
All in all a good central place to stay with lots of eats around the crn. Try degraves lane way for a feed in the morning or evening

Stayed January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    24
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
21
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Loved this hotel, the staff were very friendly and accommodating, especially when giving us country folk directions to the tram and advice on which tram to take.
Breakfast was great and I loved the design of the hotel - very urban chic. We would love to stay here again as the location is perfect with a stone's throw from Fed Square, Flinders Street station and great eateries and restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-MELFS, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear DimityJane,

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne – Flinders Street and for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor. My team and I certainly appreciate your feedback and are delighted to read that we made your stay in Melbourne great.

We too love the location of our fantastic new property and I am pleased to hear our front desk team were able to assist with directions to places of interest.

I will be sure to share your feedback with the team here at the hotel and once again thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton. We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Clinton Farley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The location is great but was hard to find as there were no outside signage &'was very hard to find park so we could unload our luggage.Room had no views,but was very clean. Staff were very good. Was very surprised to that you had to pay for Wifi, mast hotels offer free wifi in rooms.

Room Tip: Don't book a lower floor room if you want to see daylight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-MELFS, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear 271Pam,

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street. I appreciate your feedback regarding signage and confirm that we are currently awaiting installation of a new street level sign. Currently we have signage located on the top of the hotel and at ground level, on our front doors, however appreciate more would be better and hope to have this installed within the next couple of weeks.

I hope that we will see you back in Melbourne sometime in the near future.

Warm regards,

Clinton Farley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

As a regular visitor to the Hilton chain I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel, basically a little version of a Hilton. Staff were exceptional, The renovations almost complete so can only get better. Good proximity to most things. I Noticed the array of guests varied from business to family which was nice. Don't take a room over the airconditioners outside !!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-MELFS, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear DavidB,

Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor. My team and I certainly appreciate your feedback and am delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us here in Melbourne's CBD.

We appreciate your ongoing loyalty to our brands and look forward welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future where we will always have a warm welcome waiting, especially for you.

Kind regards,

Clinton Farley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Good location, opposite the main train and tram. Use of first fitness gym next door which was very good. Had to pay for WiFi even in lobby. The breakfast was awful so used local cafes which are in abundance.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-MELFS, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Joanne S,

Many thanks for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to read that you found the hotels location in the heart of Melbourne perfect while visiting for the Australian Tennis Open. I appreciate your feedback regarding WiFi in the hotel lobby and am sorry to read that you were not advised that this was free of charge. We offer complimentary WiFi in both the hotel lobby and business centre and find than many guests enjoy using the lobby space due to its convenience to our bar, offering refreshments and food, day and night.

I am pleased to advise that since your stay we have launched our new restaurant Platform 270 and are offering a full breakfast buffet as well as an a la carte breakfast offering.

I do hope that you will allow us to welcome you back to the hotel again on a future trip to Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Clinton Farley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Fantastic location right in the heart of the city across from flinders street station. Fanastic staff, great price booked on Hotels.com got a great rate. Very quiet considering right in the heart of the city, will stay again for sure

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-MELFS, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear snake43,

Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor. We certainly appreciate your feedback and are delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us here in Melbourne's CBD.

It is pleasing to read that you found our location right in the heart of the city perfect for your visit and I am glad to hear that your room was quiet and our team service exceptional.

We shall look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future where we will always have a warm welcome waiting, especially for you.

Kind regards,

Clinton Farley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Decided to try the DoubleTree as opposed to the usual Hilton South Bank where I normally stay. New hotel and initial appearances looked ok and being in a rush I was happy to see no queues at reception. Although being a Hilton regular and part of the HHonors club after at least 20 minutes I was finally checked in. What took so long I have no idea. No explanation, no apology from the mute staff who were obviously in no rush. Unfortunately this made me late the remainder of the evening. Rooms were ok, not great but at least the hotel is in a good location. At least check out was a little quicker - only 15 minutes this time and again no explanations provided. Only just made my flight due to this delay. Got to say if they cant get check in/check out correct then you have to wonder what is going on. I have noticed I have now been upgraded to a silver member, well that is what it says on my emails as I haven't noticed any difference from being a standard member.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-MELFS, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Roger C,

Thank you or choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street and for your ongoing loyalty to our brands.

I am sorry to read that we fell short of your expectations on this visit due to a delay upon check-in and a slower than expected departure from the hotel. Our team at front desk strive to be as efficient as possible to ensure ease of arrival and departure for our guests and I do apologise that you were delayed upon this occasion. While we try our best to ensure rooms are available prior to our 3:00pm arrival time, occasionally due to peak occupancies this is not always possible. It is procedure to offer baggage storage and the comfort of our lobby area to await availability.

Please be assured that I have reviewed both arrival and departure processes with my Front Office Manager and again thank you for your comments. Roger C, I would like to place on your Hilton Hhonors profile an early arrival preference and encourage you to contact myself directly with membership details to allow this.

I do hope that you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back in the future where we will always have a warm welcome waiting.

Kind regards,

Clinton Farley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street

Address: 270 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Citigate Melbourne)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#60 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#73 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Melbourne's dynamic city centre, DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street directly overlooks iconic Flinders Street Station. This 180 room hotel is within easy walking distance of many corporate offices, famous Melbourne laneways, the vibrant arts and entertainment district that spans Federation Square and Southbank, and a huge variety of the city's best restaurants, bars, cafes, and shops. A multi-million dollar refurbishment of the entire hotel is nearly complete. The result is a design-driven upscale hotel filled with new furnishing and boutique touches inspired by Flinders Street Station and the grand age of train travel, executed in a contemporary and warm way. Guests can socialise at the lobby bar and enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner at the ground floor restaurant. Room service is available 24-hours a day. When it is time to energise, guests can do so in the 24-hour fitness centre, or if it is time to work there are three meeting rooms and a complimentary 24-hour business centre. Stylish, modern and spacious, every refurbished guest rooms offers WiFi (fee applies), a flat-screen HDTV and a desk with ergonomic chair. Refresh with a selection of luxurious amenities in the contemporary bathroom and enjoy a restful night's sleep in the plush Sweet Dreams(R) by DoubleTree bed. All of this is just 22km from Melbourne's Tullamarine International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citigate Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Citigate Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Citigate Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.