We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Covienience in the Heart of Melbourne” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citigate Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Citigate Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Citigate Melbourne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Ramada Melbourne)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Covienience in the Heart of Melbourne”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Very central location just across from Flinders station and the famous Southbank. Good clean rooms with modern fittings. Small breakfast area ,but decent spread and at least some of the dishes change daily which was a welcome change! Friendly front office staff. Only grudge is they did not honour my Accr card despite taking the number, on a trivial technicality!

Room Tip: Make sure you avoid the windowless rooms and see if you can get a higher floor looking out on the Ya...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristian L, General Manager at Citigate Melbourne, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and were happy with the breakfast selection. We have recently appointed a new head chef into the property who is doing an outstanding job. Please ensure you bring your Accor loyalty card to the hotel on your next visit so we can rectify the issue with your reward points.

Regards

Kristian Lindhe
General Manager
Citigate Melbourne
Kristian.lindhe@accor.com
0403504551
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    139
    373
    161
    58
    31
See reviews for
99
287
73
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The room did not have a window. Or rather it did but it had been blacked out. Consequently there was no way of opening the window for fresh air, the room had to have the lights on permanently and, until you left the hotel you had no idea of what the weather was like. It was clean and a nice size. The water pressure was so low it took about 20 mins to fill the bath.

Room Tip: Check if your room has a window! (And that it is not blacked out).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristian L, General Manager at Citigate Melbourne, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your room and would like to suggest a Cityview room for your future stays. The Cityview rooms are over looking the iconic Flinders street station and Southbank and are filled with natural light. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Regards

Kristian Lindhe
General Manager
Citigate Melbourne
Kristian.lindhe@accor.com
0403504551
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

A very clean, well-located hotel with superb service. From the moment we arrived we were greeted with warm and friendly smiles. The staff could not have been more helpful. We initially chose this hotel on price and quickly realised that we had chosen well. The rooms were very clean and confortable. Great location and close to many food outlets, shopping and tourist attractions. The breakfasts were excellent and we enjoyed the banter we had with the chief who, on the second day remembered how we liked our eggs! The dinner we had at the first night was also first rate and resaonably priced. We will most definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a room that looked over the CBD. Loved the lights at night. I think the front view looking to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristian L, General Manager at Citigate Melbourne, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor , I was thrilled to read you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves on providing a high level of customer service and so we certainly appreciate your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards

Kristian Lindhe
General Manager
Citigate Melbourne
Kristian.lindhe@accor.com
0403504551
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Great service! Great location! Very clean and lovely smell. The bed was comfy. Room is a good size. Will definitely stay here again!! Close to everything train station. Plenty of food choices close by. Coles just around the corner.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristian L, General Manager at Citigate Melbourne, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind words.

We are delighted to hear that your stay surpassed your expectations and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kristian Lindhe
General Manager
Citigate Melbourne
h8782-gm@accor.com
0403504551
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights on our visit to Melbourne. Hotel is right in the middle of everything. It is beside the train station, federation square, tram stop. Perfect. Hotel is pleasant in appearance, staff friendly and helpful with city news. Room was at the back of the hotel. Bit of noise at 3pm from someone moving a lot of metal. Not a big deal really. Bed very comfy and room was cleaned daily and all toiletries replaced. Iron, ironing board, hair dryer and tea and coffee all the room.
Would definitely recommend this hotel for city visit.

Room Tip: Rooms high up on the front over look the river. Beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Citigate Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citigate Melbourne

Address: 270 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Ramada Melbourne)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Citigate Melbourne 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citigate Melbourne offers contemporary accommodation positioned opposite Flinders Street Station. The hotel is close to all the major sporting, fashion, entertainment and dining precincts within Melbourne. Citigate Melbourne features contemporary guest rooms with many offering breathtaking views of the Yarra River and Southbank. Guests can also enjoy a casual drink or meal in the relaxed environment of the Lobby Bar, keep healthy in the gymnasium, or surf the internet with free WiFi in the lobby and business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Citigate Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citigate Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Citigate Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Citigate Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citigate Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.