We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and centrally located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citigate Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Citigate Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Citigate Melbourne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Ramada Melbourne)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good value and centrally located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Though a small scale hotel, Citigate Melbourne's fantastic location opposite Flinders St station was ideal for our stay as we could easily walk to the MCG. There are also numerous good eatries just around the corner in the lanes for both breakfast and dinner.

The room we had was of a good size and clean with good and linens, although the net curtains and windows are long overdue for a clean and I hope management take note of this as we had a great view over the river and it was somewhat spoiled by that.

The service staff though few in numbers, are always pleasant and helpful and happy to provide information and stow our luggage while we shopped before catching our flight.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristian L, General Manager at Citigate Melbourne, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Citigate Melbourne.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the location and found the hotel to be of good value with pleasant and helpful staff.

In relation to the cleanliness of the hotel windows, these are cleaned on a regular basis and are scheduled in the upcoming weeks. Unfortunately the weather in Melbourne has not been overly kind to us of late, keeping the windows clean an ongoing battle.

Kind regards
Kristian Lindhe
General Manager
0403504551
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    369
    161
    58
    32
See reviews for
98
283
73
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Booked this place through the website based purely on location, price and private toilets. Totally exceeded all expectations. Online photos did not do this place justice. Had everything was wanted and more, amazing staff who were always on hand to help or just smile and say hello when we walked past. Would highly recommend this place to anybody wanting to stay inner city Melbourne.

Room Tip: There was no pool or spa but this was not what we wanted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristian L, General Manager at Citigate Melbourne, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, and I’m also pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. It’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, which I will be sure to share with our team. We look forward to seeing you at the hotel again in the near future.

Kristian Lindhe
General Manager
0403504551
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We were on a long weekend shopping trip, and this hotel was great location for us to get to the DFO, Harbourtown etc shopping centres. Straight opposite the Flinders Station for access to all the trams and trains. Plus easy walking distance to the main shopping mall. Meander your way through the alleys which are full on eating places and a real buzz all day.
Our room faced the side alley and it was a little bit dark, but Ok with the lights on, we were not in the room other than at night. Room size was good, bed comfortable. Staff always helpful. The lifts are getting replaced so only 2 working which caused minor delays but was OK. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristian L, General Manager at Citigate Melbourne, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Charlie thank you for providing comments on your stay at Citigate Melbourne.

It's great to hear that you enjoyed the hotels location and the facilities of the property met your expectations.

We hope that you'll be returning to Melbourne soon and will have the opportunity to stay with us again.

Kind regards
Kristian Lindhe
General Manager
0403504551
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Grove, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Stayed overnight with a friend - two single beds in room which we further separated from each other and had plenty of room to do that. Good sleep and super comfortable pillows. The fittings in the room are a little worn/jaded but clean. Not much of a view but we were there for a function so the sleep and location most important to us. Reception staff very good. Overall a great hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristian L, General Manager at Citigate Melbourne, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Frances thanks for your feedback. We agree our pillow are amazing and the perfect accompaniment for our new beds. Make sure you come back and try them soon.

Kristian
0403504551
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Citigate Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citigate Melbourne

Address: 270 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Ramada Melbourne)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#79 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Citigate Melbourne 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citigate Melbourne offers contemporary accommodation positioned opposite Flinders Street Station. The hotel is close to all the major sporting, fashion, entertainment and dining precincts within Melbourne. Citigate Melbourne features contemporary guest rooms with many offering breathtaking views of the Yarra River and Southbank. Guests can also enjoy a casual drink or meal in the relaxed environment of the Lobby Bar, keep healthy in the gymnasium, or surf the internet with free WiFi in the lobby and business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Citigate Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citigate Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Citigate Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Citigate Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citigate Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.