We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citigate Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Citigate Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Citigate Melbourne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Ramada Melbourne)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2 Save 20%
Ranked #75 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value and location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stayed for two nights with my Mum and booked a very good deal through the website directly. The room was was small, but it's all we needed. The beds were comfy, television a good size and everything was clean and contemporary.

The only downside is the shower over the bath. It's very high to step in to and out of and wasn't really comfortable. It's the only thing that stopped me from giving a 5 star review. The pressure and temperature were great though.

The staff were brilliant and very helpful, and we got a very good deal on breakfast (which itself was fantastic).

We didn't have a view, but we didn't want or need one. We were in the city to explore and do an encounter at the zoo, not sit in our room and look out the window. I will never understand why people complain about not having a view in the middle of the CBD, particularly when the room it's not advertised as a having one. As is the norm for hotels in big cities, our room looked right in to the office next door. So we closed the blinds, and that didn't worry us as we were usually only in the room at night anyway.

We requested a higher and quieter room, and I will be honest in saying I did not hear a thing at all, which was surprising considering the location on Flinders Street. There were cafes, shops and and a supermarket around the corner, trains opposite and trams everywhere. We couldn't have stayed anywhere better.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    139
    373
    161
    57
    31
See reviews for
99
288
73
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Booked in for one night I order to celebrate the last home game for Storm this season. Unfortunately, was a wake. The greeting at this small hotel was very welcoming, thank you. As I opened the door to enter our room, my singapore nightmare came back. The rooms are small very small by Australian standards.

The room was clean and slightly dated, bathroom again clean, but shower curtains in the shower/bath, again small, please how 80's

The location is ideal, with liqueur land on Elizabeth st around the corner and Lord of the Fries on the corner for that late night burger

Location great, view yuck, clean yes.

Comfortable bed yes , however pillows are soft and we requested additional one which were delivered

Nice place for one night only but don't bring your cat because you can't swing it around this room

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristian L, General Manager at Citigate Melbourne, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay at Citigate Melbourne.

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the location and found the hotel clean and our staff welcoming.

The average size of our guest rooms is 26 square feet. When returning to the hotel, may I suggest a Cityview room. These rooms are slightly larger in size and have a fantastic view of the yarra and southbank.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kristian Lindhe
General Manager
Citigate Melbourne
h8782-gm@accor.com
0403504551
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

not a romantic spot to stay but room was very good for the price.
it is almost directly opposite Flinders station, the room I had was very quiet as it was at the far end of the building away from Flinders Street and on level 13

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here several times when visiting Melbourne, the location is good if you are here for the footy, the MCG is only a short walk away, you are directly across the road from Flinders station and there are many great eating places, bars etc within an easy walk.
The rooms are always clean,reasonable size and the beds are good
Sometimes check-in, check-out can be slow as they are pretty busy.
Reasonably priced, would definitely stay here again due to the great location

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed overnight on a recent Saturday. The staff were very efficient and friendly, especially the doorman/concierge. Our room request for the top floor at the rear of the hotel was met. Included in our package were strawberries and sparkling wine, which was ready and waiting for our arrival. We had some issues with the tv, but nothing major. The room was spotlessly clean and although compact, was roomy enough for one night. No traffic noise and the room had nice skyline view.
We also stored our bags the next morning and staff were most helpful both storing and retrieving the bags. This hotel is in a great location for all you need in the city including being close to Flinders St station. Well priced for a comfortable city stay. Recommended.
Well done Citigate.

Room Tip: Ask for a 13th floor room at the rear of the hotel to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Citigate Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citigate Melbourne

Address: 270 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Ramada Melbourne)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#75 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Citigate Melbourne 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citigate Melbourne offers contemporary accommodation positioned opposite Flinders Street Station. The hotel is close to all the major sporting, fashion, entertainment and dining precincts within Melbourne. Citigate Melbourne features contemporary guest rooms with many offering breathtaking views of the Yarra River and Southbank. Guests can also enjoy a casual drink or meal in the relaxed environment of the Lobby Bar, keep healthy in the gymnasium, or surf the internet with free WiFi in the lobby and business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Citigate Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citigate Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Citigate Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Citigate Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citigate Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.